We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel with curfew” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bernardi Semenzato to your Saves list
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4366 Cannaregio | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok hotel with curfew”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is well located in a tiny street just of a small plaza. Rooms were ok, but the walls quite thin. Could clearly hear the neighbor's alarm and them getting ready in the morning. Everything was clean, but not of high standard. The oddest thing is the curfew: You have to be back by 1am, otherwise you won't be able to get into the hotel anymore. Also, the breakfast was disappointing. They were serving uneatable rolls. I don't know how many days or weeks they had be lying there, but they were so elastic and hard that we could not manage to bite or cut them, even with a knife.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your post.

Yes, normally we close at 1am, because we are a 2 stars hotel, and byy low we don't have to be open all day long. In any case we give our guests the option to take a night key, so they can be free to enter and go out as they want.

Our breakfast is fresh: the bread we buy, it is hand made every day, we serves fresh yogurt, we have croissants, cakes, cappuccino, milk, espresso, hot chocolate, jam, butter, honey, cafe, tea, orange juice, cereals and if you book with us is included in the price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    295
    118
    34
    28
See reviews for
128
287
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here three nights in early May while on our honeymoon and the hotel itself almost ruined the experience for us. The concierge was rude and unhelpful whenever we spoke to them. For example, we asked about laundry services in Venice and were told there was no laundry mat within traveling distance and we should check using WIFI for a location. Also the interior doors lock you in at night and you are unable to leave the room before 7:30 AM. This created delays in leaving for the airport when we checked out. I have never heard of a hotel that locks its travelers inside the building overnight. There is no elevator in the building and the stairs can be physically challenging especially when transporting luggage. The air conditioner in our room was plugged in but the circuit wasn't activated. Therefore we had to leave the windows open, inviting the bugs into the room. To make matters worse, a bar was located right below our window and the noise wouldn't die down until 1-2 AM. Water pressure in our room was inadequate, rooms did not have a lockbox and the ancient, musty furnishings looked like something you would find at a yard sale. Lightbulbs were burnt out in several areas of the room, the top of the desk in our room had broken glass on the surface and Looney Tunes stickers were crudely pasted all over the bathroom mirror. Curtains in the room are thin, providing no privacy and the pillows/blankets/carpets were not hypoallergenic. Outside the room, the hall lighting is turned completely off at night leaving no visibility. In a nutshell, my wife and I found this hotel to be unsanitary, uninviting and poorly maintained. I would strongly recommend that travelers look for alternate lodging, The perception the online photos used to advertise Hotel Bernardi Semenzato fail to capture the true atmosphere of the establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your review.

The standard room you reserved for your honeymoon was very clean and quiet because it was located on the 3rd floor. Of course, as you probably know, being Venice so unique but old, most hotels do not have any elevator unless they have a 5 star resort.
In any case you are given the option, while booking, a room on lower levels.

Our staff at the reception speak several lenguages and they are always kind and helpful. They probably advised you to find a good location for your lundery on the net so you could choose the place that you prefere.

As for the room, we check everything every day:
1- if the curtines are "thin" it is because you have shutters outside and you can close them when you please.
2- the 2 little stickers were left by two adorable children and we have not removed them just to wish good luck to our guests.
3- in the room there is a looker in the wall but you should have had to ask for the key.
4- We have A.C. in our rooms, but as it was cold and rainy, no hotels in Venice had it on.
5- for our guests security we close the doors during the night, ( i remember you that we are a 2 stars hotel, and, by low, we are not obliged to stay opened in the night) but we have a night porter in a room dowstairs. Moreover on request we give a night key to enter and go out as you pleased.
6- as for pillows blankets, we have to respect the italian low ( fireproof)
7- we check the lights every day but sometimes can happen that one bulb burns, you should have told us and we would have replace it at once.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I can only add to the postive comments here about Hotel Bernardi. We stayed for four nights, and got very lucky on the first two as we were given one of the large rooms in the Annex with two windows overlooking the canal! This was an upgrade for some reason, but one we'll forever be grateful for -- what a stunning way to start our trip! We had to relocate to another smaller, "view-less" room in the Annex for our second two nights, but it was still plenty roomy and pleasant. Rooms and bathrooms spotless.

All of the staff from Mr. Leo himself to the young man and woman who also worked the desk to the women who served coffee at breakfast and saw to our rooms were helpful and friendly. And the breakfast seems to me to be pretty typical of Italian breakfasts -- some rolls with your choice of butter, jam, "Laughing Cow"-type cheese, hazelnut/chocolate spread; several sweet breads/rolls; yogurt; cold cereal; juice; and coffee. If you're expecting a "hearty" American, English, or German-style breakfast, yes, you will be disappointed, but we found it fine -- it got us going. We did wish the coffee -- both espresso drinks and Americano -- were a little better.

While both its comfort and value make the hotel well worth looking into, by far the best part of Hotel Bernardi is its location. Tucked away in the Cannaregio, close to the primary sights but also away from the HORDES of folks visiting, it offered a chance to be in a genuine neighborhood. The first morning we went for a coffee before the hotel breakfast to a small, local stand-up cafe on Strada Nuova full of fellows on their way to work. When we went the second morning, the woman working already knew what we had ordered the day before. We went to another larger cafe with outside tables daily for both coffee and afternoon spritzes -- there are quite a few and I neglected to note its name, but it's right next to the small street down to the Ca' D'Oro vaporetto stop.

In short, if you are looking for comfort, value, efficient and congenial service, and a lovely location, consider Hotel Bernardi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
grazie, your post is very important to us, we really appreciate your words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on-line using trip advisor. It turned out to be a Gem. Great location, walking distance to all attractions. Walking distance to the train station. About 1/2 hour with 5 bridges. Local stores for wine etc. We were in the annex which is about five minutes walk to the lobby along a couple of allies. Our room opened onto a beuitful canal that the gondoliers toured along, one we used because when he went down our canal he was singing. Thats another story. Use this hotel its a great place

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Grazie infinite, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is not a property we would stay at again. Not that it's bad, it's just not great. The room, in the Annex, was nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable. It's in a great location, relatively close to Rialto Bridge, San Marco and the Grand Canal vaporetto.

However, there was foul smell eminating from the floor drain in the bathroom. We were able to exclude if from the sleeping area by closing the bathroom door and opening all the windows. That shouldn't be necessary. The breakfast was very basic and we chose to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,
thanks for your post.

Venice is a very special city with water underneath. So sometimes it can be possible that there is some small, but it doesn't depend on us, because for us the cleaning is very important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The price-quality ratio was good for it being a hotel in Venice at this peak of the year. We booked a double room and the price (including breakfast) was of 90 euros from May 8th to May 9th. Santina the receptionist was great! Booking and confirmation was prompt. The only problem was that I felt the service was a bit unfriendly.
My train to Venice arrived late on the day of my check in, I called to ask if they could hold my reservation because I wasn't going to arrive on time and since hotels in Venice book very quickly and usually accept walk ins I wanted to avoid any cancellations. The man in the reception responded in a very sarcastic matter which bothered me.
The other person I was traveling with forgot to bring a passport and once again the man in the reception desk (not sure if it was the same one that answered my call earlier that day) was not very friendly about it.
Overall it is a nice, decent hotel with a great location and value worth your money but the service could improve a tad bit and be more welcoming to their clients.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for your review.

As we write when our guests book their room, our cancellation policy is 3 days before the arrival.
About the ID, for us is very important to know who is staing with us both for our clients sicurity and also because the italian low require the identification of all the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in September 2012 and found this Hotel and the staff excellent, it was great value & in a great location. We LOVED Venice and this hotel was perfect. We had great little restaurants and bars within a short walk and found we were not far from anywhere we needed to be. Breakfast was basic but fine and set us up for heading out in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Bernardi S, Direttore generale at Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are happy to know that we participate to make you feel at home in Venice, Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bernardi Semenzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernardi Semenzato

Address: 4366 Cannaregio | Calle dell'Oca, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#100 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernardi Semenzato 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bernardi Semenzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardi Semenzato Hotel
Bernardi Semenzato Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bernardi Semenzato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.