We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough but this is not a 4 Star Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 12 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 381 hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough but this is not a 4 Star Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the Santa Marina hotel in Venice for three nights beginning 20th October 2012. The hotel is conveniently located and the stay was pleasant enough.
However, this is not a 4 star hotel. The rooms were nice enough, no complaints, the pictures are accurate - but as space comes at a premium, they were a bit pokey and the bathrooms were shower only.They don't provide you with tea/coffee in your rooms (which we would have considered a basic service of even a 3 star hotel), there were no iron facilities within the rooms and when asked whether we could arrange for this, we were told it would have to be ordered the day before - there were no price lists so we had no idea how much this would cost. When we called for further details, the receptionist was evasive. In general the staff are civil but not overly welcoming or friendly. Overall, as we spent the majority of our time out - this was no great shakes, it served its purpose and was part of a decent value deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    212
    72
    38
    27
See reviews for
67
254
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

All employees are respectful and very kind. We were welcomed by a receptionist who made a brief account of the main attractions.
Comfortable room with a view and an independent access if you want privacy. The street might get noise at times but it didn't bother that much.
Prices at the bar are reasonable (3 euro a coffee)
When booking ask for a room in the main building, follow my advice.
Good location, in the middle of Rialto and Piazza San Marco.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently returned from 2 weeks in Italy. The start of our vacation was Venice and this was our hotel selection. I nearly cried thinking this was going to be how all our hotels in Italy would turn out. To start with, the hotel is not near the boat station and it's very difficult to find, so we were lugging our suitcases through the narrow streets and were lost for about an hour. Then, the people at the front desk were incredibly rude the entire duration of the stay. Last, we got to our hotel room and I literally thought it was a joke or some kind of mistake. We were in "501", which I now see previous people have complained about, but I was of the belief "it won't happen to me..". Well it did and it was terrible. You pay for a normal room and then you get stuck here. The room is right past the kitchen and you hear them clanging plates 24 hours a day. There's not a normal shower and your bedroom window looks out onto the courtyard where guests are eating breakfast, so you can never open the curtains. Further, there must be dust mites or something in the room as I developed severe allergies which made the vacation unpleasant. And the armoire in the room smelled absolutely terrible. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - terrible value and incredibly disappointing for a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and although maybe from outside it doesn't look great (perhpas like the majority of buildings in Venice!) the inside is beautiful. The staff were very friendly and proved competent [when we complained of noise of our neighbours (over us) and solved the problem in 2 minutes]. The rooms were very modern and the bathrooms excellent and beds very comfy.
The situation is also a plus being 6 minutes walk from Rialto bridge - if you don't get lost!
Breakfast was fabulous: hot and cold and no shortage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

After looking through the website,we made the booking at Santa marina. To reach that place from the train station was an experience by itself that too lugging all the luggage and climbing the steps and small lanes !! we were literally in tears by the time we got there ! The rooms are spread out in the same vicinity...and its more like a small cottage/ penthouse with wooden floors. The main bedroom and living is on the first floor of the cottage and there is a small sit out area once you enter the room. Funny part is the light is automatically adjusted to be ON for 3 mins. Later we need to manually turn it on ! The bedroom and the living on the top floor is pretty spacey and comfortable. Well, the breakfast is served in the same building as the reception. The spread of the breakfast buffet is just not good. Hardly any varieties....also, wi fi doesnt work in the cottages/ rooms ! one needs to be in the reception/ bar area for the same ! The front office people seem to be more keen on the check out than the check in !! i had to literally request them for half and hour extension before check out ! You can get a private water taxi to the railway station but the cost is Euro 70 onwards! Lots of improvements needs to be done to get this more going for the highly priced rooms to be worth a stay !

Room Tip: Nothing specific in here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Since literally everyone who worked at the hotel when we were there was rude, or seemed put-out when they had to help us, we joked that they must have some kind of "be rude to customers" training! It was unbelievable! On top of that we got stuck in a tiny little nondescript room away from the main hotel, so we never got a chance to see what the regular rooms looked like. I would definitely not return - mainly because of the awful service.

Room Tip: Our best advice is not to get a room at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I went to Venice during the carnival season in February. The hotel was typical of the area, a lot of steps to get to the room negotiating a lot of different levels but it was well worth it. Looking out of the windows along canals. The gondalas in the evening used to sail by the windows with the gondaleir singing love songs very romantic. The hotel was clean and welcoming, the breakfast was good as was the service.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in the centre of the island so convenient for both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Marina
Address: Castello 6068 | Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Santa Marina Hotel to your Saves list