We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok location ok hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agli Alboretti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Agli Alboretti to your Saves list
Hotel Agli Alboretti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Accademia 884 | Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok location ok hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Ahh where do I start. This hotel is OLD and it shows (and to be fair may be most other hotels in the area are same). It is located in a fairly quite neighborhood, but is walkable distance to everywhere. Frankly, I saw a hostel that was the same level as this hotel.

The rooms are okay clean, as clean as the poor lady can get this old room. The room sizes are really small, and frankly for 215 Euro/ night I was expecting a little better. The shower curtain in the bathroom had mold built up on the bottom and was disgusting. Since I have mold allergy I asked the reception to change the shower curtains, he's like it's Saturday so most of the places are closed and they will do the best they can. I never heard back from them (and what hotel does not carry some extra?). The toilette was not that nice, water would not drain easily from the shower when I lifted the drain stop a little it was DISGUSTING and did not help the problem. The toilet if you look from the top is as clean as they can get it, but from the room you can see rims of disgusting stuff . We did not use their TV but if it is important for you, the screen was smaller than my 13 inch laptop screen. The room smelled bad, not something you could not live with but bad none the less.

On the bright side, breakfast is included in the room price. It was really good (with bad coffee) and with lots of variety. Gondola ride is just 1 minute walk from the hotel. The mini bar items were free for the first time (including two beers), but they would charge you for refills. The Aliguana stop, Zattare, is 3-5 minutes straight walk from the hotel which was really convenient. We took Aliguana from VCE, stopped at Zattare and walked to the hotel. It's about 1.5 hours boat ride from the hotel to the airport. Air conditioner worked fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Agli Alboretti, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
thank you for your comment.
We are glad to inform you that we have been able to solve the unfortunate matter you referred to in your communication to us.
We're looking forward to having you as a guest again in our hotel and offer you a special price and discount.

with our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
31
70
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hotel Agli Alboretti was exactly what I was looking for -- a comfortable, clean hotel in a relatively quiet area, and well-located for walking around Venice, close to museums, etc. The Accademia Bridge and water bus stop are about a block away, and the Gallerie dell'Academia is basically across the street, yet the immediate area around the hotel was quiet, particularly at night. It's a short walk to the Peggy Guggenheim and Ca Rezzonico, which are in Dorsoduro, but also an easy walk (20 minutes?) to Piazza San Marco, and for longer distances, you've got the water bus right there. The room was clean; the continental breakfast was pretty standard but the cappuccino was very good; the hotel staff were cordial and helpful. It's nothing fancy, but it's a solid 3-star hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and 22 year old son stayed her for 2 days prior to a 7 day cruise. The location is excellent. A mere 20 minute walk to San Marco. The hotel itself is quiet and extremely clean. It has an elevator and at least one room that can accomodate 4-both rarities on our visits to Europe. The boat station is just two stops from the cruise terminal and a 4 minute walk from the hotel. It is a 40 minute boat trip to Murano's glass factories but the ride is fascinating. The front desk is excellent. A basic continental breakfast was part of the room rate and quite adequate for us. We would stay here again if we were to return to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed 3 great days in Venice and at this hotel. WE went during carnival time and a hotel we had previously booked would not let us check in after 8pm so 2 days before arrival they booked us in and said we could arrive at any time. They gave excellent directions that were easy to follow.
The room was big with a comfortable bed and the breakfast was really good, especially the coffee and hot chocolate! The staff were so welcoming, always smiling and willing to answer questions. The location was so good as it was out of the hustle and bustle yet close enough to walk everywhere.
I would highly recommened this hotel !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed there in a triple room, the room was quite spacious and well equipped. The hotel has a lift which is not necessary available in all hotels of this range i Venice. The lift is small, but we enjoyed taking the narrow but very nice stairs. The breakfast is very good. The location is very good either you want to walk or even if you want to take the water public transport. Venice is amazing and this hotel is a very good place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We needed one night's accommodation at the end of our honeymoon in Venice. This hotel had come recommended as second on a list from a friend. The first hotel was fully booked, we checked it out two days before and they couldn't show us a room then. We decided that at 210 euros, we should just take it. Overall, it was ok, but it was still really hot in Venice in the middle of September and the aircon in the room would not go below 20 degrees celcius, which is not cooling at all. We asked reception to look at it during the day we checked in. They did, and left a note in the room saying they were sorry, but it wouldn't go any lower. That evening we asked the reception desk again and they said, why didnt you ask during the day when the maintenance person is here. I said that we had. At 10pm I called the front desk to tell them that it was unbearably hot, and did they have a fan or a ventilator that we could use. The front desk man said that the Italian Government had declared that since it was September, it was no longer summer and that they were not allowed to lower the airconditioning temperature. I had never heard such rubbish in my life, but how do you argue that at 10pm at night over the phone. So we had to sleep with wet towels over our bodies all night, which only helped a little. After a bad night sleep, we awoke to find we had been bitten by mosquitos. Front desk claimed that they could have offered us an anti-mosquito coil, but we already had plugged one in the room. Problem was that we couldn't use it all night coz there was only one working plug socket in the room which we needed to charge our camera battery with.
But breakfast was nice and the place was generally very clean. Had good internet connection which we paid for separately for each device. In the morning we discovered that we only needed to pay for the 6 hour internet access as it lasted as long as the 12 hour access code. Oh well, it was on a couple of euros. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We arrived in Venice without having made a reservation. We saw this hotel and enquired if there was a vacancy.We were shown a couple of rooms and decided on a lovely room overlooking the garden restaurant.. The room was comfortable, clean and airconditioned. The complimentary mini bar was a lovely surprise. The staff were efficient and attentive. The breakfast items on offer were generous and fresh.After paying an average of 7 euro for a coffee in Venice-it was welcoming to see espresso coffee served at breakfast (included in the room price). We met a couple in a cafe at St Marko's square and they told us that they could not find a room, we suggested this hotel. It was lovely to see them at breakfast the next day and even lovelier to find that they too were happy with the hotel. We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Agli Alboretti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agli Alboretti

Address: Accademia 884 | Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#124 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#130 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agli Alboretti 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the elegant "Sestiere" (neighbourhood) Dorsoduro Agli Alboretti is a fine family three star hotel meticulously run by Mrs. Anna Linguerri, helped by a dedicated staff, some of whom have been working here for many years. Enjoy the quiet, relaxing atmosphere of an ancient Venetian house, placed in a strategic position to visit the most interesting sites of Venice. The hotel is in front of the Accademia Galleries, very few minutes from Guggenheim Collection, St. Mark’s Square and Rialto bridge. It is near public transports for the City, the airport and the islands (Murano, Burano, Torcello) and therefore easily reachable also from Piazzale Roma (car and bus terminal) and railway station. All the 23 rooms at disposal are furnished in 19th century or navy style and have been recently redecorated. They are fitted with private services, satellite TV, wireless Internet connection, mini bar and air conditioning in Summer. They overlook either the large street Rio Terà Foscarini or some private inner gardens among which the courtyard of the hotel where, in Summer, breakfast is served. A lift makes easy to reach the four floors of the building and the terrace on top where guests can sit and relax. The curious name "Agli Alboretti" comes from the "small trees" that were planted along the street Rio Terrà Foscarini at the end of 19th century when the canal was filled in and transformed into a street. Venetians are not accustomed to have trees along the "calli" and they started to call it "the street of the small trees." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Agli Alboretti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agli Alboretti Venice
Agli Alboretti Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agli Alboretti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.