We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location, breakfast and at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Serenissima

Save Saved
You added Hotel Serenissima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Serenissima
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Goldoni 4486, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 382 hotels in Venice
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service, location, breakfast and at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The service is fantastic, (great english) and very helpful, with a porter available to carry your bags to your room in this charming building. The location is perfect, you're not on the edge of the canal but tucked away in a laneway but it was quiet, and easy short walking distance to the square and the bridge. The breakfast was a highlight with a great array of food available and a lovely old lady busily preparing the food and bringing out the coffee etc. Room was perfectly fine. Great air-con and nice big windows. This is a real genuiene, charming hotel and we actually have nothing negative to say about it! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    131
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
42
112
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The remarkable thing of this hotel is the excellent location and the very good rate. In relation to the location, it is literally at walking distance from the two most important landmarks of Venice: the Piazza San Marco and the Ponte di Rialto (approximately three blocks because the hotel is geographically in the middle of both). In those places there are stops of the vaporetto, the water bus system of Venice.

The staff was very friendly form the very beggining, allways prepared to assist the guest. The check-in process was very fast and pleasant.

Our room was small but very nice furnitured. Paradoxically, the bathroom was very big and comfortable. The problem we perceived was with the shower. Not having a curtain or something to contain the water, it was a bit problematic to have a shower avoiding a big mess.
As all the buildings of the area, it is very old but well maintained.

The rate includes a breakfast, served in the first floor. There are good pastries, juices and good products for a good starting of the day.

An important thing for some potential guests is that the building do not have an elevator. From the front desk there are stairs to the first floor (it could be a bit long for some). In relation to the luggage, the staff assist the people during the check-in and check-out.
We would certainly return to this nice hotel.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, the hotel do not have any elevator. If you have some problems with that, ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

very good hotel old fashioned but in agood way rooms were basic but all you would want .No good for people with walking difficulties as no lifts.location wise it is perfect 5 mins from st marks square and 7 mins to rialto bridge.Staff were friendly and all spoke good english,would recommend without hesitation in fact when i go back next year guess where ill be staying..... yes here again.

Room Tip: 3 floors no lifts so lower floor better for some people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved our stay at Hotel Serenissima! The hotel staff was helpful. They went out of their way for us many times. I felt very at home. The rooms were comfortable. The location is excellent. It is a small , quint hotel with endless amounts of charm. We can't wait to go back to Hotel Serenissima.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, on the street side. It was a charming room. I loved seeing the sweet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 4 nights over the Venice marathon weekend. This is an excellent and well located hotel right in the centre of Venice. The rooms are spotless and the hotel staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Serenissima and really for the low price it was absolutely great. Location is very central and convenient but also quiet. The staff as everyone has said are absolutely great, did everything they could for us including booking concerts and advising on the height and timing of FLOODS! (if you go to Venice in late October be sure to pack waterproof boots). The room was on the top floor, quite a trek with no lift but kept us fit. Room and bathroom very small but with everything we needed. Breakfast was extensive plenty of choice and plenty of coffee, no need to order a refill. Clearly this is not a luxury hotel but on a budget in Venice I don't think you can do any better than the Serenissima

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from a one night stay here. Chose because of location and history and price. We had to leave before breakfast to catch a flight but the staff were helpful and the room looked just like the website. Clean modern bathroom. Hot water challenges. Staff ran our luggage to third floor. Easy to find and trundle our suitcases down the street from Rialto Bridge. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Serenissima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serenissima

Address: Calle Goldoni 4486, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#113 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#119 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Serenissima 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Serenissima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenissima Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Serenissima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.