We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, could not have been looked after better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Save Saved
You added Al Ponte Antico Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 382 hotels in Venice
Glos, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, could not have been looked after better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, it went far too quickly. Arriving tired after our flight we were greeted, by name, by Matteo as soon as we walked to the hotel door. We were shown around, given some handy tips and left to relax. After dinner we sat on the little terrace and watched the Grand Canal, drinking a superb Spritz or two with other guests. Everyone was enchanted.
The room was a blessed relief after exploring Venice in the boiling heat. The air-con was fabulous.
Breakfast was a pleasant, plentiful buffet, or Matteo would cook you eggs in his lovely copper pan.
The staff really set this place apart. Every member of staff knew our name and were always pleased to make you a drink, show you a route, or sort out a good, non-tourist trap restaurant for dinner but the service was never intrusive.
We were quite sad to leave. One of the nicest short stays we have had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    717
    59
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
127
580
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We recently returned from Venice and our third time at Al Ponte Antico. We have stayed in Venice numerous times in our past at the more famous and luxurious properties, but trust me when I say this is the place! Matteo is the consumate hotelier and has a loyal and courteous staff (Oliver, Rosabel, Armando, etc) who go above and beyond to make you feel like you are their most important guest. I can only reiterate what others have said - rooms are Venetian in style (we like room 108), convenient arrival and departure by water taxi and a close walk to all the sights. I can truly say our favorite all-time memory of Venice is simply sitting on the terrace of Al Ponte Antico enjoying our morning cappucino's and freshly made crepes as Venice awakes. Watching the "rush hour" traffic on the grand canal is fascinating and you literally have a front row seat. It's hard to leave the pretty little terrace to go out and explore Venice, but remember when you return in the late afternoon, the terrace awaits, along with Matteo and a Venetian spritz or a Bellini! We hope you visit this hotel and leave with the same fond memories as we have.

Room Tip: Book a room with the canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Love this hotel! Right on the Grand Canal, a water taxi drops you right at the "doorstep" and the hotel staff greets you. From then on you are greeted by name by every staff member who introduces themselves, you are pampered for anything you want and you have one of the best possible locations for exploring Venice.

This hotel was the home of wealthy venice merchants who spared no expense. The ceilings are original and marvelous, but the hotel has all modern accomdations including the important hot water and a comfortable bed.

Beware there is no elevantor so everyone must go up/down one flight of stairs.

Room Tip: We had the closest room facing the canal and so it was a little noisier than the other rooms but thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of November. It was truly one of the high points of our trip to Venice. The service was among the warmest and most personal that we have experienced at any property anywhere. The location, right on the Grand Canal, is terrific. The breakfast included was very good. The experience of sitting on their terrace, overlooking the Grand Canal, sipping a hot chocolate, and just watching the traffic pass on the canal was an one not to be missed. Our room, which overlooked the Grand Canal, was spacious and comfortable. The only negative would be the shower, which was the smallest I have ever used. The hotel is pricey, but overall, well worth the splurge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I would agree with much of what has been written already. Even reading beforehand that guests were referred to by name, when it actually happens, it still seems surprising. The staff could not have been more welcoming, courteous and helpful.

We arrived by water taxi and the hotel's own dock made arrival a breeze.

Great position by the Rialto. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We chose this hotel for our Venice honeymoon based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. From the moment we entered we were treated like royalty. We were met in the lobby by the owner, Matteo who greeted us by name. The same was true of all the staff, even though we had not met them they knew us by name. The level of service we received here was unmatched and we have traveled at many four and five star resorts. There was a bottle of champagne and a note congratulating us on our wedding waiting for us in our room.

The location was also wonderful, very centrally located and a short walk to the Rialto Bridge and San Marco's Square. The staff is also very helpful in getting around the city as well as delicious dining recommendations. If you are visiting Venice you will not want to miss this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Such a friendly group of fellows run this beautiful hotel right on the Grand Canal. It's definitely worth it to pay extra for a room on the Canal. The room we had one night towards the back/ facing courtyard was a bit stuffy, though very quiet.

Room Tip: get one of the rooms that face the Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#6 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ponte Antico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.