We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Save Saved
You added Al Ponte Antico Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 381 hotels in Venice
norfolk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Could not be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Everything the previous reviewers have written about this hotel is true: it is the most perfect place to stay in Venice. Its location is magical as it's on the Grand Canal, (I watched the vaporetti whist eating breakfast) and it is yards from the Rialto. The building is a beautifully restored 15th century palazzo. The staff are incredible and cannot do enough to make one welcome: the friendliness of the atmosphere is unique in my experience. It was like staying amongst friends.
For anyone wanting a real Venetian experience, this is definitely the place, and now that we have found it, we shall certainly return. Congratulations to Matteo and his staff for making our stay so memorable. To be able to finish a heavy day's sightseeing with a capuccino in the sunshine on the hotel's terrace watching the world in the gondole going by on the Grand Canal is a privilege.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    661
    57
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
115
533
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brugg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently stayed for six nights at the hotel. Everything worked out as described by Tripadvisor: smooth transport by watertaxi (pricey, but what isn't in Venice?), wonderful first impressions on arrival, as our luggage was whisked to our room. From then onwards everything went like a dream: a nice breakfast with eggs cooked to my specifications, restaurants booked, all our cares looked after in the nicest and politest possible manner. On my wife's birthday a bunch of beautiful flowers was organized; and a bottle of prosecco, together with rose petals and a card, materialized! And everyone congratulated my wife. In the course of forty years' travelling, one of our best hotel experiences. Impeccable standards of excellence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at ponte antico during carnival 2013 and had the best experiences we've ever had at a hotel. The hotel is so beautifully decorated. The rooms are big and decorated beautifully too. The staff is so friendly and helpful which is a reflection from the amazing owner Matteo that gave us a tour of the hotel the second we arrived. The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything and the views are great of the Rialto bridge and grand canal. In the morning breakfast is amazingly prepared fresh for you with a huge selection of what you can eat. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. Thanks again Matteo for making our venice stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I agree wholeheartedly with all the reviews of al Ponte Antico posted here: this is a beautiful boutique hotel; the rooms and bathrooms are spectacular; the sitting areas are calm and serene; the overall design and architectural feel, superb. The staff members are charming, professsional.

I will never forget the time that we spent there
This hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We only had one night in Venice and so wanted it to be something special - and this place delivered on all counts. It's in an old building that has been beautifully restored in a style very fitting with this amazing city. The location is ideal with water taxi access on the Grand Canal and just minutes walk to Rialto Bridge. With only 9 rooms the staff can truly focus on providing amazing service and we we found the recommendations for things to see and do and places to eat to be perfectly suited. Thanks Oliver and Mateo !! We'll be back one day ...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The location of the hotel is superb and the staff were excellent, however, the room we had was right next to the landing platform which was pretty noisy at times, especially first thing in the morning!! Considering we had paid extra for a canal view, we feel we should have been accomodated on an upper floor. The room itself was excellent, however, the shower could probably benefit from an upgrade. Given the short nature of our stay (4 nights) we did not raise these fairly minor issues with the owners and in fact we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Venice and would most definately go back

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor, next to the landing platform.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Pros: 1. Location, location, location--between the Rialto Bridge and the Rialto market on the Grand Canal, five minutes from a vaporetto stop. 2. Extremely friendly and personal service (Oliver's resturant suggestions over a six-day period were spot on). 3. Facility is a beautifully restored palazzo that shrieks "expenses be damned." 4. Spacious terrace overlooking the Grand Canal, perfect for boat watching over breakfast or before-dinner drinks.

Cons: 1. Al Ponte Antico is, in fact, not really a hotel. With only nine rooms, it's a tarted up b&b of your dreams. Personally, I like the relative anonimity that a hotel offers a traveler. At Al Ponte Antico, like it or not, you're part of an extended Ventian family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#5 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#12 Family Hotel in Venice
#25 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ponte Antico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.