We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bucintoro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bucintoro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #20 of 382 hotels in Venice
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The room was a little small but aside from that all was good. Nice and clean, good breakfast, helpful staff and a location which is perfectly situated for the Vaporetti and within easy walking distance from the centre. Great view too. Book here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    711
    159
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
122
637
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Great location just a few metres from the Arsenele stop from the airport water buses. Get off the boat turn right and it's right in front of you across the bridge. Really nice service from everyone at the hotel, from reception, the porter and the ladies serving breakfast were brilliant. We had a room on 4th floor with 3 windows a great view and didn't find it noisy at all. In fact we loved hearing the boats passing so much nicer than rush hour traffic. Not sure why the previous reviews have complained about boats and bridges ( you are in Venice).
Room had all we needed and more, safe, lovely bathroom, dressing gowns, slippers and so much more. There was also tea and coffee making if you wanted it and we had chocolate truffles and sweets on arrival as well which was a nice touch.
The location is very good very close to everything and quiet enough in the evening. You can walk to most things and we took the boat to Lido and Murano from just outside.
I cannot recommend this hotel it's a very very nice place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice hotel - great service -- we liked it as it was a bit away from all the tourist attractions but close enough to walk everywhere.
Rooms were a good size for Venice.
Would stay there again, breakfast was buffet style and OK.
Not easy to find the first time - so bring your map :0)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We checked the previous reviews before booking and after spending 4 nights in a standard room found the previous reviews accurate, great staff, good lcation 10 minutes but 6 bridges to cross before you arrive at St Mars square and the Doges palace. good views from the room and everything was clean, plenty of variety for the buffet breakfast. There is however no facilities for making tea of coffee and we did find the room a litle noisy this was due to the boats loading goods to the hotels, therefore i guess all the hotels in this area will have a similar problem. Like many books say it is easy to get lost in venice which in some ways makes the hotel in a good location since it is near St Marks square and eveyone knows wher this is.
There is a cheap italian eating house (not sure if you would call it a restaurant) if you turn left out of the hotel over a bridge turn left and it is the first eating house on the right, many italians eat there which i always believe is a good indication.
I made it 4 stars because of the noise

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed three nights to celebrate a special anniversary. Having done a lot of research looking at other reviews, we choose the Bucintoro and weren't disappointed. Here's why:
1. Really easy to find, water bus or taxi from airport goes past the hotel and the vaporetto stop is minutes from the hotel so no chance of getting lost or lugging cases up tiny streets.
2. Slighly set away from the main tourist centre, so you don't step out your hotel into huge crowds, but still within easy walking distance.
3. Fab views of the lagoon (especially if you get a corner room).
4. A good nights sleep - comfy beds and sound shutters to keep noise and light out.
5. Nice buffet breakfast with friendly service.
6. Free wifi and printer so you can check out places to eat on tripadvisor and print off your boarding passes for the flight home.
7. Close to three nice bars with lots of locals and lovely Prosecco or Spritz.
8. Nearby walk up along waterside path (leading away from the centre) with children's park and grass if you want to get away from the crowds.
9. Room has a safe for valuables, hairdryer, fridge and kettle - all useful!

Only downside was our 'junior deluxe suite' had a rather small bathroom with a shower rather than a bath. Beautifully fitted out and enough hooks and shelves etc but just small. It also had a sliding door that didn't lock which wasn't ideal and kept sliding open. Not so romantic...

Room Tip: go for a room on higher floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The location is great. Just off the beaten path, so away from the massive crowds of St Marks. 2 minutes to a vaporetto stop, 10 minutes to St Marks square. Great views of the open lagoon. We had the suite on the 5th floor which has a balcony onto the rooftop. Wow!! All by yourself with views of everything.
Friendly and helpful front desk. Delicious breakfasts were included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just returned from staying 5 nights here and were very pleased with our choice. We were in the least expensive room (called "comfort" on the website but “classic” on the booking receipt), but this was perfectly adequate, being nicely done out with smart wood decor and a modern bathroom suite, complete with rainfall shower. Breakfast was included and was of a good quality, served in a nice room and with linen napkins. All the staff were friendly and helpful. But what really makes this hotel is the location. We had not appreciated the difficulty of negotiating one's way round car-free Venice, up and down numerous bridges, with luggage, so choosing somewhere just 100 or so metres from a Vaporetto stop (and on the fast, one hour Alilaguna Blue line to the airport) proved inspired. Not forgetting the views across the water, either to San Giorgio or St Marks Square. Any gripes? The comfort rooms have no tea and coffee making facilities. And the website lists dressing gowns as being provided - they were missing from our room, but soon provided upon request. Minor points and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#30 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Pensione Bucintoro
Venice Bucintoro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bucintoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.