We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right and well priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Lucia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Santa Lucia
Save
You added Hotel Santa Lucia to your Saves list
Calle della Misericordia 358 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 440 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grass Valley, California, United States
1 review
“Just right and well priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Minutes from the train station, off the main street and throngs of crowds. You can walk quickly to the water taxes or take the trains. Staff was gracious and our room was neat and clean. For the the money you get a room in a nice home with a nice outside area to enjoy your continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    191
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
78
155
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

IT is hard to find good value hotels in Venice but this must be about the best value. I reckon it should be 3 star. The rooms and the beds are sizable, and (the Continental) breakfast is provided on small tables outside in the open air. There is always someone at the small reception desk who is willing to help (although sometimes English can be a problem); it took me a while to get used to handing in your key whenever you leave but someone is always there to give it back to you when you return. There are numerous flyers about shows on in Venice that we found very helpful. The hotel is in the Cannregio part of Venice near the rail and bus terminals so it was no trouble to wheel our baggage. We found the hotel hard to find at first among the little streets off the main street called Espagna but now realise that what we should have been looking for was 'Albergo S Lucia' in big black letters on the main street where the Misercordiae sidestreet/path begins, and the big neon lights just visible along the side street/path. The nearby Beck self service food outlet on the main street was very good value. The hotel is not far at all to the vaporetto/ferry stops on the Grand Canal and the Cannregio canal. So it was an absolutely excellent place to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is sort of okay I think, but I read many great reviews on here so I expected it a bit better. Main reason for having trouble with this hotel was that it had paper thin walls (at least by the sound of it) and I felt very uncomfortable speaking as I could clearly here all my neighbours speak and I was afraid for my privacy. Also the Wifi was very expensive which is not normal any more in these days (especially not with many places offering free wifi). Also what's the thing with handing your keys to the reception in Venice?? I don't see it happening in any other countries?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe0409, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Google Translation
Gentile Signora, mi dispiace che il Suo soggiorno nel mio hotel non è stato all'altezza delle Sue
aspettative.
Nel mio hotel ovviamente a dividere le camere ci sono dei regolari muri come in quasi tutti gli
hotel di Venezia, per trovare le poche strutture non pareti insonorizzate bisogna andare in hotel
di 4 o 5 stelle.
Le chiavi consegnate alla reception sono una normalità in tutti gli hotel d'Italia ,
nel mio hotel c'è un servizio di portineria di 24 ore per tutta la notte con personale addetto
alla consegna della chiave.
La ringrazio comunque per aver recensito l'hotel e magari in futuro spero che il Suo giudizio sia
più positivo. Distinti saluti.
Gianni Parcianello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in July last year and were so pleased with the service we decided to stay again this year. The hotel appears to be family run and has a very friendly atmosphere. There is always someone on reception, even at night (you ring the bell and some one comes from just inside to let you in). We had a room without ensuite. Some of the shared bathrooms were dated and in desperate need of updating however there is the option of having an ensuite room. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfy. The air conditioning was a huge benefit considering the heat in August although the maids turned the air con off when they cleaned so you came back to a redhot room! The breakfast was basic but substantial enough with cornflakes, brioche, packaged cakes and biscuits with jams, honey, nutella and soft cheese. Wifi is available to purchase €1 for an hours use and there are various guide books and maps accessible to help with planning. The location is the biggest draw with this hotel. It is only a 5minute walk from the train station, tourist information centre and vapporetto links. For a budget break in Venice, we strongly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe0409, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your good review.
Best regards from Hotel santa Lucia and all staff.
Gianni Parcianello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This 1-star hotel is one of the most economic choices in Venice. The location is very convenient, especially for cruise ship passengers. It's about a 10 minute walk from Piazzale Roma where the cars come in from the mainland (airport). There is a cable tram called the Venice People Mover at P. Roma that offers transportation to the cruise terminal for 1 Euro per person. The hotel is also only 3 minutes or so from the closest vaporetto station. On the way to the hotel from P. Roma, we crossed a large bridge with small steps, which could be a bit challenging with heavy luggage. There are people on the bridge who try to grab your luggage and "help" you out for a tip, so be careful with that. The room we were in (a triple room) was quite large and the ensuite bathroom was very roomy as well. I could tell the place was aged, but the hotel staff kept it clean and spotless. There was even AC in the room so we stayed nice and cool. We opted for breakfast at the hotel for a reasonable price which included bread, cereal, juice/coffee/tea, and a variety of packaged biscuits/cakes. It was convenient but could get boring if you're staying for longer than 2 days. The small garden patio where we enjoyed breakfast was nice though, and really makes you feel like you're on vacation. The only inconvenience was having to leave the room key with the reception every time before going out, but I didn't mind since there was always someone there and I didn't have to worry about losing the key. Service was friendly and we were even allowed to store our luggage for a while after checking out. I don't think you'd be able to find better value in Venice especially with the convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe0409, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Sirs, thank you very much for your beautiful review.
for my hotel the report between price and qualty is fundamental.
with best regards.
Gianni Parcianello and all staff of the Hotel Santa Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel is perfect! It is located in a quieter neighbourhood surrounded by great restaurants and bars and only a 15 minute stroll to st marks square.
The rooms are spotless and big for European standards. The staff are so helpful and accommodating and even let us check in early! How this is a 1 star I do not know as I have stayed in much worse 3 stars! The breakfast was also more than adequate for the price and much cheaper than what you could find in Venice! Will definitely return if in Venice again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe0409, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your beautiful review,
I hope to see you in another time in my hotel,
with best regards from Hotel Santa Lucia and all staff.
Gianni Parcianello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is down a street off the main street near train station. We came in by cruise ship. Had to pull luggage across the new bridge between bus station and train statio. Steps on bridge are short but still can be a struggle, but you will have to cross a bridge somewhere. Room was great. We paid more for WC in our room. AC worked great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Left early in AM by bus to airport. Quiet location.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe0409, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Mr GRAY, thank you for your good review.
I hope to see you and your friends anothe time ii my hotel.

Gianni Parcianello and all staff
Hotel santa Lucia Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Lucia

Address: Calle della Misericordia 358 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Hotel Santa Lucia are immaculate and each one has air conditioning, satellite TV and direct telephone. From the spring through to the winter, the beautiful flowering gardens (rare for a 1-star hotel in Venice!) greet guests of the hotel each morning with a hearty breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.