We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Class Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Save Saved
You added Al Ponte Antico Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Westlake Village, California
1 review
“Royal Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We just spent 4 nights at this incredible boutique hotel. If you want to be treated like royalty and stay in a beautiful palace...this is the place for you. The owner Matteo and his staff make you feel like you are staying in their own home. They call you by name and make you feel so welcome. Enjoy a Spritz on the terrace. The view is to die for.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    59
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
129
588
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent two amazing nights here, July 2nd & 3rd, and loved every second. The hotel is located perfectly on the Grand Canal and right next to the Rialto Bridge. The personal attention from Matteo and his staff was the best we ever experienced. They truly make you feel like part of the family. Breakfast every morning on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal is a great start to each day. Pictures do not do the location of this hotel justice. We can't say enough about the hospitality given by Matteo and staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What can we say... Matteo, Alex, Oliver, Tomas - thank you! Amazing hotel in the best location. On checking in, were taken to the private terrace overlooking the Grand Canal for some gorgeous local wine. We felt like royalty as people in gondalas stared up at us, wishing they were there!
Our room was stunning and huge, brilliant air con (which was very much appreciated). Breakfast was amazing, with Matteo the owner whipping up fresh eggs and pancakes each morning, along with a plentiful, local buffet.
Recommendations for restaurants were given with detailed directions and we enjoyed them thoroughly! Coming back each night, Tomas was funny and happily poured us late night drinks on the terrace while cracking jokes.

We cannot wait to come and stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We unfortunately stayed only one night (22 June; pre-cruise) and wished we had been there much longer. We booked a deluxe room which was located on the first floor (reception is on floor zero) next to the terrace. The room has two windows facing the Grand Canal, and was just as depicted in the photos on the hotel's website. The room and the entire hotel was spotlessly clean, and all furniture was in excellent condition. We found the bed to be firm but very comfortable. The air conditioning worked very well on a very hot and humid day. Although we arrived at approximately 7 PM on a Sunday, we were met by the very proud (and deservedly so) owner (Matteo), who introduced us to his friendly and helpful staff, and he personally provided a tour of the hotel and our room. The next morning Matteo made breakfast, which also included a large buffet with many different selections available. There is no better setting than breakfast and drinks on the hotel's terrace, with a spectacular view of the canal and the Rialto Bridge. This was our 5th stay in Venice, and in the past we have stayed at some of Venice's top 5-star hotels . In the future, we'll always stay here.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was exceptional with wonderful views of the grand canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Yes, the staff is wonderful, clearly proud of the boutique hotel they have created from a grand palace. It would not be as spectacular a place if it were not for the incredible location and the cozy terrace. The pictures do not do the location justice, as it is the sounds of the gondoliers, water taxis and water buses making their way down the Grand Canal that add the character a photo cannot capture. If you are lucky, you will even see an "ambulanza" speeding down the canal, leaving rocking gondolas and taxis in its wake.

Breakfast is served (weather permitting) on the terrace, with gorgeous views of the Rialto Bridge. Matteo whips up a delicious omelet (ham, cheese and tomato was our favorite) accompanied by made-to-order coffee and a buffet of fruits, juices, breads, meats and cheeses. A wonderful way to start the day.

The location is also great because there are signs everywhere guiding you back to the Rialto Bridge, so when you get lost (and you will get lost) it is easy to find your way back to the hotel. There are many shops, bakeries and restaurants right out the front door. Very easy walk to St. Mark's and the water bus stop that takes you to Murano, Burano and Torcello.

Drinks are served on the terrace any time of day, but after a long day of touring this spectacular city, a glass of vino bianco is a great way to end the day. My only suggestion for improvement might be some simple afternoon snacks of cheeses and antipasto of some sort.

As for the room, we stayed 3 nights in room 102, very comfortable and the best location in the hotel, 10 steps from the terrace. With the shutters closed, very little noise from the canal is heard. It was nice to have the extra space that the suite provides, but at 490 euros per night, I would probably not choose the room again. Most of our time was spent on the terrace so a smaller, less costly room, would have sufficed. The bed is pretty firm but we certainly were not miserable sleeping on it. There is a TV in the room but we never turned it on. Wifi worked fine. Shower is very small indeed.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. The terrace alone is worth the price.

Room Tip: If money is not a concern, go for the deluxe suites. Otherwise, so much time is spent on the terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Number 1 for hospitality anywhere in the world!

Matteo, Alex, Tomas, Oliver, David & Rosalba were our charming hosts for three of the loveliest nights we have ever experienced
staying in a hotel. On our first trip to beautiful Venice they made us feel at home from the moment we stepped through the entrance doors, discretely located down a quiet alleyway away from the frenzied daytime tourist crowds of Rialto. Yet the Al Ponte Antico is so close to everything!

Everything about this boutique hotel came together in a harmonious blend of timeless opulence and romance.

We have travelled quite extensively and stayed in many upmarket hotels over the years, and we would rank Matteo's family-like warm but still very-professional team as number one for hospitality anywhere in the world. We definitely hope to return one day.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Al Ponte Antico hotel for 2 nights in April 2014. This a a very small hotel with under 10 rooms. Very intimate and personal. Its like staying at a friends house for the weekend but with all the luxuries of a hotel. we had a double room adjacent to main eating area and it was quiet and lovely. Breakfast is included and its lovely to sit on the balcony and look over the grand canal as you sip your coffee and eat a freshly cooked breakfast made by the owner...Matteo. The staff makes you feel at home here and a special thank you to Rosalba who looked after us every morning. Look...Venice is expensive ..so its not a budget stay...but you will not be disappointed if you choose this hotel...unless of course you prefer larger hotels with bars and restaurants. We felt that it was perfect. Who needs a restaurant in house when you step out on to the cobbled streets of Venice and there is an array of good places to eat all day long. We booked the Classic double room with no view of canal ...it was fine as the breakfast balcony was perfect for canal viewing! The decor is beautiful and the atmosphere is just perfect for your stay. Would we return...most definately.... YES!

Room Tip: Only 7 or 9 rooms - they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#4 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#6 Family Hotel in Venice
#34 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ponte Antico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.