We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seemingly unchanged since '70's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Locanda Montin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Locanda Montin to your Saves list
Antica Locanda Montin
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1147 Dorsoduro | Fondamenta delle Eremite, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 440 Venice B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seemingly unchanged since '70's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I first stayed here in 1974 and had not since returned. Friends I'd recommended it to have returned regularly over the intervening 40 years & continue to love it. This was my first return, treating grown-up daughter to a long-promised trip. It seems remarkably unchanged, and was just what we were hoping for. A bit shabby, a bit disorganised. But friendly and quite homely. We had lunch on arrival, which was nice. Otherwise we ate out elsehere. Had we been staying longer, then we probably would've tried the
restaurant more. The location was exactly to our preference. Quiet, with a local atmosphere. We hugely enjoyed breakfasting in Campo San Barnaba before wandering off to the nearest Vaporetto Stop (Ca' Rezzonica or Accademia). I booked our rooms, for 3-nights / a long weekend, back at the end of December 2014. Am very satisfied with the rate-per-night I paid for our rooms. I think that was fair and OK. Had a wondeful time. Would stay at Montin again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
24
74
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Get off the beaten path a tad and head south of Saint Marks. I've been to Venice a few times and this was the best deal and the most authentic Venice has ever felt.

We got a double room with a small balcony which came with a sink basin in the room. For the shower and bathroom you nipped two doors down the hall. There was never a wait and it seemed like we had it to ourselves.

Things to consider in Venice- mosquitoes. Open the windows and you'll find yourself with mosquitoes because there are canals everywhere (the hotel is off a quiet and scenic one). While this shouldn't be much of a surprise, I do suggest you pack some mosquito repellent no matter where you end up staying. I encountered the same thing at the other two hotels I've tried in Venice, as well.

Anyhow, the street was safe and quiet, the staff was extremely helpful and there is, conveniently, a restaurant located downstairs.

4 minute walk to the Gallerie dell'Accademia
20-25 minutes walk to Saint Mark's Basilica
15-20 minutes to the Piazza San Marco

Also, you can either walk to the hotel from the train station or take the water taxi to the Gallerie dell'Accademia. Both are fairly painless.

Highly recommend you google map your walk from the station OR the water taxi stop, no matter where you end up staying. Venice is a maze and you'd be surprised how many tourists we ran into that were lost. We weren't immune and got a tad lost getting to the hotel the first time. =)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Housekeeper the best thing about this hotel. She was attentive and would bring us whatever we wanted. In the past it was guests like Yoko Ono the walls are jammed with art work from the art students in the area. The management is more interested in their restaurant which is wonderful. Breakfast is an additional cost but adequate with cereal rolls yogurt and fruit plus coffee and juice. Location very closed to Accademia bridge and the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Shropshire
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
180 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The location of this hotel is good, away from the overcrowded St Mark`s etc, but alongside one of the lesser canals and near some good restaurants.The welcome was good but our room was poorly-maintained and dingy - we had to change rooms as the lavatory seat came apart! Any decent cleaner would have seen this and notified the owners. Wifi was poor and there were no TVs, hairdryers, mirrors etc.
Dinner in the restaurant was very good but breakfast was quite appalling with just a few cereals, a basket of fairly stale rolls and a few yogurts. This hotel is a wasted opportunity as it is in such a calm oasis away from the hordes and could be excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal - I did but didn`t get one despite the hotel not being full!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

We followed directions to this classic locanda given in J.G.Links's brilliant guidebook on Venice. After a hot walk exploring the Dorsoduro area we melted into the shady garden of the restaurant and had a truly memorable lunch. We were late but no one turned us away, the chef stayed a bit longer, we were accommodating in what we chose and our waiter, Adelino, was most charming and a wonderful host. We returned two days later as we wanted to sample more of the menu and were equally charmed by this truly authentic Venetian restaurant. Can't recommend it enough. Order some of the gratin dishes - they are amazing. And the strawberry meringue desert is wonderful. Can't wait to go back for another visit.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Travelling on my own I found locanda montin both really convenient and welcoming. Only 20 mins walk from the station yet in the heart of the Dorsoduro, and 5 mins from the waterbus stop gives you access to all the
sights. Garden restaurant is lovely and check out the night before I left was very easy. Left the key in a basket by the door, very trusting. Left at 6.15am and walking through the calle in the early morning was really magical. When I undoubtedly return to Venice I will stay here. It felt like I was
staying in the real heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Where does one start! A bit of a contradiction in some ways. Brilliant location on a little side street/canal. Lovely light rooms, comfy beds; all very clean.

We ate at the hotel restaurant on our first night purely out of convenience. The food was fantastic, however the service was slow and unfriendly and there is very little atmosphere.

On our first morning we decided to have breakfast in the hotel. This was €7 per person. Be warned, whilst this seems a good deal, it consisted of a basket of bread rolls, a fridge of yoghurt and very little else.

When we came to check out (at 7.30am on a Monday) the whole place was absolutely deserted. We knocked on all doors, shouted out and couldn't get anyone's attention. We had a bus to catch to our next destination so couldn't wait any longer, after spending 45 minutes trying to make ourselves heard, we had no choice but to leave a note with the key asking them to contact us to arrange to pay the bill. Still haven't heard anything!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Locanda Montin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda Montin

Address: 1147 Dorsoduro | Fondamenta delle Eremite, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Antica Locanda Montin 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Antica Locanda Montin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Montin Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Locanda Montin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.