We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Santa Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Marina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 380 Hotels in Venice
kettering
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

5 minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge and not much further to St Mark's Square. Had a de luxe room which had a small lounge with balcony - 2 Tv's. Breakfast was included and varied. Staff were helpful and friendly.
Tip would be to invest in a water taxi to private wharf on arrival as difficult to find when tired on arrival - difficult to find an=ywhere initially! Vaporetto (Water Bus) is ideal for getting around.

Room Tip: De Luxe room good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    214
    73
    35
    29
See reviews for
78
283
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehouse, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

First of all we are a little bias, we LOVE Venice so it would be hard to ruin our trip. That being said, this place was still great. Good location near the Realto, but far enough away to avoid the crowds. Excellent breakfast every day, spotless, typical small European room, we were in the next building over from the main hotel. Service was great, as we checked in our bags, which were very heavy, were brought up to the 4th floor room. There is a great outdoor patio to eat you breakfast every morning. Excellent espresso served in the morning. At night the bar opens up if you want a little drink before retiring. We got quite a deal on the room by reserving very early. Definitely recommend this for for any tourist coming to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The location is hard to find the first time but later you tend to enjoy it. The rooms are really very small but they are cosy and clean. I really liked the baking of Santa Marina. The croissants are warm and yummy and cake is delicious in the breakfast. We enjoyed the stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked this 4 star (not) hotel with our travel agent months before leaving on our 3 week Italian experience with Venice being the last stop and our way of finishing our trip on a high. After reading several reviews we thought it would be ok but I was a little worried when I read reviews from people who had stayed in rooms in the annex. The front desk staff were abrupt and rude and yes our room was in the annex. When we entered the room I had to open a window and stick my head out as the air quality in the stuffy room was terrible and I struggled to breath in the mold infested room. The bed was like sleeping on concrete and we both hardly slept that night. We made our way to breakfast looking to refresh ourselves after a terrible night, well the last straw was when we had to get our morning coffee by a machine. Trust me this was not the normal situation in Italy. After seeing the people at the front desk and explaining the situation we were told that they could do nothing to help us. We made the decision to not ruin our wonderful holiday by staying in such an un healthy environment so found an alternative hotel and wow what a contrast, best experience of the trip. Santa Marin staff at front desk promised to refund 2 of the 4 nights that we had booked with them but now back in Australia our travel agent tells us that Santa Marina claim they never agreed to give us a refund. While it would be good to get some of our funds returned the decision to move to another hotel was the best decision we made. I am only glad that it was at the end of our trip or else I would probably have thought this is how it is, but fom traveling through Italy we knew that the poor standard of staff and facilities at this hotel are not a tue reflection of accomodation in this wonderful country.

Room Tip: Not in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Except for the late night staff and the house keeping the rest of the staff is very rude!!
Hotel is located at a very busy square so it's better to get a room facing the back. Shower is too small and leaks everywhere. Make sure you don't get room 114, it is no bigger than a full size bed and not more than 18 inches around. Bed is too hard and pillows harder!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived at Marco Polo Airport Oct 12, 2012 around 5pm and stayed 3 nights. We opted for a private water taxi to take us to the hotel (70 euro if you book thru hotel). We didn't take a Vaporetto because we had a lot of luggage and didn't want to wait and stop at everyone else's hotel - it would take twice as long. We were delighted to find the hotel so charming and inviting. Our room was spacious and very clean, and the bathroom was large and immaculate. Our room overlooked a lovely courtyard away from the hustle and bustle. We were within close proximity to everything on the island. Breakfast was fine - everything was fresh, and it's a typical european style breakfast with a nice ambience. We found the concierge to be quite helpful and friendly. We'd stay here again. However, if you are taking a train to Venice, this hotel is about a 40 minute walk from the station, so you should either stay in a hotel near the station because there are no taxis or buses, and walking in Venice on cobblestone along with lots of steps and bridges makes it almost impossible to wheel your luggage, or take a private water taxi which you can get right outside the train station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We checked the reviews on trip advisor before booking. The hotel was more than our expectations. We went for 1 night and we truly loved our rooms they were in French furniture and very modern bathrooms with clean amenities.
The location was close to both Rialto bridge and San Marco square. The staff was okay and some of them were helpful. Definitely recommended for other visitors and the price was great too. Less than 100$ a night.
The rooms were spacious compared to other hotels and European style.

Room Tip: We booked 634 and 633 both of them were new and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.