We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Stay in Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campiello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campiello to your Saves list
Hotel Campiello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campiello del Vin, Castello 4647, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Stay in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I booked our honeymoon in Venice at Hotel Campiello based on Hotels.com reviews & was extremely pleased with our choice! The hotel was next to Piazza San Marco in a great location. Easily accessible & close to everything! Staff was extremely helpful, especially Marina. I emailed with her ahead of time too! We ended up getting our own studio apartment around the corner from the hotel, which I loved! Made it feel like we had our own romantic getaway and a home every night. The size of the apartment was fantastic! We had a kitchen, living room, bedroom and nice size bathroom. Definitely big for European standards! I also loved being street level, easy to get in and out with luggage. We could open the windows and hear the sounds of Venice! The maid service was great every day. The free breakfast was really good too! The staff was great at providing recommendations for restaurants and things to do. Marina recommended a Gondolier named Mariano who we found and ended up being amazing! Ask her for where to find him, it's worth it! My only complaint is the internet didn't reach our room. The hub must be in the actual hotel. We complained and they said the technician would fix it but I don't think they ever did. So when we wanted to go online, we had to walk to the lobby. But it wasn't so bad, forced us to stay offline on our honeymoon! I highly recommend Hotel Campiello. It has a European feel with the modern amenities & size of an American hotel. The location and staff were great!

Room Tip: Ask or the separate apartment around the corner from the hotel. It was like having our own getaway i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    210
    63
    19
    6
See reviews for
149
214
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is in the old Sestiere of Castello, very convenient for San Marco and San Zaccaria. It is only a short walk to the vaporetto station, from where you can reach all the attractions of the old city. Staff were very friendly and the people at Reception were welcoming and helpful. Our room (212) was attractive and very clean, and we had plenty of space in the room and in the shower room. How wonderful to look out of the windows with their beautiful curtains and shutters and imagine oneself back in the far history of Venice.
We could not fault the hotel. If we were fortunate enough to return to Venice this is where we would stay.

Room Tip: We've already noted we were in Room 212, but you have to leave it free for our next visit please...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I selected Hotel Campiello because it was recommended by Rick Steve's. Never take a recommendation at face value. Do your own research. The hotel was below average. Rooms were small even for Venice standards where rooms are much more compact. Decor is outdated. Service is very average. Breakfast is decent. Hotel price was reasonable relative to other Venice hotels but I would have paid more for a better expetrience.

Being right off Piazza San Marco is not a plus. The Piazza is far too crowded and hectic. You will NOT get a true Venice experience. I strongly recommend a hotel in the Dorsodura neighbourhood which is far more authentic.

Think twice about staying at the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We are a family of 3 and requested a superior room with a cot or extra bed to accommodate our teenage son.
The room was lovely and clean but small. I would not consider it a superior room. However, the staff was friendly and helpful.
Breakfast buffet excellent.
Location excellent also.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Room 212 proved to be very small. The room hardly any bigger than the double bed provided. The shower was small too and I was unable to turn fully around within the cubicle ( I have a 40 inch waist). The fittings of the toilet area were close together; typically a 4 cms gap between the lavatory and the shower cubicle. Breakfast was cold scrabbled eggs, if you were lucky enough to get there first. Crockery was provided at the other end of the room if you were there before it was all taken. My advice is get there early (before 8 am) or forget breakfast. The staff were sympathetic but unable to do help.

Room Tip: Make other arrangements for breakfasting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We just spent three nights at the Campiello and were very happy with our stay. The hotel was relatively easy to find and located very close to the San Zaccaria boat stop. Our room was ready when we arrived at lunchtime and was a good size for our family of four. We had a double bed and two singles all in one room but it didn't feel too crowded. I would note that the single beds were pullout chair beds and worked fine for our two young kids although they might not be as comfortable for teenagers or adults. The room was very quiet but faced the front of the hotel and got nice air and light. The bathroom was small but very well equipped. Our room didn't look as chic as some do the ones on the website but we had the best towels I've ever had in a mid range hotel. The wifi worked great and the front desk staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast was fine - not the best I've had in Europe but more than adequate with enough choices. You also can't beat the location - proximity to San Marco square and the boat stops for San Marco and San Zaccaria. It's also not too far a walk from Rialto, where we ate several dinners, and close to good gelato and some quieter parts of Venice if you walk away from San Marco. I highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

After spending a couple of hours choosing a hotel, thanks to the reviews on this site I don't think I could have chosen a better hotel for the money.

As soon as we stepped through the door, we were welcomed by the lovely receptionist. Within a couple of minutes we were admiring our small, but well decorated room. We even had a private terrace, but as the view wasn't up to much, we decided not to use this. You couldn't ask for much else, the breakfast was really good and there was something for everyone. (the scrambled eggs were delicious).

The location of the hotel is fantastic, a minutes walk from some of the best views in Venice, just off the Grand Canal.

The only reason I didn't give full marks was the bed. It was two singles joined together and both the mattress and pillow was too firm for my liking, but overall I would really reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campiello

Address: Campiello del Vin, Castello 4647, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Venice
#128 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campiello 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campiello Hotel Venice
Hotel Campiello Venice Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campiello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.