We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tintoretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tintoretto to your Saves list
Hotel Tintoretto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio Santa Fosca 2316, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Get ready for a big walk from the train station. Location was easy to find, when using the TripAdvisor smart phone app. The staff was kind of snobby to be honest. The room was really SMALL. The bathroom was nice, and shower was huge, and had great water pressure. Despite some of the nasty reviews...it was a decent stay. A shady aspect was that you have to pay for your wireless internet. The breakfast was decent. Don't keep your windows open all night, or you will be bitten to death by bugs. Our room was right on one of the small canals that the hotel sits next to. The A/C worked fine, but not strong. The room was clean for the most part. You aren't allowed to bring food back to the room. The bed wasn't comfortable by any means.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    67
    56
    24
    21
See reviews for
23
102
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I couldn't spend a week here but for the one night it was ok. Our room overlooked a small canal and the hotel is in a good location. Half of our party was in one part of the hotel and we in another. The others had issues with AC not working and basic amenities missing. Or room was small (but we expected it to be), a few maintenance issues but overall it was ok. We were hardly there. The only issue we had was the noise from the juice bar around the corner whic appeared to turn into a street club/bar at night complete with loud music that didn't stop until after midnight.
Dinner in the restaurant downstairs was really good.
Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stuff was still in the toilet, there was a used bar of soap on the soap dish, the plastic cups were rinsed out and rewrapped, trash was still in the trash can, a used bottle of water was sitting on our desk next to the tip for the maid, and the sheets were all wrinkled and had hair in them. Refused to talk to me and would not give our passports back. DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel was in a good location, 15 mins walk from bus/train station. The staff were very pleasant and the hotel was very clean. Our room was great but could have done with tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was good, the usual continental style with plenty of choice in it's own breakfast come restaurant, where the pizza was good too. Location wise it was fairly central, left to rialto bridge and st marks square and right to train station and water buses etc.You can walk round easily and safely but do take a good pair of walking shoes, we tended to walk rather than use the water buses apart from taking one to murano.There were plenty of good restaurants nearby although we thought the prices were on the high side for a meal for two, but then we were in Venice! Watch out for service and cover charge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Staff didnt know which room to put us in, we got a room that was quite basic, poor air conditioning, no tea and coffee facillities. The shower looked as it needed a good clean and was quite small.
Breakfast meant for the guests but was shared by dozens of pigeons, it was left to the guests to shoo them away, staff did nothing about it

Room Tip: our room was not like the one that is shown in photo, ours was fairly basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! Don't ever stay here. The staff is shady and dishonest. Before I arrived, the hotel emailed me a quote of 50 euro a night. When I checked out they said the rate as 150 euro a night! I have never had a hotel pull this kind of crap. In the U.S. they would be arrested. They were holding my passport and I had to leave the country so I paid it, but I called Visa and filed a complaint before checking out. The guidebook also listed the rate as 50 euro a night. The hotel isn't very nice. There is no way it is worth 150 euros a night--there are much better hotels in Venice! I have been to Europe dozens of times and stayed in dozens if not hundreds of hotels and have never come across such a bunch of shady operators.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The hotel is close to the train station, you can either walk or take the steamer #1 i think but its easier to walk just 10 minutes, and its off of the nuevo strada, great area, good starting point in Venice, grocery store right down the street and great place to eat almost right in front, simple breakfast , hot coffee with unlimited refills, good service, you just have to walk up , no elevators so pack light for venice. They had just finished remodeling,
so it was very clean, everything was good,,,, just remember no elevator.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tintoretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tintoretto

Address: Cannaregio Santa Fosca 2316, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tintoretto 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tintoretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintoretto Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tintoretto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.