We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Pizzeria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria 161

Ristorante Pizzeria 161
Via Sandro Gallo, 161, 30126 Venice, Italy
+39 0415 267256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 1,193 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $26 - $79
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Proper Pizzeria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a proper Italian pizzeria. Don't expect lots of expensive frills but if you are looking for somewhere to eat great pizzas then this is a really good option. It is always a good sign if a restaurant is used by the locals, as this is. It is a bit of a walk from the hotels opposite the Lido ferry (as you look at the canal, turn left and keep going straight on for about 20 minutes - the pizzeria is at the end of a row of shops next to a garage) but worth it. Very friendly and efficient service and not over priced like the restaurants you will find nearer the main tourist sights.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Buonissimo!! Exceptional food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner on a Monday night. It was a 25 minute walk fron the Lido ferry that was most definately worth it! The food was the highlight. Best pizza and pasta i have had on this trip through Italy, even the table bread was the best. Definately a local hangout as it is in a local area with a good atmosphere. Found ourselves a little lost to sit inside or out for food. Definately if you find yourself in a hurry come back when you have time, the food is spread out, but definately worth it! 2 x pizza 1 x pasta 1 x soufle desert, 3 x house wine (awesome) 1 x laffe beer and still water - $48

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

There where excellent food and very good service! We had seven people and all of us liked that place, so much that we went there three times!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“What a change from rip off main island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Tucked in besides the garage on the Malamoco Rd 6 mins by A,B, and circular bus route from Pte S.m.elisabeth, the water bus stop for Lido, it's great. All been said before, but in addition it's quiet, in or out, well used by locals and their pets. Extremely friendly. Food was some of the cheapest and best we had all week. House wine 10€ litre. After a boring meal on the Sorriso Beach restaurant at lunch the previous day with Peroni at 9€ 1/2 litre, we walked out very contented from 161 with a bill of less than 49€. If staying at nearby Hotel Sorriso or going to the free beach past the sunshades this is a must. We're back there tomoz, can't wait.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and fantastic food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this ristorante by our hotel and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and service. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming, it was a great experience. We went back a second night as the food was AMAZING and well worth a couple of visits.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria 161 also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria 161? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria 161, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.