We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antico Doge

Save Saved
You added Hotel Antico Doge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Antico Doge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 5643 | Campo SS Apostoli, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #64 of 382 hotels in Venice
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing hotel location is 5-10 wall to anything rooms are superb and the STAFF! We're just amazing couldn't do enough for you went out of their way all of them to make u feel welcome. Seen
Alot of complaints over the breakfast, which I don't understand it is a continental breakfast lots of choice available if you remember you in Italy it's a plentifull selection. Possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in around the world I was worried that for the price I paid it wouldn't be worth it as I normally go budget but it was worth every penny

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    208
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
99
270
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Absolutely fantastic! Love the place. May be closer to a 4 star. The photos you see on the internet really do not do justice to the hotel.

Those who talk about unhelpful staff must be approaching them with a really bad attitude to put their backs up. The staff were wonderful!! Ask them anything and they were happy to help. Any questions as to what to do or how to get there and they whip out a map and draw the directions and give give them to you. All staff speak better English than the majority of UK residents.

Perfect location within walking distance of all the main attractions.

Gondola stop right outside the front door if that's your thing and if you opt for a private water taxi transfer from Marco Polo airport then you will be dropped off 20 seconds from the front door. Only a small footbridge prevents you from reaching the door but you could literally throw a stone its that close.

2 fantastic restaurants just around the corner as recommended by the staff. Just ask, they love to give recommendations and if you speak to them after they get excited to hear about it. We found it quite touching.

Breakfasts on the continent are the usual affair but here at the Antico everything tasted lovely and fresh.

The rooms and bathrooms were spotless.

Would not hesitate to recommend Antico Doge to anybody and will return at this value.

Room Tip: Avoid room 106 which is the 1st room you come to if you have children or like to go to bed early as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and had an amazing time hotel is amazing a sense of old venice. The comments about the staff are completly inacurate in my opinion they could not do more for you, were friendly and suggested local events for us and had no problem with any requests. The room was amazing and well kept. The breakfast was plentifull and good choice what needs to be rembered is that this is a contential breakfast the breakfast room was never over ran when we stayed . Honestly would not stay anywere else in venice AMAZING

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband found and reserved this hotel because he wanted something nice for our one night stay in Venice. I was very impressed with the whole thing - the facilities, the staff, the breakfast and the location. Although it is at least an hour+ walk from the entrance of the old town...most of the main stuff is. The front desk staff was really pleasant, we were able to pre-register and they dropped our bags off in our room before we picked up the key. We had a two story room which was neat. The room and bathroom were both really nice. The breakfast was the best breakfast buffet on our two and a half weeks in various European hotels this summer.

My only complaint is that the front doors were bolted at a certain time of night which they did not inform us at check-in. Thankfully we didn't get back to the hotel as late as we could have or else I'm not sure how we would have gotten in. I wanted to go outside for a smoke but could not. Perhaps that is common in Venice hotels but think they should have at least mentioned it. Aside from that, I would definitely go back there someday. Note if you are thinking of going to Venice, I would not recommend the summer/hot months. It was sweltering, even compared to the town we were staying in three hours away. In the future, I would love to return when it is not so hot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had 4 nights in the Antico Doge. The stay was spoiled by our first night experience when we were not given a bath, as we had asked and paid for. We spent the night in a room overlooking a very busy side alley and got very little sleep. The room opened out directly onto the breakfast room, letting the diners see right into the bedroom area, and to top it all, there was no table free for breakfast.
After being dealt with rather curtly, we were ready to move hotel, but from the second night on, the problems were sorted out. The staff, particularly the breakfast and cleaning staff, were very friendly, and overall, but for the first night, it would have been an unremarkable stay.
I can recommend this for a stay in the week. But not at a week-end. Be sure to get a room over-looking the small quiet square/yard behind the piazza. Not really suitable for large families (we were 5) unless you are prepared to eat split up at breakfast (not a big privation, I grant you, but not idea either).

Room Tip: I can recommend this for a stay in the week. But not at a week-end. Be sure to get a room over-loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anticodoge, Direttore at Hotel Antico Doge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I regret that you didn’t enjoy your stay at our Hotel, but I wish to point out that you didn’t pay the rate for a room with bathtub the first night, in fact you paid the higher price starting from the second night, since when you really got the bathtub in your room.

Regarding the noise you assert to hear in your room, I invite you not to forget that you have stayed right in the centre of our town and not in the hills or in the middle of a countryside. Moreover, consider that in Venice cars or even motorcycles simply don’t exist! In most of cities in the world ( for example New York) you usually hear sirens and alarms at all the times of day and night.

In conclusion, I can state that, despite the Hotel Staff tried real hard to satisfy your requests, this seems to have been not enough for you to give us a positive feedback as a whole.

My suggestion: before expressing a negative opinion you should consider the inborn characteristics of a place, in fact any city centre will hardly boast of the quietness of the countryside.

Best Regards,

The Managment
Massimo Cappon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room is very clean and spacious. The hotel is situated near the Rialto bridge which is of course crowded with tourists. Once your in the hotel you will not notice that anymore though. The breakfast is good. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time to Venice and we found this hotel great. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was nice and comfortable and the location is good. The Rialto bridge is right nearby and we found lots of good restaurants nearby to have dinner. Getting there was a little tricky but I think everywhere in Venice is. I would recommend catching the Water Bus to the F.te Nouve ( I hope I spelt that right) stop and then walking. The hotel lists San Marco but we then had to catch another water bus from there to Rialto bridge. But once we got there it was great.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Antico Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Doge

Address: Cannaregio 5643 | Campo SS Apostoli, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antico Doge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Antico Doge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Doge Venice
Antico Doge Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antico Doge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.