We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Locanda Sturion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Locanda Sturion to your Saves list
Antica Locanda Sturion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   679 San Polo | Calle del Sturion, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #137 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It's all about location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 4 days at this hotel in september 2012. It's a typical venetian charming hotel with a fantastic view of the Grande Canal from the window in the breakfast buffet. The stairs up to the reception has been mentioned by nearly all visitors, but isn't stairs and bridges what walking around in Venice is all about? We returned home quite fit... The breakfast itself was a bit disappointing. There were few choices and it always took time to refill the small serving dishes. We also sensed this kind of saving money in the pressure and temperature in the shower. However, the room was always clean.
So what is the main issue with this hotel? It is the LOCATION close to the Rialto Bridge just 20 meters from the sunny side of the Canal Grande and nice restaurants. We could not ask for a better place to stay in Venice because we were able to walk to every part of the city. Even on arrival by bus in the outskirts of the city, there was no problem walking with our luggage to the hotel.
The staff was OK, but no more. Their English skills differed quite a bit from person to person, but we experienced no problems.
Bottom line: next time we are in Venice we will look for a location like this, maybe even choose the same hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms are number 1 and 2 next to the breakfast buffet and overlooking the Canal Grande.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    66
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
47
92
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel cannot be beaten for the view (just by the Rialto bridge), or Venetian styling. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the hospitality is excellent. Breakfast is delightful. Just beware of the three flights of stairs which, after a day walking around Venice, are a little exhausting!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel is located on the Grande Canal, near the Rialto Bridge, so it has great views and is a good starting point to exploring Venice. A major drawback is the stairs, no lift, so to get on 3ed floor, especially with luggage can be a big problem. Venetian style rooms, rather clean and very romantic. Breakfast OK, but for that price you can expect a higher standard. You have to wait long for bringing the missing products or even to ask for them. Service rather distant, too little caring towards guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in Aug 2012. We had Room#2 next to the breakfast lobby. The room was exactly as advertised. Bathroom was nice and spotlessly clean. The AC was a bit weak - but we found that the case everywhere in Italy - living in the Middle East probably has spoilt us in this regard :). 65 or 69 or 78 step? We had read about it too..frankly it didn't bother us that much. Yes, old people, people with mobility issues might have an issue - but be warned, Venice involves negotiating steps everywhere.

The steps are small and you only feel a li'l out of breath towards the top. This is a historic property dating back to 1490's, one of the 24 surviving locandas! The bellboy helped us with our luggage when we checked in.

The location is excellent - on the Grand Canal with a view of the Rialto. The Rialto Vaporetti stop is a short 3-4 min walk. You can reach San Marco's in around 10 mins on the Vaporetto. The importance of location is particularly important if like us you have to take an early morning flight. It was easy for us to walk to the Rialto Mercado stop (a 5mins walk from the hotel) and take the Vaporetto at 4.32 am. We then took a bus from P. Roma. It saved us from calling for an expensive water taxi.

While checking out at 4am in the morning, the night shift manager, Mentu himself helped us take our luggage down. He almost walked us all the way to the Rialto Mercado Vaporetti station - we are grateful for his help. The staff is friendly and helpful, they make you feel at home. Helen at the reception printed out our boarding passes for us. We were unsure how to get to the airport the next day so early, Helen sorted it out for us -at her advice we took the early Vaporetti to P.Roma and a bust to VCE, saving a lot of Euros which we would have spent had we taken the water bus. Mentu the night manager helped us take our luggage down himself and even walked us a part of the way to the Rialto Mercado stop - thanks for all the help.

We didn't have any issues with noise in the breakfast room. There was a bit of noise from the Vaporetti pulling in and out of the Vaporetti stop opposite,banging into the landing docks, but after a full day of walking around Venice it was easy to drift into sleep and we slept well :)

Breakfast spread was adequate, Eggs would have been nice were they available.

It's beautiful to watch the sky turn golden with the first rays of dawn, all this from your room over the canal. There are a lot of pizzerias and restaurants nearby serving good quality, fresh from the oven, cheap pizzas - giving you good eating options.

I loved getting up early and roaming around the canals and streets of Venice. It is a little pricey, but the location cannot be any better. I did check out other hotels nearby but didn't like them. The Locanda is near enough the Rialto and all the "action", but at 100 m or so, removed enough from the noise of the crowd and holiday makers, making it a quiet place to stay. I will always prefer to stay in the old Locunda whenever I am in Venice and choose room #2 over the Canal. The hotel has a lovely ambience,warm and welcoming. It is old but you get a fresh feeling soon as you step inside. The library has a good collection of books (if you have the time to read). Overall a wonderful experience, wish we had more time in Venice, which means we will be back soon enough and staying at the Antica Locunda Sturion again!

Room Tip: We stayed at Room#2 next to the breakfast room, great view of the Canal, Rialto bridge. Sunrise over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and my two teenage sons stayed in this hotel during august 2012. The view from our room (which had 4 beds and a huge bathroom) is just like the picture in tripadvidor, beautiful Rialto Bridge. Close to everything and right in front of the vaporetto station. Even the breakfast room has a great view. Besides, they have honest employees hard to find these days. When we left, my sons left a small package with very expensive video game cartridges which were returned by mail the next day at no cost. The only downside is the lack of a lift, but if you go to Venice you will climb a lot of stairs anyways everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel Locanda Sturion
Venice
This is the 6 th time we have stayed in this hotel and the view of the Rialto Bridge from room one, never disappoints. What was disappointing this time however, was that room one also opens to the breakfast room and the noisy night staff woke me up in the middle of the night.....every night as they set up for breakfast. Also, other guests come into the Breakfast Room and start talking loudly at all hours, without consideration of the two rooms that share walls to that common area. Whoever is on duty, should ask for more consideration. There are other rooms in the establishment and they would be quieter....just minus the view.

I guess this is the downside of being in one of the best viewpoints in the city.
Travelers to the Sturion for the first time also need to be aware that there are 78 steps leading to the hotel, and if you are elderly, unhealthy or have massive luggage, it's situation might cause problems for you.

The Sturion is a very reasonably priced hotel with a great location. The breakfasts are good and the new young man from the Philipines who helped us with our luggage was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My fiancée and I stayed here because he had been here 5 years prior and loved the location and view. It was a great call because he was right, the hotel is a close walk (3min) to the Rialto bridge, across from the vaporetto stops, and our room (room 1) had an amazing view of the Grand canal and the Rialto bridge. Everyone complains about the stairs that you have to walk up to get to reception, but if you pack light and are in relatively good shape, they are not a problem. I thought they were a good challenge to work off all of the gelato we ate to try to stay cool :-)
Breakfast was included, which was basically cereal, breads, ham and cheese, and they offer a gluten-free option which was anothe reason why we chose this place. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and they even called to make a reservation at a restaurant for us (a restaurant not affiliated with the hotel).
Considering the excellent location and huge size of our room (could have slept 4), it was good value. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center, I clicked those by accident. Room 1 and 2 have excellent views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Locanda Sturion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda Sturion

Address: 679 San Polo | Calle del Sturion, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Locanda Sturion 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Antica Locanda Sturion," probably Venice’s most ancient hotel still running, is a cosy small Venetian House featuring just 11 rooms. Its decor, the ancient style furniture and the Venetian red damask and brocade make it special, creating a truly traditional unique and cosy feeling. A welcoming place from the past with superb and very impressive views on the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge from the two Superior Rooms and the beautiful Breakfast Lounge, which is also: - a reading room with a tiny yet well-stocked library boasting a number of books in various languages.- a living room for an afternoon break and taking photos of the magnificent sunsets on the Grand Canal. You have just to take a look in the evening or early morning to breathe the magic of Venice and take a dip in the past and its atmosphere. Truly a breathtaking view! This Boutique Hotel is a small and well-established family business run by Nicole, Manuela, Helen and Flavia, who will do all their best to provide you with specific suggestions and advice for an unusual and intriguingly unique approach to our town. And in all our old-style rooms you will find the kettle to prepare a good cup of tea or coffee with complimentary cookies to rest after a long city tour. In a nutshell the right place to breath a truly Venetian and romantic atmosphere. As there is no lift to reach the Locanda, situated on the top floor of an Ancient Palace on the Grand Canal, we want our Guest to be aware they have to climb a long stairs, but our bellman Giuseppe will be happy to help you carrying upstairs your heaviest items. The hotel is smoke-free. Recall that the hotel offers breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free) Features:- Gluten-free breakfast for Celiac.- Bar- Breakfast buffet: 08:00 am to 9:30 am- Kettle with Tea & Coffee & Biscuits in all rooms- Check out: 11:00 am- Check in 02:00 pm on- Our restaurant "Bistrot de Venise"- Our Residenza Bistrot de Venise flats- Our 3 star Hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero in St. Mark's area Facilities:- Breakfast for Celiac (Gluten Free)- Library in several languages, dedicated to Venice’s history and art.- Parking, special Garage agreement in Piazzale Roma- 10% discount at TripAadvisor & Michelin Top rated "Bistrot de Venise"- Internet Point: complimentary- Free Internet Wi-Fi: complimentary- I-Pad: complimentary use for our Guests (if available)- Fax service- Classical Music Concerts: schedules and booking- Tourist information of any kind- Tour of Murano glassworks and the Laguna islands, schedules and booking- Baggage room- Paid transfer service on request. Let us lead you to the discovery of Venice’s most secret and hidden spots:- Top secret Venice; an unusual walk with an authorized guide- Exploring Venice by Night; a night walk with an authorized guide- A full day on a "Bragozzo" boat, including lunch on board and various excursions- Discover the vineyards on the Laguna islands with Rebecca- Pescaturismo (recreational fishing) with Burano’s fishermen and Rebecca- Guided eno-gastronomic tours in the Prosecco hills- Introducing Amarone wine: guided oenological tours- Venice’s Cuisine and Historic Wines with Sara (guide –sommelier )- Meet Venice’s last true craftsmen with Valentina and Rebecca- Mysterious Venice: ghosts and legends; a walk with an authorized guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Antica Locanda Sturion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Sturion Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Locanda Sturion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.