We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege to your Saves list
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Dorsoduro 1058 | Fondamenta Bollani, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Luciano is a STAR - they all looked after us wonderfully as always, but after I left something behind they were truly brilliant. Even after we had left he helped us with our travel arrangements. The location is ideal for sightseeing and is surprisingly quiet considering its location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    103
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
176
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What an amazing hotel - stayed in a junior suite for the first night, and now in a canal view room. Both are just amazing. Beautiful grounds, fantastic service and excellent location. The restaurant with 10% discount was just okay. They organise a tour to a glass factory for you at no charge and we highly recommended this. The first show room is very expensive, but then they have another level where they have glassware for the average traveller. Would recommend this to god friends and family.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be good - we had 7 and then 43
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was perfectly lovely and had a few things going for it that I liked. Ultimately it was not my style of hotel but it depends on what you are looking for.

The location of this hotel is great. It is tucked away from the busiest sections of the accademia and far enough away from the tourist traps (St. Mark's Square, Ponte Rialto) that it wasn't choked with people even during the day. The hotel itself is very picturesque and has a large private square outside the front door, as well as views of the minor canals. The decorations are charming but a little over the top, for example including a table and chair set in the upstairs common area that are for display only and not to be used. This theme continued in the rooms where everything has a very fancy, old-fashioned style. Again, nothing wrong with it but not my style. The room was otherwise very comfortable with a modern bathroom and plenty of space.

The things that didn't win me over were mainly the extras and the staff. This was the only hotel we stayed at that did not offer free wi-fi nor fresh coffee in the morning. There is free continental breakfast in the morning but it left a little to be desired when compared with other hotels we stayed at. The staff were not at all unhelpful but were not particularly warm nor friendly. The impression was that the job was mundane and tiring and overall there was a mildly snooty feeling from most of the guys. Nothing overly negative but not that welcoming and inviting sense we found elsewhere.
For what it's worth, this felt to me like a hotel that is tailor-made for American tourists and the like. For example, this was also the only hotel where there was a massively overpriced mini-bar right in your face. There were lots of lame signs in English and French but not Italian ("Do not eat the plastic fruit. It is for decoration only.") that only reinforced that feeling.
Overall I would not say the Pensione Accademia is a bad hotel or even a mediocre one. It is a very nice place to stay and was definitely the fanciest hotel we stayed at. However, it was not my style at all as I prefer something a little more authentic and local feeling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

While most of our fellow guests had booked months or a year in advance, we stumbled upon this gem only the week before our visit. Just a brief walk from transport, one enters an oasis when stepping through the Pensione's gate. Our corner room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the views charming, the bathroom ample. Staff aired the room, made up the bed not only in the morning but also after naps, and when we returned late, we would find the windows thoughtfully shuttered for privacy.

The breakfast room was spacious, so guests could politely linger over coffee. The menu was diverse, the food fresh and ample. There were even gluten-free options! As an American from a "Dunkin-dominated" community, it was a particular delight to begin each day with cappuccinos and an array of excellent herbal teas.

The sense of privacy in both gardens encouraged our rummaging about to find spring exploding from the many flower beds. Comfortable salons for reading and chatting were to be found on several floors; games and books were another encouragement to revel in vacation leisure. There was even a small balcony off our staircase so we could pop out and "test the day" or say goodnight to this delightful city. We also enjoyed the Pensione's signature chandeliers throughout, and the displays of glass tucked along hallways.

Though never intrusive, the staff were without exception gracious and helpful. They seemed pleased when one inquired about the history of the building (the former Russian embassy!) or the owner's fine collection of icons adorning the walls. Whether in English or French, the front desk staff fielded our party's questions with ample and accurate information about sights and restaurants in Venice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A very nice hotel with a garden for afternoon and breakfast.
We had a large and quiet room with a nice view . The location was very good, with walkingdistance to Piazza del Marco and Rialto. I would like to go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Perfect location in Venice - near the Vaporetto stop and Accademia Bridge, but tucked out of the way of the madding crowd. This was my third stay and, as ever, the staff were charming and the room was comfortable and clean. The gardens are the icing on the Venetian cake.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Some good things here - location very good just couple minutes from Accademia vaporetto stop. Hot water great, very warm rooms which was handy as the weather was very cool and wet. Gardens would be nice in the summer months and are front and back. Kettle/tea making facility is provided and you can use the mini-bar fridge for milk etc which was good.Room was nicely done each morning.

Now the not quite so good. Staff were civil but I did not find particularly friendly myself. Decor just not to my liking, very cluttered with bits and pieces in the public areas, I think a refresh of the public areas would be timely. My single room did have a canal view but it was a tiny sliver of a room with a very narrow albeit comfy bed and I do feel for what I paid it just was not a great room, no armchair for example. Also lack of free internet should be noted by those who want this facility, probably something they really need to address.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege

Address: Dorsoduro 1058 | Fondamenta Bollani, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Accademia, the 17th century ancient villa surrounded by breezy, charming and relaxing gardens near the Gran Canal. We offer to our guests a peaceful stay and an excellent service brought to You by the long legacy of the Salmaso family. The perfect place in which You can live the true venician atmosphere in the earth of the city. A gentle and thoughtful staff ready to fulfill every kind of request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.