We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Al Ponte Antico Hotel to your Saves list
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 383 Hotels in Venice
italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful friendly service, outstanding position and no words to describe the view. Just sitting on the balcony makes one feel immersed in daily Venice life. And inside takes one back to the splendor of an old Venetian palace. The staff cannot do enough to make your stay with them as pleasant as possible. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    59
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
136
616
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked the grand canal room looking directly out on passing gondolas from our open windows facing the water. The room was gorgeous with the owner leaving areas in the room where you could see original pillars and ceilings. We only had one night, but within an hour of arrival our greeter had arranged for a private taxi boat to Murano where a factory staff member met our boat, took us to see a master glass blower do his work and then we were browsing and shopping. That evening, the same staff member set up a great dinner in the neighborhood which was casual but one of the best meals we had on our holiday. The next morning the owner cooked our breakfast to order. He also told us interesting bits of history about the palace and Venice. I have been to Venice before but this was the FIRST time I felt part of the history and city.

Room Tip: If this is a special holiday do book a first floor room that looks out directly on the Grand Canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for us when we went for our honeymoon, saying its the top rated hotel in the world by tripadvisor. And what better place to start our 24 day long honeymoon from Venice! After my stay here, I keep comparing my stay at every hotel I stay at, with Al Ponte. It was the most fascinating 4 days of my life. The rooms are tiny, but who cares when everything else is so perfect. We had the bar to ourselves at night and the balcony was our opening to Venice after 10 (as we went in the winter and it gets damn cold at night). The most wonderful thing was wen we cvisited Venice again after a year back, the hotel staff actually recognized us!! Couldn't get over the fact that someone actuaaly knows us in Venice! You have to be really lucky to have stayed here in your lifetime, so please book in advance or postpone your dates !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Al Ponte Antico from June 9 - 13. We stayed in their regular rooms, we were assigned room 104 in the second floor. The room was spacious for Europe and specially venice standards. The bathroom was also spacious. I have read that other rooms don't have spacious bathrooms but ours did. There was only one complaint about the room. The shower. There was a bathtub (i guess that the bathtub was there in order to help "hide" the plumbing system) so when you were standing in the bath tub my head was actually touching the roof. For someone taller than me that might end up being a deal breaker. I guess if they took out the bathtub and put a regular shower it would become more spacious.
Now the hotel is only 9 rooms, 3 in the first floor and 5 in the second floor. Breakfast was included and cooked to order by Mateo, the hotel owner, every morning. We were greeted by our first names as soon as we arrived, and all the hotel staff addressed us by our first names during our entire stay, which made the experience incredible.
Two years and a half ago we stayed at their other property in venice, the Locanda Orseolo. You could say both hotels are very similar, but the Al Ponte Antico hotel has a feature that sets it apart, not only from the Locanda but from any other hotel: The Balcony on the second floor overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. Now the view to the Rialto on the left hand side was obstructed by a construction taking place in the next door building, but the sights were still amazing. We actually found ourselves returning to the hotel to have a drink at the balcony. Whit that view, that you are not going to find at any bar or restaurant in Venice, you will find yourself returning to the hotel to have a drink and enjoy the incredible view.
During our stay we were able to enjoy breakfast every day in the balcony (there are 9 rooms and only five tables at the balcony) which was an amazing experience. And at night there is no better place in venice to enjoy a drink and just watch life go by. You could actually se people from gondolas and Vaporettos taking pictures of us and other guests in the balcony. It is that amazing.
My only suggestion to the hotel is that with that incredible view they have at the Balcony, we would have love to have the option to enjoy our drinks with some snacks at night. That way you could arrive at night, enjoy a drink in the balcony and pick up a snack or something similar. They could even use the "honor" system were they could leave a book and you would write down what you took.
For those of us that need to be connected 24/7 the hotel had wireless wifi and also a 21" IMac in the second floor, were you could check your email.
The attention to detail in the hotel was amazing, helping us with concert tickets, reservations at restaurants and suggestions about were to have lunch or dinner. All the recommendations were on target, the restaurant A Beccafico was a very good choice and also a pizza place they recommended. They also recommended a place to buy italian wine that was just steps away from the hotel, it was called Milli Vini, and we were able to find a great selection of great italian wines to take back home.
The location of the hotel is also a great plus. You are basically steps away from the Rialto Bridge and about a 10 minute walk to St, Mark's Square, which makes the location extremely convenient.
If you are planning to go to venice, this is the place to stay. After our stay at this incredible hotel we would not consider another option.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep later, ask for a room in the second floor on the back of the property. Room 104...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Al Ponte Antico. Matteo and his team deserve six stars for service. If only other hotels knew how to treat their guests like this, we would all enjoy travelling a whole lot more. I was impressed at how Oliver knew our first names as we walked through their doors the first time, before getting the chance to mutter a word. In fact, everyone went out of their way to make us feel like special guests.

Aside from the stellar service, the location can't be better. The hotel is just a few minutes from Rialto Bridge, a very central location for a tourist. Just take vaparetto # 2 (express) heading to S.Marco from either the train or the airport and get off at Rialto. Once you get off, head left and hug the water. The hotel is down an alley. Nearby is a great wine store called Vini Mille. Also, if you are reading this you probably already found out that Da Mamo, a top rated restaurant, is located nearby. I say skip Da Mamo and go to Barababao (the boogeyman) instead. It's just as close with better service, food, and prices, in my humble opinion.

Our room was tastefully decorated, plenty big, and had ample storage. While we enjoyed our room, we loved the terrace. It was great sitting out there having breakfast, drinking prosecco, and sharing stories with fellow travelers. Check out the faces of all the people sailing by. They look at you like you are a movie star. We didn't see too many other hotels that had a terrace like this on the grand canal.

I would stay here again without hesitation. Hopefully, I'll get the chance to do so in the not-so-distant future. Bravo to Al Ponte Antico and grazie mille to Matteo, Alex, Da Tomas, Oliver, Rosalba, and David!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of May for our honeymoon and it was amazing. Our room was small but everything else was so wonderful we didnt care. The staff are so friendy - everybody knows your name, the location is so central - you can always find your way home, and the terrace is wonderful - the best place in Venice to sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by ! I have never written a review about anywhere else before, but I just had to share my experience and say a massive 'Thankyou' to all the staff.
from Emma and Gary, Brighton, UK

Room Tip: spend a little extra and go for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment my husband and I were met by Christiano and Alex at the hotel's private dock on the Grand Canal, we were treated like old family friends! By knowing our names, to giving us the VIP tour of the hotel we immediately felt at home.
The hotel is perfectly situated less than a block away from the Rialto Bridge, and is beautifully appointed with luxurious classic Venetian features. It is easy to see that owner, Matteo Peruch, takes great pride in exceptional customer service.
From beginning to end of our amazing stay in Venice, Matteo and his team were engaged in ensuring we had everything we needed- from dinner reservations at wonderful, neighborhood restaurants to recommending local, non-touristy points of interest.
In addition to all of the above, one of high points of our stay was the amazingly delicious breakfast buffet; and my personal recommendation to all readers of this review- be sure and ask Matteo to make one of his "special" omlettes for you. It is truly fabulous!
Bottom line, there is only ONE place to stay in Venice and this is it!!
To Matteo and all of our friends at Al Ponte Antico- keep watching that boat dock, because Don and I will be back- A presto! Ciao!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#6 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ponte Antico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.