We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and care” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Save Saved
You added Al Ponte Antico Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 382 hotels in Venice
Orefield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service and care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Italy. We spent the first 3 days and our last day before leaving Italy at Al Ponte Antico. It was an incredible start to a magnificant trip. As we stepped off the water taxi, onto the dock for the hotel, we were greeted by Alex by first names. After settling in our room which overlooked the canal, we went upstairs to the beautiful porch overlooking the grand canal. Just as the picture on the website shows - we were watching the spectacular show on the grand canal, as well as a perfect view of the Rialto Bridge. Every morning we had a deliious breakfast overlooking the water and the fabulous view. Breakfast was served to us by a kind and attentive Rosalba. We thank Matteo, Oliver, Thomas, David, and Alex for helping us with restaurants, directions, ideas, advice and sites to see. They made our first visit to Venice extraordinary. They were enormously kind and generous. We loved our stay at this beautiful, petite hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the huge room facing the canal on the first floor. While it was beautiful and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    715
    59
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
127
578
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrara, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is our third trip to Venice and our second time staying with Matteo at the Al Ponte and we have recommended family and friends over the years to the hotel who all have fond memories of the staff and the famous hotel balcony.
This trip was going to be a short stay as we were going to be boarding a cruise the next afternoon but we could not be in Venice without having one night with Matteo and sipping drinks on the balcony- not to mention breakfast the next morning.
The best way to arrive at the hotel is by water taxi and we got one straight from the airport to the hotel (110 euros and well worth it for the experience alone if not the convenience), Alex who we had not meet on previous stays was there to welcome us by name and they also had our old passport ids from previous trips which made check in quick.
Alex offered to store our large cases for us as the room we had booked (106) was a smaller room, but we managed and it was more than sufficient for one night. The hotel is very unique and the rooms and décor are traditional and may not be for everyones tastes, the bathrooms are clean and compact and again part of the charm in staying in this former palace.
We could not wait to head up to the balcony and while away the afternoon having a few drinks and watching the world go by on the grand canal. It was wonderful to catch up with Matteo again and hear his news as well us update him on what we have been up to. We felt like we were again staying with old friends. It was good to see that Oliver and Rosa where still with the hotel.
All the reviews will still not prepare you for the experience in staying here., you have to experience it yourself

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We are a family of 4 & had a hard time finding nice hotel room to fit all 4 of us. I also wanted to ride the private taxi right up to the hotel so we won't have to walk much with our 12 day luggages. This hotel is the perfect fit. The staff and owner are very friendly & anticipate all our needs. The cafe balcony is no doubt the best realty in Venice with a perfect view of the Rialto bridge while we watch the busy canal traffic. We splurged & got the room right on the canal & it's worth it! The room & the overall hotel has all the comfort of new technologies & historic royal opulence. It was once a palace & only renovated few years ago. You cannot hear any of the canal traffic even though the room is right on the canal. We visited in the hottest days of the year & the AC was simply awesome being colder than any place we visited in Italy. The breakfast buffet table is intimate but with grand presentation. We would definitely return some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful small hotel, great location near to Rialto bridge and overlooking the Grand Canal. Most of all, Matteo and the other staff Oliviero, Rosalba, Thomas and David, were welcoming, kind, helpful and friendly. The room was fab, with high ceilings and fine decor. Great breakfasts and smooth evening drinks on the terrace. We would love to try some of Matteo's other hotels.

Room Tip: Check out the website and choose depending on your taste, facilities needed, view etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I adored my stay in Venice and it was largely due to this hotel! My husband and I were greeted by name upon arrival. The hotel has its own dock so we were able to go straight from the airport to the hotel. The location of this beautiful, old palace simply can't be beat with the view of and proximity to the Rialto Bridge. We had a delicious, fresh breakfast on the terrace every morning. The staff was attentive and professional. We were so impressed with the service at the Al Ponte Antico that we will seek Matteo's other hotels outside Venice during next trip to Italy!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is not just made by its unique location and superb terrace, it is the extraordinary charm of the entire team. I have never been anywhere, where the staff have greeted me by my first name as soon as we arrived (Thomas is amazing but perhaps we were the last room to check-in) but the same happened with every other member of the team as well.
The atmosphere was so friendly and the help to book suitable restaurants, concerts etc amazing.
We are determined to re-visit.

Room Tip: 101 ia a great room although there was some noise from the terrace on the first night. It is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is a real gem. The team are exceptional, the location is superb and the breakfast is freshly prepared for you. If you are looking for an intimate and truly relaxing break, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Tip: ask Matteo & his team to arrange your private water taxi transfer from the airport - totall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#4 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#6 Family Hotel in Venice
#32 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ponte Antico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.