We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - stayed in the Annexe part - be careful with the booking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bernardi Semenzato to your Saves list
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4366 Cannaregio | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Olinda, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location - stayed in the Annexe part - be careful with the booking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Had trouble with the booking. Booked through Agoda. Got receipt and thought all was good. 5 minutes later had an email from Hotel Bernardi to confirm and pay for room. As I had just completed all of that I did not respond and phoned Agoda who advised me to ignore it as my booking was confirmed and made with them using my AMEX card.. Consider it a scam.

Arrived in Venice and phoned to get directions to the Hotel. Told I didn't have a room as no response from me. Wow! A first time - this has never happened before. Anyway, told to arrive at reception to see what could be done. Taken around to the Annexe (a separate building) where the room was adequate with a nice bathroom and outlook.

Next morning I found out that the owner accepts bookings using AMEX and then contacts people directly so it appears that something is going on behind the scenes. This was very odd and not very professional. Naturally, I paid in cash for the booking next morning and after I checked that my card had not been debited..

Breakfast was not included so I cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    295
    118
    34
    28
See reviews for
128
287
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in for 3 nights while visiting Venice. Had a great time at this bed and breakfast. The room was very roomy and comfortable. We had a room that had a mirror and sink. There was a shared bathroom in the hall. We never had at to wait for the restroom it always dry and clean. The breakfast in the morning included pastries, cereal, fruit and coffee. Nice to have this included as to not have to spend time in the morning getting breakfast else where. The staff was always helpful in giving directions and suggestions of things to do. This hotel did have a curfew in the evenings at 1:00am as the front door would be locked over night. While we thought this might be a issue it never was. Most things in Venice are not open later then 1am and we were usually pretty tired from the day of site seeing.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want to meet people from around the world, save a bunch of money, eat a good breakfast and don't mind climbing a few stairs or using the bathroom down the hall -you will love this hotel.You can get rooms with bathroom in the room but what fun is that? This is the second time we have stayed here and we like the location- an easy walk to the vaporetto stop or train station. Ask for a room at the back or you might need ear plugs- never leave home without them. We love the cafe right next to the -hotel- best food in Venice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This was our third time staying in Venice, but the last time was way back in 2000. I was searching for a room or rooms for my wife, daughter, son-in-law and I and found Hotel Bernardi Semenzato online. They were very prompt in responding to my inquiries and presented several room options. We selected a family room for all four of us.

The hotel is tucked away a few short blocks from St. Apostoli church and square in a reasonably quiet area. Our room was located in a different building about a block away. It appears to have been part of Hotel Leonardi. Perhaps they have some sort of arrangement. No matter, as the hotel is decorated quite nicely in a quasi-Victorian style. The building we were in did not contain the registration desk or breakfast area, so we had to walk to the main building (about a block away) each morning for breakfast. No big deal.

The room itself was a decent size for four people. It was very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was a decent size, which is quite surprising for hotels in older buildings. As mentioned, the area was reasonably quiet, although there was quite a bit of celebrating occurring on Friday evening (Halloween).

Breakfast was more abundant than the usual Italian fare. Breads, eggs, fruits, yogurt, cold cuts, etc. The owner went the extra mile in serving us early on Sunday morning, as we had to depart early in order to get to the airport. Bravo!

The location of the hotel is great, as it is a short two blocks to a main shopping district and about 3/4 a mile or so to Rialto Bridge. It is easily reached via water bus. I would stay here again on our next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angol, Araucania, Chile
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Its a nice little Hotel for low budget, traveler hotel in the heart of Venice, By Rialto Area, really close to Santa MariaStazione Di trenni ! The Service is nice got a upgrate room freee of charges becose the oneI book was not free at the moment !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We arrived early at Hotel Bernardi, so first we dropped off our luggage and explored the city a little bit. When we came back our rooms weren't ready yet, but the staff was very friendly about it and we could see it was just a very busy time for them. So we waited a little and to our surprise we got an upgraded room in the annex building (because of the high occupation). This room was beyond amazing! Finding a good hotel in Venetië is definitely difficult: or it is too expensive, or it is a dump, but Hotel Bernardi is at the perfect price-quality level! The staff is always very helpful, the room was cleaned everyday and the location is ideal (5 min walk from the Rialto Bridge). The only point of critique is the breakfast; although the staff will help you in everyway they can, there is not enough space for the numerous guests and there is not so much choice. But our overall experience was very positive so we will definitely come back!

Room Tip: A room in the annex-building is definitely a bonus, because you can be at ease, no reception desk, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Great location, delicious breakfast and good service. The only complaint I have is that the towels were not changed daily and the three days we stayed there, we had to call every night to get new towels. Other than that, quite happy with our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Address: 4366 Cannaregio | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#100 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.