We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Venice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Piave

Save Saved
You added Hotel Al Piave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Piave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruga Giuffa, Castello 4838 / 40, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #39 of 382 hotels in Venice
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice Venice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wonderful breakfast, very comfortable rooms, good location and very friendly and helpful staff. I assume hotels are generally expensive in Venice and this wasn't cheap as I paid about $210 a night on Expedia for a single. Probably would have been the same for a double. Room was a little on the small side but certainly adequate. Full of Americans as I believe it's highly rated in Rick Steve's book and on Tripadvisor. Would prefer a little more diversity in a hotel. (I'm American).

Room Tip: My room was on the main pedestrian street just above the front entrance and was a little noisy from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    170
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
137
223
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our last hotel of our Rome, Florence, Venice trip. It was the best one. It would have been awesome to be on a canal but this hotel is so charming that it didn't matter. Great location. It's near the San Marco vaporetto stops including the one that takes you to the airport. There were 3 of us traveling together. We had 2 floors to ourselves. The stairway with exposed brick walls led to our "apartment" and then upstairs there was a smaller studio size apartment. There was a dining area, a couch and a kitchen complete with pots and pans (not that I was cooking but still nice). The bedroom was comfy and the air conditioning was excellent! In the 2 other cities, strong AC was definitely lacking. The breakfast room was very nice and they actually served fresh scrambled eggs! It was nice to get some protein for breakfast other than meat and cheese. If I ever went back to Venice, I would return to Hotel al Piave.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 days between 4th and 7th of October, having travelled up from Rome by train. Located 5 minutes walk from St Marks Square,the hotel can be a little tricky to find from the Vaporretto stop, but we managed to follow the map from the hotel website. The hotel location and the compact nature of Venice make it very central and accessible.

Our room which was booked as a birthday gift was a self contained apartment complete with kitchenette/living room (with sofa bed), bathroom and bedroom. It was located off the breakfast room down a little alley through a locked door and up a narrow staircase. While it was modern and spacious, we found the rooms quite dark and the set up a little quirky.
The breakfast room on the other hand was bright and airy, the breakfast excellent with cereals, juice, yoghurt, cold meat, cheese, fresh fruit, scrambled egg, weeners, tea and coffee.
The staff were polite and courteous, and fixed the television immediately after we reported the lack of reception.

There are maps and information flyers in reception as well as general information on options to get to the airport.

I would recommend this hotel for visitors looking for a central location, but just far away enough from the main tourist thoroughfare.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It’s said that one of the best things to do in Venice is get lost. We checked that one off of our to-do list while trying to find the hotel. No big deal, we were in love with the little alley streets, tall buildings and bridges but it can be a hassle if you’re carrying several bags. We hear there is a YouTube video that walks you from the taxi stop to the hotel so you might want to check that out before arrival.

Overall we loved the hotel. The room was clean and all of the employees we spoke with were always friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was a good start to a busy day exploring Venice. We didn’t have enough time to see all the sights of Venice so we will definitely be back to Hotel al Piave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I traveled with two friends of ours and spent one night here. The video on the web sight really helped find this gem of a hotel. We arrived during the day so we just followed the directions and found it with no problem. We had the suite which was very clean, not fancy but for Venice very spacious and nice.This is family owned and each family member was very helpfull! The breakfast in the morning was excellent and had a dining room off of the lobby which was beautiful. They kept our luggage the next day so we could explore this unique City. I would definitely stay here again the next time we are in Venice. Found this from the Rick Steve's book and also received a discount for mentioning his book.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This cozy little place is easy to find if you pay attention to the directions but hidden in a great location for visiting all the major attractions. Claudio was at the desk when we checked in and was very helpful in dragging our bags up the 3 flights of stairs to our rooms. Claudio was also very helpful in recommending some excellent places to eat dinner and then made the reservations for us. We dealt with 3 shifts of staff and each one couldn't be nicer and more helpful.

We had 2 adjoining rooms with our friend and shared a bathroom which was roomy and bright. The bedrooms were big enough, comfortable and clean.

The breakfast they provide is excellent and had a nice variety of food.

They offer a nice discount if paying in cash.

Thank you Claudio for your kind patience.

Room Tip: If travelling with a friend or older children request the adjoining rooms. They offer privacy at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in a quadruple room. Large king bed that didn't give me a sore back. Also had a single next to it and another single in a room separated with a curtain (which my daughter loved). Quite big for a European room and the bathroom also had plenty of space. Shower was a bit small and the nozzle gave a bit of an erratic spray but the water was hot and steady and strong enough to wash my daughter's extremely long hair.
Free breakfast was lovely. Very quiet at night. The location is fantastic - lots of handy little shops around it. Would highly recommend eating at Ristorante da Sabrina. Staff spoke English and were helpful and pleasant. Got their by booking a water taxi at the airport booking counter. They directed me. It's no more difficult to find than any other place in Venice.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Al Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Piave

Address: Ruga Giuffa, Castello 4838 / 40, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#65 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Piave 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Al Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Piave Venice
Al Piave Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Piave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.