We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Campiello” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campiello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campiello to your Saves list
Hotel Campiello
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campiello del Vin, Castello 4647, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Matthews, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Campiello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had 4 people and stayed in a HUGE, PALACE STYLE room! It was awesome, beds comfortable and two windows that opened to see a courtyard and wrought iron bridge over the canal. You could hear church bells early in the day and watch kids playing in court and watch people crossing the bridge below. It truly felt like I was immersed in the culture. You can get to hotel easily by taking the Vaperetto Taxi to San Zaccahri stop. Then it is a beautiful and not long walk through the city and over small bridges. You see so many wonderful things and the people are very friendly. You can enter Hotel by long narrow alley walk (which is half the fun) or by a water taxi on canal. You go up a couple flights of wide stairs to reception area which is lovely and has a painting on the celiing. The room we had was on same floor on right side, ask for quad room that opens to courtyard. Breakfast was great and everything fresh! The staff were friendly to us while we visited and helpful with laptops or whatever we needed. By the way, you ring a bell at the front Hotel door and it opens automatically (which I thought was cool) and then you walk up 2 flights or stairs to reception area. The Hotel is also a great location to St. Marks Square and tours to catch. You can walk everywhere and it was one of my favorite places to visit in Italy! Make sure to see Burano Island. Great place too!

Room Tip: Ask for the 4 quad room that has windows that open to the courtyard. Make sure you close windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    210
    63
    19
    6
See reviews for
149
213
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel is excellent located, staff is very helpful.
Small double room is enough room for a young couple, very nice bathroom.
Breakfast is limited in options but it's okay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

A nice hotel with a helpful staff. The room is a notch above adequate. Judging by the evacuation map on the back of the door, my wife and I had the smallest room on the floor. We were still pleased; although the bathroom was a bit tight. The breakfast was very good, and included with our price.

The location is perfect, once you find it. There are no signs, so plan ahead and bring a map. close to San Zaccharia water bus stop and a short walk to San Marco square. It is quiet at night.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Venice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Pluses: The location for this hotel can't be beat. It's very close to St Mark's Square and quiet. Large, modern bathroom. Helpful desk staff. Minuses: The breakfast was mediocre, not as good as our other Italian hotels. Unfriendly breakfast staff. We stayed in the apartment. After the second night, my husband was was covered with mosquito bites. We can't get past this and would not return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We originally selected this hotel because it is close to a Vaporetto stop (hauling luggage around in Venice is NOT fun!) and the good reviews. We arrived on a night train from Rome worn out and hungry way before check-in time. After "dropping" our bags near the front desk we decided to try the hotel breakfast, It was very good - all our favs (yogurt, fruit, cereal, coffee...). We talked to several other hotel guests in the breakfast room and one of them said, "Her best meals in Venice have been in the hotel breakfast room."

After breakfast we sat down to wait and used the hotel Wi-Fi to check emails and other items. The Wi-Fi service is very good on the two floors we have tried and observing the "list" of sites it appears they have Wi-Fi Access Points in several different areas/floors.

But, the big surprise was our room. We did hear one guest complain about the room size; but most European hotel rooms are smaller than ours in the states - so that shouldn't be a surprise. On the way to our room we were able to see into several nearby rooms and noted that each was unique (also not a surprise since this hotel is a remodel of a 16th Century convent!).

But our room had several big surprises. First the room was, well, roomy ... and the furnishings are beautiful. Yes, the bath is a little narrow, but look at that large marble sink area! And the vaulted ceiling. And the view of the little patio area below.

But wait! What's that? It looks like a "stairway to nowhere". But there is a small terrace up there with a table and 2 chairs! I wonder if I can open this window? Yes! And the stairway to nowhere becomes the path to our private terrace! Can you say "Bottle of wine on the terrace tonight?" I can.

Room Tip: Ask about the secret terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Well, the title pretty much says it all...

The staff were very friendly and efficient and all have good english (I do speak rudimentary Italian, which I started off in, but they just spoke to us in English - oh well!)We were in room 9 (?) on the first floor, which had a small enclosed terrace that was accessed by a pull out ladder. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was TINY, but this is pretty normal for Italian hotels in our experiance! Housekeeping was excellent. The only thing we noticed was that the walls were very thin and we could hear people in the next room through the vents. Infact, we could hear a couple a few doors down having a very public argument in the late evening!!! Boy, was he in trouble...

Anyway, the location was fantastic; it's just a stone's throw away from the Bridge of Sighs and very close to all the vaporetto stops on the Riva del Schiavoni. All of San Marco district is easily done on foot - infact, we walked nearly everywhere whilst in Venice, only using the vaporetti at the end of the day, or to visit Islands further north in the lagoon.

Breakfast was the typical Italian continental breakfast, with a good choice of breads, spreads, cake, cereals, yoghurt, juice, fruit, cheese and meat. You need to order coffee from the waitresses (who sometimes seem a little harassed, but then, because this breakfast room is shared with the sister hotel, Hotel Paganini, the tables are always busy) and whatever you do - wait to be seated or make sure you sit at a table with the right number of place settings for your party or you will be moved!!! My husband has the usual British need-for-tea in the morning and was served with a wide choice of Twinings blends, but never was there any normal breakfast tea, which we thought was a startling ommission. Note to hotel: while hibiscus or mint tea is nice, some British men can't function without what they call proper tea.

Overall though, we had a lovely time - a good three star hotel. Besides, nothing beats being woken up in Venice by the sound of the bells of the Basilica...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great location right off main canal front and easilly walkable with luggage from Vaporetto stop. Wonderful staff - Thomas especially. Our room was nicely furnished and with nice amenities and adequate amount of space. We even had a terrace that was accessible from one of our windows. Was nice to come back to room after a long day of walking in Venice and getting lost many many times and just sit on the terrace with a nice bottle of wine. Definitely recommend this hotel. Only wish we could have spent more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campiello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campiello

Address: Campiello del Vin, Castello 4647, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in Venice
#132 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campiello 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campiello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campiello Hotel Venice
Hotel Campiello Venice Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campiello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.