We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely stay - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bucintoro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bucintoro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bucintoro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Had a lovely stay - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived on New Year's Day for 3 nights. The hotel is really lovely, our room was very nice, loved the bathroom and after all day walking relaxing in the bath was just what I needed!! The hotel staff were great, recommended restaurants local to the hotel and one day when it was raining the man on reception arranged a boat ride to Murano Island to watch glass being made.

Breakfast was perfect, so much to choose from and for a continental breakfast it was by far the best I have had!

The only issue we had with the hotel was that we were not given an iron because of the wood but as only carrying hand luggage we had a few items of clothing that needed ironing, we had to then put our clothes in for laundry service - we asked for the tops to just be ironed not washed and the bill still came to £30 (5 tops) thought it was bit cheeky considering to iron it wouldn't have taken that long. Aside from that we had a wonderful stay in Venice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    161
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
129
666
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Love this hotel. Ideal location overlooking the lagoon and a short walk to St Marks and 2 mins walk to the Arsenale vaporetto stop. We had a standard room with a side view looking down the waterfront to the Doges Palace and the grand canal just breathtaking waking up in the morning. The room though quite small was nicely furnished and the bathroom had a good powerful shower. Great breakfast as well. Free wifi in your room another bonus. The hotel only has 20 rooms so its small enough to feel as though you are getting personal service from the lovely staff. All in all we loved our 3 day stay here and will definitely stay again if in beautiful Venice.

Room Tip: Room 203 is a standard double the views are just wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Bucintoro in August. The hotel is on the waterfront and if you are in reasonably good health, the walk to St. Mark's isn't a problem even in the heat of August. I'll add to the raves about the bathroom. I loved the decor, the soaker tub and the shower. Our room was a small suite and the sitting area was tiny, but clean with a wonderful view. We escaped the heat by popping back into our room to watch people on the yachts moored our front. The breakfast offered a good selection of fruit, cereals, yogurt. The only negative in our stay was Wi-Fi failed during the back half of our stay. The front desk didn't seem that motivated to fix it and we were without Wi-Fi for the final 24 hours of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I have had a fantastic stay at the Hotel Bucintoro in Venice. The position was perfect, directly on the main waterfront and within walking distance from St Marks Square. Extremely well presented, and up with the best hotels we've stayed in. Great bar and breakfast. Staff were so nice and obviously loved working there. Amazing value. Already talking about returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the lagoon / waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel exceeded even our high expectations. We went to Venice as a surprise romantic trip and the Bucintoro was a perfect venue. We stayed in room 101 which was very spacious, excellently decorated and had a view of the Grand Canal and Venice waterfront which would be hard to beat. The room was surprisingly light, given the dark wood panel decor, and the bathroom was well appointed and kept to a high standard.
The staff were all very friendly, polite and attentive - seemingly not taking offence at our very limited attempt at any Italian whilst there - and happily helped us with arranging a restaurant reservation.
Location wise the Bucintoro suited us perfectly. It's very close to central Venice, around St Mark's Square, but far enough out to avoid crowds right outside your window. This does mean that it is a fair walk away from the other side of Venice, if you want to go anywhere past the Rialto bridge on foot, but we didn't find that off putting at all. The public transport boats stopped very close by.
I'd find it hard to fault the hotel much at all. The bed was quite firm which left us both with a stiff neck on a couple of mornings, but that's very much a matter of taste. The walk in wardrobe, huge bathroom, space and sunset views made it more than worth it.

Room Tip: We went for a Standard Room with Lagoon View. Staying in Room 101, we had more space than I had expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for five nights over my birthday. The location is lovely, with beautiful views, and the room is very nice looking. The bathroom was particularly nice, with an amazing shower. Everyone we spoke to in the hotel was friendly and helpful, and the hotel umbrellas were very beneficial as it rained quite heavily on a couple of days. The minibar wasn't particularly expensive, and everything was very clean.

However, for a hotel with such good reviews, I was disappointed in a few things the main thing being how LOUD the room was. During our stay, we found that we could hear everything the people in the room above (on the fifth floor) did. We could also hear everything that occurred outside our door, and in the room next door to us. The noise was a particular problem as throughout the entirety of our stay there was work going on outside of our door, including painting the hallway (which left an unpleasant smell throughout our room). As we were there for a relaxing time this wasn't much fun as we couldn't sleep in due to the noise of the people painting and doing work right outside our door, the clunking about of people upstairs, and our neighbours in the next room. We did feel perhaps of a hotel with such a good reputation, they would have let their guests know ahead of time if work would happen during our visit. Finally, the cleaning was ridiculous. I am happy to have a clean hotel - of course - but given the paper thin doors / walls, the fact that it seemed to take all day to vacuum the carpets meant that no matter what time we were in our room throughout the day, all we could hear was noise.

A nice hotel in many ways, but I would probably not visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in Room 501, which is a Junior Suite. Overall we really enjoyed our stay (2 nights 18th Jan)
The Hotel has 4 main floors, but room 501 is effectively the Penthouse which you get to via a flight of stairs from the 4th floor.
It's a strange set-up. As you get to top of stairs you arrive in the [long, thin] lounge area. This leads out to the lovely private secluded terrace which has an absolutely fabulous view).
From the lounge you then go passed the [small'ish] bathroom and then an average size bedroom with a "Queen" bed (2 singles pushed together!). The room wasn't as big as I had hoped for a "Junior Suite"; I am not sure if the "normal" Junior Suites are larger.
Despite the size, the room and set-up really grew on us, and we had a lovely stay.

Stefano on the desk was very helpful.
TIPS:
1) there are spare pillows under the bed. We found these on our last day when I was checking the room! :(
2) Go to Carpaccio Restaurant two bridges from the hotel. It's lovely. We had two meals there 125 EUR and 155 EUR (including chateaubriand and v nice bottle wine).
3) To get from airport take blue line water boat, which stops right near the hotel (about an hour trip from airport).
4) the hotel offers a FREE personal trip to he glass factory at murano island. basically this is arranged by the glss factory who have a deal with the hotel to send them their customers (who will have a "free" trip, but hopefully will buy some of their glassware; we did!)

The hotel has a bar of sorts, where you can be served a drink of your choice, but you're basically sitting in the breakfast room. it's not a proper hussle bussle bar.

Breakfast is included but only contintental but lots to chose from. You can ask for extra cooked stuff for a small cost.

Reception/entrance is quite small. There's no grand entrance if you like that sort of thing.

It's about 10~15 minute walk to the main square. Close enough, but far enough away to be away from the crowds.

Overall, I'd recommend the Bucintoro!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bucintoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bucintoro

Address: Castello 2135/a, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#18 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#23 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bucintoro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the San Marco Docks right near Piazza San Marco, Hotel Bucintoro embraces the maritime lifeblood of Venice with charming spaces inspired by ancient sailboats and galleys that once bobbed right in front of the hotel. An elegant 4-star hotel in the historic center of Venice, Hotel Bucintoro offers rooms, junior suites and suites overlooking San Marco, embellished with the necessary comforts and services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bucintoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucintoro Hotel Venice
Pensione Bucintoro
Venice Bucintoro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bucintoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.