We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming small hotel with views overlooking a canal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tintoretto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tintoretto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tintoretto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio Santa Fosca 2316, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 382 hotels in Venice
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A charming small hotel with views overlooking a canal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful three night stay here.Our room was located next to a little bridge which crossed the small canal flowing outside,it was really atmospheric and this helped make our stay in Venice all the more memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    69
    55
    24
    17
See reviews for
21
87
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varna, Bulgaria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff was unfriendly...perhaps because they don't speak good English?! On our arrival it was early for check in, the receptionist left our luggage in the tiny lobby where everyone could have access and told us to come back...They didn't finish with our documents till the night and failed to tell us that the €3 tax is per day, not for the whole stay as we thought! The room was clean, but without refrigerator and the AC didn't really work? Oh and the breakfast was very poor- so not 'Italian' as I've experienced Italian culture a lot.We had to leave about 5am on our last day and the receptionist started arguing with us that it's too early and we should have told him that we would this early, and they didn't give us a breakfast pack as normal hotels do if you leave earlier than breakfast....In general, dissatisfied from the hotel...

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Tintoretto, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Signora, noi ci ricordiamo bene di lei che ha soggiornata alla stanza 404! Siamo comunque spiacenti del fatto che non si sia trovata così bene nel nostro hotel però credo che questo dipende più che altro da un problema di comunicazione. Come infatti lei dice , qualcuno non capisce bene l'inglese però noi crediamo che sia lei a non capire bene per vari motivi . Innanzitutto lavoriamo tutto il giorno con inglesi , americani e stranieri in genere infatti qui si parla non solo l'inglese ma il francese, lo spagnolo, il tedesco etc. e quello che è più strano è che TUTTI i clienti capiscono quello che noi rispieghiamo al loro arrivo (già sul vostro voucher dell'agenzia era scritto della tassa di soggiorno) ovvero che la tassa di soggiorno è di 3 euro per persona al giorno e TUTTI i clienti ci avvisano la sera prima quando devono partire così presto al mattino come nel vostro caso anche perchè così saldano la tassa di soggiorno ma soprattutto così noi possiamo preparare la vostra partenza con la possibilità di darvi un pacco colazione da portare via e anche di fare una piccola colazione direttamente al bar della reception. Quindi alla sua partenza le è stato detto non che era troppo presto per partire ma che avrebbe solo dovuto avvisarci che partiva presto perchè per la sicurezza dello stesso hotel e dei clienti le porte ovviamente vengono chiuse a chiave anche se il portiere è comunque sempre presente 24h. Per quanto riguarda il vostro arrivo, io stessa vi ho ricevuto e pensavo di fare un favore a farvi lasciare i bagagli alla reception gratuitamente altrimenti avreste dobuto metterli al deposito bagagli della ferrovia che costa 5-10 euro o altrimenti portarli con voi a piedi per Venezia tutta la mattina vista che siete arrivate davvero molto presto. In ogni caso noi siamo sempre qui alla reception pertanto è impossibile che qualcuno manometta i vostri bagagli e infatti avete ritrovato tutto in ordine. Io stessa poi ho spiegato della tassa di soggiorno come faccio con tutti i clienti e visto che ho pure una laurea in inglese credo che appunto lei non abbia capito bene, in ogni caso alla recption ci sono dei cartelli in tutte le lingue comprese il cinese, il russo, il bulgaro con la spiegazione della tassa di soggiorno! I vostri documenti li abbiamo gentilmente chiesti per poter fare la registrazione alla polizia come per tutti i clienti, certo non li abbiamo tenuti con la forza contro la vostra volontà fino alla sera. Ora Le spieghiamo invece che la camera non ha il frigo bar in quanto il servizio prevede che il bar della reception sia fornito di qualsiasi bibita calda o fredda se il cliente ne ha bisogno, basta solo fare una telefonata se non si ha voglia di scendere. Il condizionatore invece non era acceso perchè in Italia di solito si accende in estate . Le temperature di questo periodo sono ancora basse per noi e comunque soprattutto di sera molte persone ci chiedono ancora le coperte;forse voi siete abituate ad altre temperature ..Per ultimo, visto che sono una italiana d.o.c mi chiedo quale sia la colazione italiana che lei ha già "vissuto" in quanto lei dice molto diversa dal nostro buffet... a dire la verità non mi risulta che in Italia si mangiano a colazione uova e prosciutto come sono presenti nel nostro buffet e inotre ci sono oltre alle bibite calde come caffè e cappuccino latte e thè anche i succhi di frutta, le marmellate, la cioccolata, il pane tostato e il pane sfornato, le brioches, vari tipi di cereali, burro, frutta sciroppata, yoghurt, biscotti , pane nero, etc non sembra sia così povera come lei dice! Speriamo che questa nostra risposta sia comunque utile ad altri clienti! Saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

When i first arrived in venice the very first time,the hotel was around 15-20 minutes walk from the train station.When i arrived at the hotel,the recepionist said to me that my check in time is at 13:00 pm and it`s only 11:00 am.Then she said,she wanted my passport so i gave it to her,then she said for my luggage to stay at the hotel while i travelled and came back later.İ had second thoughts doing that but the recepionist said dont worry it will be safe, so i left it there.Just about to leave, then she wanted accomidation tax from me.İ was quite shocked really because any hotel and all the hotels i`ve stayed in usualy want it when you are checking out NOT when you are checking in.So gave that to her aswell:( Then after sightseeing a few hours,i decided to go back to the hotel and when i did NOBODY was there.İ was so upset, i couldn`t believe it. İ tried to get in through the door just outside the hotel where she kept my luggage. Couldn`t get in, i thought my luggage was stolen including my passport, i started to panic.Again no one was in sight.Then i saw a man on the other side of the door and was nice enough to open the door for me.My luggage was there:) took my luggage out and said what do i do now, haven`t got my passport.Then i saw 2 nice american people,they didn`t like the service aswell and was only staying there for 1 night they were nice enough to help me find the manager and they did.When the manager saw me,he didn`t even say one sorry to me.İ asked him for my passport and it`s like he didn`t want to give it to me.Then after asking so many times for me just to see it, he showed it to me.Then he said to come back 1 hour later.İ didn`t stay at the same hotel as you see in the picture, NO. The hotel i stayed in was another tintortetto hotel located in a quite alley way.Went back again for my passport and told me again to come back 1 hour later,so i did and when i did the recepionist was acting very rude and discourteous.Eventually got my passport back with an argument..Now to the room, the room was tiny and didn`t like the room one bit.The breakfast was absolute trash, just one morning eating there i didn`t bother going back there again.Never in my life will i ever stay in this hotel İF you can call this place a hotel.This hotel should not be a 3 star it`s an absolute joke and so is the staff..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Landing, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Not a 3 star hotel, as it claims. No elevator, our AC didn't work, rooms were beat. However, it was a roof over our heads for our one night in Venice. The location was convenient. There was a very popular juice bar that was open to the wee hours - that could be a plus or minus depending on your perspective.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Get ready for a big walk from the train station. Location was easy to find, when using the TripAdvisor smart phone app. The staff was kind of snobby to be honest. The room was really SMALL. The bathroom was nice, and shower was huge, and had great water pressure. Despite some of the nasty reviews...it was a decent stay. A shady aspect was that you have to pay for your wireless internet. The breakfast was decent. Don't keep your windows open all night, or you will be bitten to death by bugs. Our room was right on one of the small canals that the hotel sits next to. The A/C worked fine, but not strong. The room was clean for the most part. You aren't allowed to bring food back to the room. The bed wasn't comfortable by any means.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I couldn't spend a week here but for the one night it was ok. Our room overlooked a small canal and the hotel is in a good location. Half of our party was in one part of the hotel and we in another. The others had issues with AC not working and basic amenities missing. Or room was small (but we expected it to be), a few maintenance issues but overall it was ok. We were hardly there. The only issue we had was the noise from the juice bar around the corner whic appeared to turn into a street club/bar at night complete with loud music that didn't stop until after midnight.
Dinner in the restaurant downstairs was really good.
Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stuff was still in the toilet, there was a used bar of soap on the soap dish, the plastic cups were rinsed out and rewrapped, trash was still in the trash can, a used bottle of water was sitting on our desk next to the tip for the maid, and the sheets were all wrinkled and had hair in them. Refused to talk to me and would not give our passports back. DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tintoretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tintoretto

Address: Cannaregio Santa Fosca 2316, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tintoretto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Tintoretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintoretto Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tintoretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.