We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for its price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Serenissima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Serenissima to your Saves list
Hotel Serenissima
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Goldoni 4486, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ok for its price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good things:
> Very polite and friendly staff (speaks english well)
> just right in the middle of Rialto and San Marco, 5-10 minutes walk, depends how many times you get lost
> Good breakfast, just enough too start the day
> Big room for a European standard

Not so good things:
> Towels smell
> You have to do some sort of "magic twist" on the doorknob before it opens when going inside your room.. when i asked the guy in the front desk how to open my room, he said: "you have to twist it to the left, then pull slowly, before pushing it. if it doesn't work, try twisting to the right"
quite irritating when you're tired and just want to rest!
> there's only one electric socket in the room, and located inside the shower. errr

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    176
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
50
153
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The service is fantastic, (great english) and very helpful, with a porter available to carry your bags to your room in this charming building. The location is perfect, you're not on the edge of the canal but tucked away in a laneway but it was quiet, and easy short walking distance to the square and the bridge. The breakfast was a highlight with a great array of food available and a lovely old lady busily preparing the food and bringing out the coffee etc. Room was perfectly fine. Great air-con and nice big windows. This is a real genuiene, charming hotel and we actually have nothing negative to say about it! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The remarkable thing of this hotel is the excellent location and the very good rate. In relation to the location, it is literally at walking distance from the two most important landmarks of Venice: the Piazza San Marco and the Ponte di Rialto (approximately three blocks because the hotel is geographically in the middle of both). In those places there are stops of the vaporetto, the water bus system of Venice.

The staff was very friendly form the very beggining, allways prepared to assist the guest. The check-in process was very fast and pleasant.

Our room was small but very nice furnitured. Paradoxically, the bathroom was very big and comfortable. The problem we perceived was with the shower. Not having a curtain or something to contain the water, it was a bit problematic to have a shower avoiding a big mess.
As all the buildings of the area, it is very old but well maintained.

The rate includes a breakfast, served in the first floor. There are good pastries, juices and good products for a good starting of the day.

An important thing for some potential guests is that the building do not have an elevator. From the front desk there are stairs to the first floor (it could be a bit long for some). In relation to the luggage, the staff assist the people during the check-in and check-out.
We would certainly return to this nice hotel.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, the hotel do not have any elevator. If you have some problems with that, ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

very good hotel old fashioned but in agood way rooms were basic but all you would want .No good for people with walking difficulties as no lifts.location wise it is perfect 5 mins from st marks square and 7 mins to rialto bridge.Staff were friendly and all spoke good english,would recommend without hesitation in fact when i go back next year guess where ill be staying..... yes here again.

Room Tip: 3 floors no lifts so lower floor better for some people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved our stay at Hotel Serenissima! The hotel staff was helpful. They went out of their way for us many times. I felt very at home. The rooms were comfortable. The location is excellent. It is a small , quint hotel with endless amounts of charm. We can't wait to go back to Hotel Serenissima.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, on the street side. It was a charming room. I loved seeing the sweet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 4 nights over the Venice marathon weekend. This is an excellent and well located hotel right in the centre of Venice. The rooms are spotless and the hotel staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Serenissima and really for the low price it was absolutely great. Location is very central and convenient but also quiet. The staff as everyone has said are absolutely great, did everything they could for us including booking concerts and advising on the height and timing of FLOODS! (if you go to Venice in late October be sure to pack waterproof boots). The room was on the top floor, quite a trek with no lift but kept us fit. Room and bathroom very small but with everything we needed. Breakfast was extensive plenty of choice and plenty of coffee, no need to order a refill. Clearly this is not a luxury hotel but on a budget in Venice I don't think you can do any better than the Serenissima

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Serenissima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serenissima

Address: Calle Goldoni 4486, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#130 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#135 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Serenissima 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Serenissima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenissima Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Serenissima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.