We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goon & Dark Horse Honesty Box” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Marina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Goon & Dark Horse Honesty Box”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights for a 60th birthday treat. We booked through booking.com and were given a welcome upgrade. The hotel is perfectly located, clean, busy, the staff very helpful and breakfast plentiful and covering all options. Although the hotel appeared full and has a central location it was quiet. Our room was a good size family room with a modern bathroom although showering made the floor wet. It is genuinely a 10 minutes walk to everything and the Concierge's pater about a 10 Venetian minute walk to all points sounds a little hackneyed it is absolutely true.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    244
    80
    39
    34
See reviews for
84
328
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I'd stayed in this hotel during April with my aife & a 1 year old baby. If you are arriving to venice by train then take the taxi(7 euro per person) to rialto bridge & from there it is just a 10mins walk you could ask anybody the direction to the hotel & they would tell you which shows that the hotel is quite well known.
We arrived at the hotel at 12am & to our pleasant surprise we were immediately checked in by their friendly staffs, bearing in mind that Italy strongly follows the 2pm check in rule. We were accompanied to our room by a friendly bell boy. the room i must say is very romantically made & like the hotel claims very venzian style room with chandeliers & the decor going well with the room.
The room was quite good compared to the room i've seen in europe. the hotel location is excellent too, right in the centre,,10mins walk to rialto bridge on 1 side & 10mins walk to the san marco square on the other side a lot of shops, restaurants that you can viist, like they say you should get lost in venice. the break fast is also quite good, overall this hotel is an excellent place to reside if you are in venice for 1-2 days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We received a warm welcome on arrival. We were expecting to stay in the main hotel but were escorted to our room in an annex building next door. We were then informed that we would have to pay an additional city tax of 4 euros each per night (I think this is true of all hotels in Venice).

The room was a little on the small side but well appointed and enough for our needs (2 people for 4 nights). The mini bar was well stocked and well priced. Air conditioning was fitted but only activated for the summer months. We stayed during the first week of April when it was around 19oc. We had to sleep with the windows open which had two major drawbacks........

1) insect bites - 23 in 4 nights to be precise!!!
2) noise from passers-by throughout the night - even with ear plugs!!

The location of the hotel was it's main attraction. It's only a five minute walk from the Rialto bridge where we got off the Vaperetto (water bus) and a five minute walk in the other direction to St Marks basilica/ doge's palace. There is also a small supermarket, a bar and two restaurants in the square (Campo Santa Marina).

We would stay at this hotel again but we would like a room in the main hotel and we would need air conditioning.........please!!!!

We stayed on bed/breakfast basis - the breakfast was very good.....selection of cold meat, cheese, pastries, cakes, croissants, cereals and coffee/juices.

A free street map was kindly given to us at reception but I would not rely on this as it does not have enought detail. We bought a 'pocket guide' from Amazon which included a very useful and detailed map. We also took a small compass with us....it's useful to know which way you are facing when navigating the maze of Venice.

We loved Venice and can't wait to return ++++++++++++++++++++++++

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Extremely friendly staff and a great location, 5 minute walk to either the Rialto bridge and in the other direction to San Marco. Plenty of lovely restaurants nearby. Also a free water bus transfer is provided by the hotel to the island of Murano and a free tour at a glass blowing factory. Would go back in a flash, Venice is truly beautiful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed one night at the Santa Marina Hotel for around $121 USD. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. The room & bathroom was very clean, but extremely small. It was fine for us for one night, but ask for a larger room if you plan to stay a few days. The bathroom was so small, we had to squeeze sideways past the sink to get into the shower & we are not large people. The shower was so small, I could not put my arms out elbow to elbow to wash my hair. They do have larger rooms but for one night, we didn't care to go thru the hassle to change rooms. The hotel is situated on a square centrally located between the Rialto Bridge & St. Mark's Square, but it was nice & quiet & the breakfast was excellent. We would stay here again & just make sure to ask for a larger room.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room. Rooms are small in Europe & this place is tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Me, my brother & mother stayed here in room nr 619 (1 double+1 single bed, with a door between the rooms), which we really recommend. We surprised our mother with the trip for her 60´th birthday-and she was amazed by the classy hotel Santa Marina! The interior was soo "Venice", old touch, lovely furnitures & fabrics on the walls. We had the luck to get a room facing a small characteristic canal. (Very Venice!`) Every 5 th minute a lovely gondola passed the balcony, where we enjoyed our wine. The location was easy to find(if you can read a normal map;) 7 min walk from Rialtobridge (we arrived with boat). Easy to find San Marco by walking. Outside the hotel there is a small square with a nice café & supermarket. The staff was friendly and informative. We realized when we arrived that they offered a free trip to Murano with guide! (with a classy boat leaving at the backside of the hotel).
The breakfast buffé had everything you need. We all agreed on: Yes, we would stay here again! //From Sweden with love!

Room Tip: 619! "Very Venice" (we stayed 3 persons in this room. A door seperated the double and sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here for a birthday weekend in room 103. Room was clean and well decorated although slightly on the small size. Good location to all the sites however breakfast was nothing special and the square in which the hotel is sited is very busy so expect loud noise throughout the night and from 6 am in the morning. There is also no ac so the room was already hot even in the cool March temperatures (I would dread to think what they would be like in summer). Tried sleeping with the window open but then the noise was unbearable. I would definitely see this a more of a three star then four star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#140 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.