We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Locanda Montin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Locanda Montin to your Saves list
Antica Locanda Montin
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1147 Dorsoduro | Fondamenta delle Eremite, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
24
74
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights at the end of Carnevale. It was in the perfect location, close enough to all the action but far enough away not to be disturbed by the noise. The greeting was very good, the room was all that I required and,having seen reviews of the food and that it was popular with the locals, I was very happy with the food served in the restaurant in the evening. The only down point were the pilows which were rock hard leading to not very good nights' sleep. The Dorsoduro area was lovely and was a great base for four days exploration of the whole of Venice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at the Montin for 3 nights in September, and had a room at the top with a balcony over the small canal. It was a lovely room with comfortable bed and bathroom, and the rest of the hotel is beautiful too - full of antique furniture and original paintings. The staff are helpful and not overbearing, and the breakfast is ok by Italian standards. The breakfast room and garden are nice places to hang out, and the area is nice and quiet, but close enough to the action.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wibaux, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The hotel is a quaint, atmospheric place located on a quiet canal. The owners are friendly, helpful, and very pleasant. We had the room overlooking the restaurant garden terrace. The room was fairly large, clean, and had a decent size bathroom. The original artwork and decor had the feeling of the old Hepburn movie, Summer Time, which my husband and I found charming. Location is ideal, with two ACTV stops close by and many of the major sites just minutes on foot! While some reviewers found it difficult to find the hotel, we had no trouble even on this, our first trip to Venice. We did have breakfast, which was typical yogurt, cereal, bread and bisquits, more than adequate for our travelling needs. The coffee was good. We had one of our best meals in Venice at the hotel. I highly recommend the gnocchi and lasagna. If you want the old time atmosphere of Venice, to be surrounded by art and treated like family, then you will enjoy your stay here. Some people may find it outdated, but we LOVED it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Antica Locanda Montin is one of the better restaurants in Venice (a city where the dining experience can be uneven at times), and they also rent out the rooms upstairs. So if you need the full-tilt 4-star hotel experience, look elsewhere. However, if your needs are simpler, and you just want a comfortable bed and bath in a quiet location (with real art on the walls instead of crappy prints), then this might be the perfect choice. The restaurant, which is in a garden behind the hotel, is one of the few green space in the city, and remarkably soothing. The hotel is in a quiet corner of the Dorsoduro - my favorite part of Venice - well away from the chaos of San Marco and its zillion tourists. This is one of my favorite places on the planet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Our man in Portland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hotel is a find. It's much like any other small Venetian hotel — smallish room, lots of stairs, simple breakfast. What makes it a gem is the people who work there. Nothing is too much trouble. We left feeling that they were real friends. The artwork on the walls also makes it a little different.

The restaurant turns out to be EXCELLENT. They cater to locals more than tourists, I think; we would never have found it if we hadn't happened to be staying there. There is a huge garden behind, which was a little chilly in April, but must be great in the summer. The food was some of the best that we found; we ate there twice in four nights.

They offer a discount if you pay in cash.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony overloking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Lovely staff......who sorted out our wrongly given room.
Lovely food at the restaurant, will come back again in Summer when the tables and chair are set up under the arbour.
Great touch to have original painting in ones room and throughout the hotel to gives the place a nice bohemian feel, (esp. if one reads about the history of the place).
All good would thoroughly recommend.....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Locanda Montin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda Montin

Address: 1147 Dorsoduro | Fondamenta delle Eremite, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Antica Locanda Montin 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Antica Locanda Montin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Montin Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Locanda Montin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.