We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location ask about the stairs if it is a problem for you” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Ca Malipiero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Ca Malipiero to your Saves list
Residenza Ca Malipiero
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Castello Ruga Giuffa 4852 | Campo Santa Maria Formosa, 30100 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Location ask about the stairs if it is a problem for you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I had read horrible reviews after I had already booked the hotel and was afraid as to what would occur during our stay. The room was a nice size (we had a quad). It was clean and decorated nicely. The breakfast was good. The only drawback of this hotel is that it was hard to find. It was not in the building with the banner. In fact, we couldn't even find the reception area without the help of a nice young man who happened to be coming out of the building. Reception was in an odd location and our room wasn't even in that building. Our room was up 3 flights of stars ... which would have been a problem if we didn't have our 19 year old son with us. The location was good... and equal distance between the Rialto Bridge and St Marks Square. We were for the most part pleasantly surprised and the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    30
    25
    63
See reviews for
29
90
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Same owners share Residenza Ca' Malipiero and Ca' Formosa. I'm talking about Hotel Residenza Ca Malipiero, not Ca' Formosa. It might happen that you book in one place and end-up into other. So, please be specific when booking the place.
We have enjoyed a lot Residenza Ca' Malipiero. Great room with view to the square. Nice, clean. Location is really great - further away from heavy tourist traffic, but yet few minutes away from key locations. Very easy just to jump back from the few minutes rest during the day, especially when with children.
Yes, there are no elevators to get upstairs and it takes an effort to walk to the "piano nobile", but who should expect to have such thing in the early renaissance Venetian building, which by default is built in the light way, where every kilo (pound) is counted due the special foundations. It simply can't afford anything else. If you came to Venice, which is unique because it did not changed at all during the last 400-500 years, and you expect all luxuries of today's life, then perhaps you are missing the point of Venice. It is not just water around buildings, this is all "package" and this is beauty of it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I travelled with two friends and we stayed here twice. The first night on the first visit we were in a very small and uncomfortable room at the Paradiso attached to this hotel, but after breakfast the next morning were moved into the main building to a lovely room - 101, for a well-worth extra charge. We stayed 3 nights and a week later returned to Venice and for 4 nights again stayed in this lovely room overlooking a small canal and the historical Santa Maria Formosa church and piazza.
Hotel staff were charming and helpful, breakfast barely OK, the location handy, and with the lovely room we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Please note that hotel reception and the rooms are up 52 stairs and no elevator if that is a problem for you.

Room Tip: Rom 101 is terrific, big, bright and overlooks the piazza and a small canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I read lots of terrible reviews of this place before going, but I personally found it to be not so bad. Our room was small and in another building other than the main hotel, but perfectly fine and clean with a large bathroom (no windows though). We did hear lots of funky sounds at night, but in an extremely old building in Venice, what else can one expect?
A few tips:
Breakfast = not so good. Nice that it's there, but the food was "eh" and we found the service at breakfast to be awful.
This place IS as hard to find as people say. I know everyone says to get lost in Venice, but not after a 9.5 hour flight lugging suitcases! Don't rely on the hotel's directions. Ask locals for guidance - that's how we finally found it.
The front desk people don't seem entirely friendly, but they are helpful in answering questions.
Not sure if I'd return here when I go back to Venice - but for the price and location, it's definitely not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I booked Residenza CaMalipiero thinking it was a Venetian Palace turned into a family run guesthouse. It is an historical building - an old Palace but it isn't a family run guesthouse. Nonetheless if you know what you are in for, the Residenza Ca Malipiero can be a interesting experience.

The building is ancient and has not seen any renovation for a very long time, hence the rooms are old fashioned, travertine floors, heavy brocades, stand alone furniture and material on the walls. The entrance is down a Venetian alley and you step into the past after stepping over the stoop. The entrance room is like a stone cellar, lit with a huge chandelier and the stairs invite you to go up and you do go up and up until it opens out onto a travertine floored reception area with huge doors overlooking the piazza - very grand but very old. It is authentic in furnishings and like stepping back in time. There is little to no service and you will have to struggle with your own luggage.

We, my family (3) had a fantastic experience at Residenza Ca Malipiero. We were in Venice in an historical building, in a huge room overlooking a local piazza. Our room was at the front of the building and as I said, it was huge and clean, the heating worked well, the beds were reasonable and although the bathroom was small the shower was hot. The best part of all was that it was not costing us a fortune and for the size and condition of the room was good value.

Residenza Ca Mailpiero is close to everything. The Piazza Santa Maria Formosa is a lively place with a little fruit vendor setting up during the day, there is a brilliant pizza place selling slices of pizza just off the far end of the Piazza and it is close to the Rialto, St Marks and well all of Venice. There are some brilliant little restaurants off the less touristy side of the Piazza.

In my opinion, the Hotel would really suit group backpackers or the traveller looking for that unusual hotel experience but make sure you negotiate on price and insist on the front rooms. Beware the stairs, although grand and old they are steep and there is no lift, if you have trouble negotiating flights of stairs or travel with a lot of luggage - you might want to rethink. Also, don't expect much in terms of breakfast rather go the expresso and a pastry at the little cafe on the piazza - it is so Italian and so friendly.

In summary - great location and good experience if you like character buildings but you shouldn't pay too much for the experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you insist on the front rooms overlooking the piazza and don't pay too much for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Very difficult to find. Maybe it's because Venice is easy to get turned around in, but we spent 2.5 hours trying to find the place. When we found it, it was very nice like the pictures, but when we went to get our room we were walked to a different building and it was much less glamorous. Breakfast was standard light Italian-style. Breakfast the second morning was not in our hotel, so when we checked out around 10:15 we got breakfast at the "main" building. Very odd. Heat worked exceptionally well though. Bottom line: close to some main attractions, difficult to find, would probably not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Even witout a lift and not that big rooms the hotel was very nice and well located but the BIG problem was that we where downgraded, I reserved a Standard room with private bathroom and got a very small room with shared bathroom, we had to pay the same because it was prepaid, and they did not gave us the service to Murano that was suposely included.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Ca Malipiero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Ca Malipiero

Address: Castello Ruga Giuffa 4852 | Campo Santa Maria Formosa, 30100 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Ca Malipiero 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Ca Malipiero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Ca Malipiero Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Ca Malipiero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.