We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great views, great service...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Al Ponte Antico Hotel to your Saves list
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 384 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great views, great service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What can I add that others haven't already told you? I visited Venice for a honeymoon weekend; and chose this hotel based on the reviews here (thanks!). We had a brilliant time and the hotel did not disappoint. The service was as personal and excellent as others have described. We took a private river taxi from the airport; which despite being a little expensive (at 110 Euros) is the only way to arrive in style. We were greeted by the night porter, Thomas, who was as funny as he was helpful The rest of the staff that we met over the next couple of days were equally friendly and eager to help with suggestions, restaurant reservations etc.

We were upgraded to the Junior Suite for our first night and then spent the 2nd night in a Superior Room; both have views over the Grand Canal. Be aware that there is still some building work going on at the building next door, which partially restricts the views of the Rialto bridge, although we didn't find this a problem.

The showers were great, although we were surprised to find a shower curtain (rather than a screen) in our bathroom. But that's about the biggest criticism I can think of.

Location is superb for getting around Venice; we were able to pack a lot into 48 hours. A truly special place and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: 101 (Superior) is just off the terrace; great views but can suffer from noise if others are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    65
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
144
649
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ended our 15 day trip to Italy at the Al Ponte Antico Hotel and truly enjoyed our stay. As others have noted, the staff is the key to the hotel's success. Alex, Oliver, and Matteo were like long time friends greeting us every morning, afternoon, and evening by first name. They helped make reservations and offered tips for getting around. Rose alba (sp) was a great breakfast host. The hotel is small with only 9 rooms, but the views and location are remarkable. Because of the size, the breakfast buffet was not as abundant as you may find at a larger hotel, but it was certainly sufficient. You definitely want to spend time on the terrace each morning watching the boats on the Grand Canal.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at Al Ponte Antico for a few nights in June before leaving on a cruise. The location is very convenient to vaporetto stops, San Marco Square and the Rialto area. Matteo, the owner, was so friendly and helpful-as was the rest of his small staff. Everyone spoke excellent English. I have been to Venice several times, but for first time visitors, they seemed to do a good job of explaining things travelers find complicated like how to validate your vaporetto ticket, etc. We took a water taxi from the airport. It was 110 Euro, but if you have a lot of bags, plan ahead for the expense since Al Ponte Antico has a private dock right off of the lobby and it is far easier than public transport. At the airport, there is a desk to book your water taxi just outside of customs. It is the same price no matter which taxi they call. The hotel ordered another water taxi to take us to the cruise pier-it arrived right on time and Matteo helped get us and the bags into the boat. Breakfast was delicious and included in our rate. Wi-fi was also included, you just have to ask at the desk for a code for each device you want to log on with.
If I ever return to Venice, I will certainly stay at Al Ponte Antico again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspley Guise, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by name on our arrival by charming owner Matteo, our stay could not have been more perfect. We learnt how he had restored the old palace to its current glory and the made the best use of the space to create 9 bedrooms, beautifully decorated and with everything you could need. Our room, 102 looked like it had the best view but it didn't matter much as the balcony was a great place to sit and take in the view over breakfast, personally prepared by Matteo himself, or during the day. All the other staff knew our names and always offered to help us with whatever we needed. The definition of personal service. We will definitely be coming back. Grazie Matteo.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in a 5 star villa in florence and a 5 star hotel in Venice on the rest of our trip, but in terms of value for money, customer service, this was by far our favourite. The staff were perfect, breakfast on the terrace was priceless and Thomas the concierge turned our complicated arrival to italy into the beginning of a wonderful romantic holiday! Recommend to all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I want to start by personally thanking everyone at the al ponte antico for a wonderful stay. They could not have been nicer or more helpful. If you look at the reviews, you will see that this is a constant and it is well deserved. This is a small, nine room, boutique hotel. It has it's own arrival dock so you can take the water taxi from the airport directly down the Grand Canal and arrive at the hotel. This is a big advantage since you don't want to be dropped off somewhere and drag your bags. Also, it is really cool cruising down the Grand Canal and arriving like some star. The rooms are large, especially by European standards. Our window shutters opened up onto the Grand Canal and looked out onto the Rialto Bridge. Wow, what a view. You can also go up onto their terrace and they will serve you drinks or wine while you take in the beauty of Venice. In the morning, you can have a wonderful breakfast that is made to order. Again, the staff shines. You will not regret staying at this hotel. I imagine if you like the bigger, more modern hotel, then maybe this isn't right for you. There are a couple of minor things we noted. The shower is small, especially for a larger person. The robe material was rough so we didn't use them. The sheets and toilet paper were not soft either. I realize that these are very minor things but I like to be complete with my reviews. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would go back in a second. We have stayed in three Venice hoteIs and this is my favorite. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foothill Ranch, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

What more can I say. From the minute we stepped off the water taxi, we were greeted by Alex, who among the other staff members, made our stay memorable. Yes this is an expensive hotel, but worth every penny. From the staff, the grounds, the view, the room, the incredible breakfast and what a great central location. I will definately stay there again. All of the rooms do not face the grand canal. But if you have the time make a early reservation and request if you can. Mateo was the best host of all. He cooks a great breakfast and gave us an explaination of the grounds. What a history it has. We were always treated very well. These pictures don't do it justice I'm sure. Very romantic eating breakfast or a late night drink on the balcony. Amazing time. Thanks again to Alex, Oliver, David and of course the owner Mateo. The book was a crowning touch!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#14 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ponte Antico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.