We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice in style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bucintoro to your Saves list
Hotel Bucintoro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #21 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Venice in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This a lovely little hotel, located down the waterfront from St. Mark's, which is close enough to the big attractions for easy walking, but far enough away from the 'madding crowds' to be relaxing. Rooms are nicely appointed, with a consistent nautical style that suits its location on the lagoon. Our room had a great view back towards St. Mark's as well as a good view of the frenetic activity in the lagoon. The massive, multi-millionaire yachts that line the promenade in front are really something to see (though they may block the view of some of the lower rooms). The staff was friendly and helpful and made our brief stay even better. As we set out for our first day's adventures, the desk clerk mentioned that the hotel was offering a free tour of a Murano glass factory, including a water taxi ride both to and from - we happily accepted the offer and had a great morning looking at amazing glass artisanship. Though it was obvious they would be glad to sell us a wide selection of beautiful glassware, the tour was fun, informative and there was absolutely no pressure. Kudos to the Bucintoro for a fabulous, unexpected perk! The breakfast was basic but nicely presented in a lovely little dining room off the lobby area, and the staff was very helpful in assisting with dining suggestions and arrangements. (Shout out to the Osteria Oliva Nera for a fabulous dinner experience in the neighborhood!). We had a lovely time at the Bucintoro and highly recommend it for a great Venetian stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    171
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
135
705
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just returned from a 4 day visit to Venice with my wife celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
We chose Hotel Bucintoro after reading the TA reviews, and are very glad we did.
We had a fabulous time in Venice due in no small part to the Hotel and its staff.
I wanted everything to be perfect and after online booking I contacted the hotel to arrange taxi transfers and enquire about room choices etc.
Taxi’s were arranged with no problems and good advice professionally and courteously given especially by the Manage Mr. Melis.
I had read room tips on TA and requested certain rooms if available, he assured me they would provide the best they had and in his words, ‘to trust in him and his staff’.
On arrival we were warmly greeted, shown around the hotel and our bags carried to our room number 501. We were stunned and immediately grateful, a truly lovely room, in a yacht style.
Marble, bathroom, separate tiled sunken bath wet room, a sitting room with tv, bedroom with tv and porthole (with stunning view of entrance to St Marks square and St Marys, entrance to grand canal and the lagoon.), and Pièce de résistance a private roof top balcony with two chairs and table, canvas foldaway roof and with views to die for.

The roof top terrace had absolutely amazing views of the whole harbour, lagoon, Lido, the mainland and onto the Grand Canal, St Marys etc etc, truly spectacular.
There is something so satisfying when lying in bed and be able to see though the window a view such as that, or your morning coffee, in dressing gown, overlooking the harbour and lagoon, it was a privilege.

After dropping off our bags, there was a knock on the door and the waiter brought prosecco and a fruit basket with the hotels compliments, a nice touch and much appreciated.

In summary, the staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and are there to assist with any enquiries willingly and courteously, from arranging dinner booking to advice and directions etc.

The cold buffet breakfast is simple (the hotel has no restaurant) but it’s is plentiful and well presented. I had no issue with space or closeness to others as reported on other reviews.

The hotel, our room, bathroom etc was very clean and well maintained we had no issues whatsoever during our stay.

We had a fabulous stay, and are very thankful to Hotel Bucintoro for making our anniversary so special.

Room Tip: The bathroom in our room and hair dryer and yes ladies, enough light to do make up etc, beds are sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very nice and well-managed hotel in very good location (just across Arsenale pier and close to Biennale entrance).
Hotel is very nicely decorated in nautic design paying attention to every detail. Rooms not very big but with all features and amenities you need; everything in excellent shape.
Very firendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast o.k. but no surprise - for a hotel of this category and even according to Italian circumstances more like 'average'. Still excellent choice

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed 3nights here and had a wonderful time. Our room looked toward San Marco and was fantastic. The hotel was close enough to everything but also just the right distance away from it all as well. The staff were great. Always available and willing to do whatever was necessary to make the customer happy. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Arrived fairly early (around 12.30pm) but check-in was no problem. We had a top floor room with views looking towards St Marks - you can't ask for any better in Venice. Close enough to main sites to wander round, but being slightly off the beaten track towards Arsenale means its not so busy outside the hotel.
Room itself was good, clean and well-supplied. Decor is aiming towards naval/maritime, and our only quibble was perhaps this was a little dated for modern tastes??
Generous breakfast. Helpful staff. Highly recommended, especially for those looking for a more traditional hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We enjoyed our 4 nights at Bucintoro very much. The location was perfect with fabulous water views looking towards St Mark’s square and handy to everything.
The hotel has quality finishes and very smart in a nautical theme. The staff were very pleasant and professional. Breakfast was delightful in the ground floor dinning room.
We had room 403 on the fourth floor and although it was comfortable, clean and attractive; it was quite small especially at that expensive price. We paid a little more than AU $2550 for the four nights. The bathroom was attractive in dark green marble but also very tiny with hardly any room to put our own personal toiletries so that I had to use the stool for mine. It may have been their smallest room.
The weather was very hot and humid during our stay in the low 30's during our stay and our room was very hot at first. This was improved once we adjusted the vent to open it on the air conditioner and asked the staff not to open our shutters during the day. Keeping the sun out made a big difference to the room on our return to it during the day. It was interesting to hear that the name Bucintoro translated to the Doges galleon ship.

Room Tip: Keep the shutters closed when out during the day if the weather is very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Hotel Bucintoro made for a calm and scenic stay in Venice. It is located on the lagoon, below the entrance of the Grand Canal, 3 bridges below the crowds. Our quiet, wood paneled room was on the 4 th floor with a panoramic view of the lagoon. Lower level rooms may have a view issue with a large yacht parked out front. Stefanie and Giancarlo gave us a warm welcome and all the help we needed with restaurants and travel information. Breakfast is included and is quite varied. All the staff are delightful and efficient. Not a big hotel experience, but possibly a better one.

Room Tip: If views are important, make sure you get a higher room. Upper rooms may be warm in summer, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#14 Business Hotel in Venice
#18 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#18 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Pensione Bucintoro
Venice Bucintoro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bucintoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.