We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is an excuse for shoddiness.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ovidius

Save Saved
You added Locanda Ovidius to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Locanda Ovidius
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Sturion 677/A | Rialto, San Paolo, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 382 hotels in Venice
Rome
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The view is an excuse for shoddiness.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

On the advice of a Tripadvisor reviewer, I booked a superior room for a view of the Grand Canal. When we got there we were shown to a room with a view of a back alley. I said I'd paid for a superior room with a view and he said it was a superior room but views cost extra. So I paid an extra 50 euros a night, totalling 200 euros a night and we were there for three nights.
Yes we had a great view out onto the canal but the room was really shabby. The bedroom wall was mouldy and damp with paint peeling all the way up (we were on the first floor and there was a court yard underneath so I don't know why it was damp.) The bathroom sink was cracked. You wouldn't have the shower cubicle in a house in England. There was masking tape holding one of the bed side lamps together. It was well over priced and I don't think now that we should have paid it, as there is a balcony for guests to use which looks out onto the canal.

Room Tip: If you want a Canal view, specify it. Don't presume that a "superior " room means a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    98
    34
    22
    15
See reviews for
14
137
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for couple of nights .. most likely will not stay there again
Pros: Great location, great view of the canal , very close to Rialto bridge and can walk to all the major attractions, restaurants, shops etc.
Negatives: Rooms are too small and dingy. The amenities that they claim comes with the room did not work.No internet access in room (had to go to dining room to use), TV did not work, phone did not work,broken shower head. Beds and room not very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel Ovidius is worth it for the location and view. Its conviently located near the Rialto Bridge, and has a balcony that overlooks the grand canal. It was nice to sit on the balcony at night or in the morning and just watch life in Venice. The rooms are very basic (agree some renovations are needed), but clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

It is 8 years since our last visit to the Ovidius.(When we got married) There have been some improvements. A lift for the luggage and the reception area completed.

It has a great location looking over the grand canal. Of course some of the rooms are going to be small it being Venice. We had a room with a grand canal view. Which was very expensive so you expect a top service for paying top dollar.

We didn't expect to have to go out every day for a decent coffee and bread. The coffee is served in a thermos flask and was stewed. The "juice" was sugared water. The bread was not fresh it was long life as were the croissants. The only thing that was fresh was a skinny bit of ham and salami. So it wasn't worth turning up for. It shows lazy management that do not have their visitors best interests at heart.

The jacuzzi was not working and the shower head fell off.

I do not think it was worth the thousand euros for 4 nights and we will be looking out for another hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in Venice for 2 nights in June 2012. This hotel was located by the Rialto Bridge; a perfect location to explore the city without getting lost. As well, it was very easy to find upon arrival. The side entrance was very quaint. The elevator was tiny and we preferred to use the stairs! Of course, the rooms are small but this is Europe and we were very happy with the cleanliness. The breakfast is a good standard of the four that we stayed at during our trip: yogurt, croissant, coffee, cereal. The breakfast room is nice and has the balcony with the VIEW overlooking the canal. Our room faced the side street which was fine. If you are looking for a clean, quiet, well-situated hotel, this one's for you. The best tip we can offer upon arrival to get off the Vaporetto at San Silvestro instead of Rialto stop. Walk behind and make your way to the main canal and towards the bridge and when you see the green awning overhead, look down the alley for the entrance. If you get off at the Rialto stop you will have to drag your luggage over the bridge - not so easy!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, When we checked in to our room the room was dark, 1 small window, very small, dated and far from 3 stars hotel standard (I will give it 1 star) We then asked to pay extra for un upgrade and for 40euros extra a night (cash only no credit card, they don't want to pay a fee) we got a room with the grand canal view (the room was ok, 35 sq.m. no bath only shower, all amenities is low qualify and old)
The view is AMAZING!!!

Breakfasts were poor and crowded. (very limited option, no fresh bakery or bread, boring white bread and the croissant from supermarket pack)

Overall, I think you should pay a bit more$ to get something decent. For us, if it wasn't for the view we will have to cancel the booking. (only 4 rooms in the whole hotel facing the grand canal)

Room Tip: room with the grand canal view or the suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Well myself, wife, and 2 babies we all went to 5 nights stay at room 202, it face the grand canal with 2 windows, and it was just next to the breakfast hall, which had a nice balcony on the grand canal
The view form the windows and balcony worth a lot, how come every day morning you open the window and see the very attractive and full of life (Grand Canal)
evening Gondolas with Maestros are floating in a harmony, nice view indeed.
The hotel is small, but it has all what a traveler needs, it is very clean, nice designs inside, room 202 was really a spacious one, internet WiFi was free and very fast

I advise the following:
1- the location of the hotel is ideal for those who had baby strollers, since you have almost many things around the hotel without a need to cross any bridge, coop, supermarket, shops, restaurants, pizzaria, cafeteria, every thing is under and around the hotel
2- Big advise, when u reach Vince, try to buy the ticket 2 way from and to the airport, also try to buy the saving ticket that covers the entire stay there,
3- do not miss to go to Burano, Murano, Lido islands, they are a different thing plus Venice attractions
4- When you drop off at the Hotel, go to St. Silvistro Ferry stop, the take first right, then first right then first left, you reach the hotel in 2 minutes walk, no bridges, if you go to Rilato stop, you will need to go over the Rialto bridge, which had lots of steps, it is not a small one at all if you have luggage and baby strollers

Room Tip: 5- There is small elevator works only for level 2, 6- The rooms with the grand canal view are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Ovidius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ovidius

Address: Calle del Sturion 677/A | Rialto, San Paolo, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ovidius 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Locanda Ovidius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ovidius Venice
Locanda Ovidius Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ovidius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.