We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at a central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Locanda Sturion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Locanda Sturion to your Saves list
Antica Locanda Sturion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   679 San Polo | Calle del Sturion, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 384 Hotels in Venice
2 reviews
“Nice hotel at a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Located close to the Rialto bridge it is easy to find. Don't pack too heavy because you have to cross the beidge and then go up 3 floors to get there. Once inside the nice Venetian style rooms are very accomodating. Mini bar is well stocked and fair priced. Breakfast is also very good and you enjoy the nice view then. Recommendable. On another note do not eat in the restaurant right in front of the hotel, cheap prices yes, but bad food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    71
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
49
101
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have read reviews from people not in the canal view rooms and they were less positive. My experience was great. The room was beautiful. I booked it solely for the great canal view and it did not fail to deliver. Fantastic views and a beautiful room. The AC worked fine and the breakfast was lovely.

The desk help could have been better, though. We "booked" a gondola ride through the front desk (through more hassle than it should have been). When we arrived to the gondola slip that was pointed out to us by the desk clerk, they had no record of the reservation and no idea who Antica Locanda Sturion was. We easily booked it on our own but it added a layer of stress to the experience.

If you want a beautiful room with a fantastic view. This is it. Just make sure you book Room #1 or Room #2.

Yes, there were many stairs but we don't mind stairs. A porter helped with the bags going up but not leaving.

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #2 have a canal view and are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alrewas staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and could have spent much longer. The breakfast Room overlooks The Grand Canal and The Rialto Bridge & with the generous provisions of the continental breakfast we were more than happy to linger! The staff went out of their way to be helpful which was great, especially on the 1st night when we arrived really late in the evening after a long day. The room was beautifully furnishd with every attention to detail. All much appreciated. There are a lot of stairs, however it's worth the effort!

Room Tip: There are rooms directly overlooking The Grand Canal if you are happy to pay the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this charming hotel on our first trip to Venice. We had booked a basic double room, but were lucky enough to be upgraded to apartment 685 a few doors up which was very spacious! That aside we saw the double room which we would have been more than happy with for our stay. The continental breakfasts were lovely with plenty of choice and the small dining room situated overlooking the Grande Canal and Rialto Bridge. Location was perfect by the Rialto Bridge, with a short walk to San Marco. There were plenty of water bus stops right outside if you wanted to venture further afield.
In no way a negative, but this hotel is located on the 4th floor therefore be aware of the steps (a small price to pay for the view up the canal!)
We could not fault this hotel and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

If you want a quiet romantic break in Venice you will do well find find a better location than the Antica Locanda Sturion. It is right on the Grand Canal and quite close to the Rialto bridge, really in the heart of Venice. It hasn't got all the facilities of the more international hotels, but it depends what you are looking for and how much time you are expecting to spend in the hotel. We were very fortunate in having one of the two bedrooms that overlook the Grand Canal (out of nine), although the breakfast room has lovely view over the Rialto. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the rooms clean and well presented. The only downside was the long flight of stairs to the third floor reception (no lift), but that shouldn't bother most people. Would recommend this to anyone looking for an atmospheric holiday in Venice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and wish it had been 5. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were large as we found. We were a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 teenage kids who were very grateful for a pair of single beds.
The location was perfect, about a minutes walk to the Realto bridge and the water busses.
Breakfasts were a highlight with the breakfast room overlooking the Grande Canal. The quality of the food was exceptional. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Don't be put off by the stairs, if you work out your days, you only climb them once a day. Ask for help with your bags if you need it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've been in Venice three times in the last 30 years and this is the best hotel so far. The location is excellent, right near the Rialto Bridge and the water bus stops. It is very clean with well appointed rooms and nice, helpful staff. The rooms are fairly spacious with a Victorian flair. Our room had a canal view with a couple of small love seats, a twin and a queen bed. There is a hot water kettle with a basket of different teas and some instant coffee as well as some biscuits. Breakfast is also included in the room rate and was quite decent.

My only complaint was the pillows...they were like resting your head on a rock they were so firm. But bad pillows or not, I'd still go back and stay there, I liked the hotel a lot!

Room Tip: Spend a couple extra dollars for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Locanda Sturion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda Sturion

Address: 679 San Polo | Calle del Sturion, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Locanda Sturion 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Antica Locanda Sturion," probably Venice’s most ancient hotel still running, is a cosy small Venetian House featuring just 11 rooms. Its decor, the ancient style furniture and the Venetian red damask and brocade make it special, creating a truly traditional unique and cosy feeling. A welcoming place from the past with superb and very impressive views on the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge from the two Superior Rooms and the beautiful Breakfast Lounge, which is also: - a reading room with a tiny yet well-stocked library boasting a number of books in various languages.- a living room for an afternoon break and taking photos of the magnificent sunsets on the Grand Canal. You have just to take a look in the evening or early morning to breathe the magic of Venice and take a dip in the past and its atmosphere. Truly a breathtaking view! This Boutique Hotel is a small and well-established family business run by Nicole, Manuela, Helen and Flavia, who will do all their best to provide you with specific suggestions and advice for an unusual and intriguingly unique approach to our town. And in all our old-style rooms you will find the kettle to prepare a good cup of tea or coffee with complimentary cookies to rest after a long city tour. In a nutshell the right place to breath a truly Venetian and romantic atmosphere. As there is no lift to reach the Locanda, situated on the top floor of an Ancient Palace on the Grand Canal, we want our Guest to be aware they have to climb a long stairs, but our bellman Giuseppe will be happy to help you carrying upstairs your heaviest items. The hotel is smoke-free. Recall that the hotel offers breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free) Features:- Gluten-free breakfast for Celiac.- Bar- Breakfast buffet: 08:00 am to 9:30 am- Kettle with Tea & Coffee & Biscuits in all rooms- Check out: 11:00 am- Check in 02:00 pm on- Our restaurant "Bistrot de Venise"- Our Residenza Bistrot de Venise flats- Our 3 star Hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero in St. Mark's area Facilities:- Breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free)- Library in several languages, dedicated to Venice’s history and art.- Parking, special Garage agreement in Piazzale Roma- 10% discount at TripAadvisor & Michelin Top rated "Bistrot de Venise"- Internet Point: complimentary- Free Internet Wi-Fi: complimentary- I-Pad: complimentary use for our Guests (if available)- Fax service- Classical Music Concerts: schedules and booking- Tourist information of any kind- Tour of Murano glassworks and the Laguna islands, schedules and booking- Baggage room- Paid transfer service on request. Let us lead you to the discovery of Venice’s most secret and hidden spots:- Top secret Venice; an unusual walk with an authorized guide- Exploring Venice by Night; a night walk with an authorized guide- A full day on a "Bragozzo" boat, including lunch on board and various excursions- Discover the vineyards on the Laguna islands with Rebecca- Pescaturismo (recreational fishing) with Burano’s fishermen and Rebecca- Guided eno-gastronomic tours in the Prosecco hills- Introducing Amarone wine: guided oenological tours- Venice’s Cuisine and Historic Wines with Sara (guide –sommelier )- Meet Venice’s last true craftsmen with Valentina and Rebecca- Mysterious Venice: ghosts and legends; a walk with an authorized guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Antica Locanda Sturion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Sturion Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Locanda Sturion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.