We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Forte Marghera 193c, 30173 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

All I can say is that our stay was near perfect. The Alexander is smart, comfortable and friendly. It's less than 15 minutes away from Venice by convenient local bus and our proferred 10 Euro note for our fare was waved away by the driver. It doesn't provide evening meals but just around the corner are several restaurants and a fabulous , really inexpensive pizzeria. There was the widest possible choice of breakfast menu. All in all a great place to stay for your Venetian visit. One small grouch, no tea making facilities in our room otherwise I would have scored it a 5.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    62
    56
    22
    5
See reviews for
34
65
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

First of all, don't be mislead about the location of the hotel. It is in Mestre Venice, not in Venice itself. When we arrived at the hotel, we were very surprised seeing the appearance of the hotel as it looked not like a hotel :-( Especially when we were told that this was a four stars hotel. Most likely it gets its 4 stars status due to its location in Mestre. The staff were fortunately quite friendly. The rooms were small. Even the door of our room could not be closed & locked. So we needed to put our luggage (fortunately we had quite big heavy luggage) as a barricade to keep the door closed as there was no other room available for us. The breakfast was not special but at least it had a hot chocolate machine to cheer up my kids in the morning :-)

Room Tip: Please check first whether your room's door is in order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This Hotel has been rated as a 4 star which it is not it is lucky to be a 3.When we turned up the Reception staff were racing to find our reservation through BA, where they had just left it on their email system. The staff person that was on at the time was not helpful and everything was a effort. We had encounted four staff and two were cheerful and helpful both male.
The breakfast in the morning was standard Euro Breakfast which was OK if you like cakes in the morning and the two staff in there were excellent. The Hotel at the moment has loads of scaffolding outside which looks like its going to be there for a while, also be aware of the 10% charge that is added to your bill if you use anything out of the fridge, due to know large filter water dispensers only option is water in fridge. Hopefully this helps I would rate this as more of a large Hostel than 4 star which its not. We looked at the comments from other people and thought they were just whinging, but no they were right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkara, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

For a four star hotel it's very cheap - but you get what you pay for. It's a plain hotel, the lobby is boring, the rooms are very small, but the staff are very friendly and helpful. They don't have a swimming pool, and that was a bit of a disappointment since it's a 4 star hotel.The hotel is in Mestre, not Venice, but it's only a 10 minute bus ride to Venice so that's good. Thumbs up for this hotel if you're looking for a cheap place to stay near Venice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I find the prvious reviews rather harsh, the hotel is ok, they don't pretend to be in Venice and the bus routes are excellent from only a 3-4min walk to the bus stop, you can get bus tickets from the Tabaconnists near the bus stop and she will adivse you on what to do, very lovely lady!
The hotel itself is rather ambitous with a 4* rating, possibly 3 perhaps!
Breakfast was reasonable and certainly put us on for the day, lots of fruit/pastries/cereals/toast (if you want to wait until lunchtime for it to toast ;-) ) and scrambled eggs and bacon.
We had no noise issues from other rooms, room was clean not enormous but live-able, beds firm but not rigid.
We parked outside for our stay as we were touring around, once parked up, the car was there for 2.5days, cars were changing so the amount of spaces was not an issue for us either, it was just nice to not have to pay for the priviledge!
There was some works going on in the hotel but the only time we noticed was when we were being lazy and had a lay in on checkout day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preddvor, Slovenia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I did not lie this place at all! Had to stay here because another one I usually stay at was too expensive this time (NH Laguna Palace) so have booked a room here. First, there was 3-4 parking places available for the whole hotel, my room had less then 10 square meters I would say, not to comment the overall "look and feel" of the furniture as well as the overall place. The breakfast was very basic, the only thing I can say is that the staff at the reception was quite ok. I would not stay here any more and I would hardly give it 2+ stars...

Room Tip: If you do not have to stay here, do not stay, If you are only looking for a cheap way to stay close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked this 2 night weekend as my mums Christmas present, looking at the 4* rating thought it was good... Boy was I wrong!!
On looking at the Alexander Hotels website, it stated that you have to get a blue ACTV bus, good luck with this... There are FIVE!! We managed to get the bus at the furthest end, after a mish mash of signals and hand gestures! We had no idea that it wouldn't stop at each place, and I thought I saw the road as we passed it, we asked the bus driver who then kicked us out at the furthest point away from the hotel!! At the I formation booth we managed to find out the right bus and a local man helped us with the stop.
Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted and given our room....
The door has to be unlocked, pulled toward you and then pushed forward, my mum who has arthritis could not do this, I had to, so be warned about that!!
In the bathroom there was long black hairs everywhere, rust in the bath, a toilet that when flushed it spat everything out everywhere and an interesting plug hole in the bath, that pretty much did as it liked!!
I found makeup on the carpet beside my bed, someone left their compact eye shadow behind and I found it, good hoovering skills!!
The breakfast, I read Trip Advisor after we got here and people were saying about cold eggs and bacon... You think it's a joke, but it's not!! It's all cold!!
Oh and for a non smoking hotel, curious because there is an ash tray in the room, and the smoking smell to go with it!! Not impressed!!!!
Oh, and the free wifi?! No, it's €2 for 24 hours use. Not impressed at all!!
Don't stay here if your looking for home comforts or even if your on a business trip. Only stay here if all other hotels are full and your desperate!! Only worth 1, perhaps 2 stars at most!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Via Forte Marghera 193c, 30173 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#89 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern waterfront w/hand-painted pastel murals & marble fls - Adjacent to canal; 1/2 mi from Mestre Shopping Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.