We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Two Places to stay in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Al Ponte Antico Hotel to your Saves list
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 383 Hotels in Venice
South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best Two Places to stay in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The other would be Mateo's other property Locanda Orseola. This family owns two properties in Venice and we won't stay anywhere else. The owner is the kindest, most service-focused property owner we have met and all of his staff are hand selected for their service attitudes. The Al Ponte Antico is perfectly located, just north of the Rialto bridge, and has the perfect patio overlooking the Grande Canal. The rooms are luxurious and the breakfast is tremendous but the personal service (they staff always greet the guests by name) sets this hotel apart. Trust the reviews - don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    59
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
136
616
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. It is well-located, with views of the Rialto Bridge (if you pick the right room). We stayed on the ground floor overlooking the Grand Canal, and these are by far the largest and best two rooms in the hotel. The staff are extremely welcoming and treat guests with amazing respect. No staff member remained seated if we spoke to them at reception, they would always stand. Breakfast was always exceptional out on the beautiful terrace as you watch the world go by. The terrace was also a great place for a drink late (very late) at night. The hotel caters for arrivals in the wee hours of the morning as well with a welcoming drink on the terrace and dinner if required.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in late May 2014. The greeting we received from Matteo Peruch, owner of the hotel, was fantastic and set the tone for our visit. His staff was helpful in every way and made our short stay in Venice a very memorable one. Breakfast on the terrace, cooked by Matteo, was a highlight...good food and an unsurpassed perspective on the Grand Canal and Rialto bridge. Thank you Matteo, Oliver, Rosalba, and David for a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Everything that everyone wrote about the Al Ponte Antico Hotel is true! From the moment I made the reservation to the moment we left, everything was utterly magical. I stayed with my two daughters in a triple luxury room with a canal view to die for! Venice is a fascinating city, full of culture, character and romance. This 500 years old palace adds with its charm and grace, to the whole atmospheric ambiance of the city. The hotel can also be spotted just under the centre span of Vittore Carpaccio's 1496 painting "The Healing of a Madman" and you don't see every day a 500 years old painting of the palace you are staying in!! As I don't want to repeat everything that has already been said, I shall just say that the Al Ponte Antico palace exceeded our expectations! A very big thank you the charming owner, Matteo and to all the staff, who went out of their way to make us feel like royalties! We shall definitely return in the near future!

Room Tip: Our triple luxury room was very spacious and the view was breathtaking! There only 9 rooms in the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Perfect location, great views of the grand canal & ponte rialto, attentive and personalized service. We were very happy with our 4 day stay here. According to the owner, Matteo, the hotel is a converted 16th century palazzo and the décor is period appropriate. Beautiful Murano glass chandeliers, high ceilings, carvings, tiles, the works. Great buffet breakfast with eggs and crepes cooked to order.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

From the very dapper and charming host Mateo and all of his staff to the wonderful view from the balcony, our visit to antico pontico was just as advised - wonderful.
Get lost on your way back from st marks knowing you have a gem of a hotel to return to.
A lovely hotel in a beautiful city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We spent four nights at Al Ponte Antico Hotel during May 2014. We were very pleased with the quality of our room, enjoyed our time on the terrace and thought the breakfast was delicious. The owner, Mateo, was onsite for our visit and the staff was very polite and professional. Each staff member called us by name from the time we arrived until the time we left. The location is very convenient since it is a short walk to the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#6 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ponte Antico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.