We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“But...You're on the Island!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Hotel Florida
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli dei Cavalletti, 106, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 384 Hotels in Venice
West Carrollton, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“But...You're on the Island!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We did as much advanced research as we could regarding where to stay one night on the island. We ended a cruise in Venice and were staying one more day in Venice. We were leaving by train the next morning and looked for a hotel near the station. Based on proximity to the train station, price, access to the Vaporetto, and the abundance of restaurants, this was a great choice. The ratings suggested that this place is only average and that proved to be the case. The re-use of old buildings means that not much is purpose built and has been modified & updated for present use, as in this hotel. The rooms were large enough, older furnishings, bathrooms are raised to accommodate the necessary plumbing. The room were OK clean but not pristine and felt a little grungy. The ladies noted some small gnat-like bugs, don't know what to say about that. While the bathrooms were very small and tight, they were very clean and no problems were noted there. The staff were awesome and did everything they could to make your stay well. When noted that we would be leaving before breakfast service was started, they immediate ask if they could provide us with boxed breakfasts for the train, which we readily accepted. Based on the need to be near the train and on the island, this was an OK option for a single night. If we had stayed multiple days, there would be better options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    181
    127
    23
    15
See reviews for
90
196
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Venice was the last stop of our Italian holiday and we chose Hotel Florida for its location- very near to Santa Lucia train station. I had e-mailed them 1 week prior to our trip to reconfirm bookings but did not receive any reply. Thank goodness our bookings were firm.
The male receptionist was extremely helpful (can't say the same for the girl, though).
The room was dated but very spacious and well-decorated. Cleanliness top notch. However, it lacked some amenities such as a speedy kettle and some cups. Hot water was erratic as well.
Breakfast was at a small room on the ground floor. Pastries, meats and cheese, yoghurt, eggs, fresh juice and of course coffee/ tea. Fairly good breakfast, but the place was a little bit cramped. Waitresses were friendly despite it being busy.
Although located very close to the train station, it was quite a bit of a walk to the bus station for the bus to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for the time you've spent reviewing our Hotel.
Let us answer to some of your inaccuracies in depicting our Hotel.
As per the "unreceived" confirmation, we always check and answer ALL the emails we receive from our guests so we can only assume our email ended directly in your email account's spamhole.
Obviusly anyone can have a bad day but let us say that we are really proud of our staff. In fact all our receptionists, male and female, are always willing to solve any problem our guests may have and are always polite expecially toward polite people.
Talking of the staff, they always provide boiled waters (and cups) upon request of our guests so that there's no reason to provide each room with kettle (that could "disappear") and cups.
As per the breakfast room size, we have already written in several previous answers, that we always offer our guests the opportunity to get breakfast served in the room for free to avoid the crowd.
Regarding the Hotel location, let us point out that we are just 5 minutes (walking distance) away from Venice Piazzale Roma (where all the busses to and from the airport leave and arrive). Perhaps our hotel's the among the few closest to the bus terminal here in Venice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Room: dirty, battered, grotty and tattered. Un-swept, un-dusted, broken bits everywhere, ripped and dirty wallpaper, no bedhead on two of the three beds, dirt under beds, hallway very dirty, furniture battered and uncoordinated. Two staircases- no lift- but no help offered. Dining room ridiculously cramped, very grotty and battered, Food not great- lacked freshness. Foyer filthy and stair carpet ingrained with dirt. Our booking, through booking.com, could not be found on hotel system. Complained about poor room, politely, to a receptionist but she was unapologetic, un-smiling and simply said we were lucky to be on the top floor as if we'd been on the first floor the noise overhead would have been annoying... It was so gruesome we stayed out as long as possible: really spoiled our holiday in beautiful Venice.

Room Tip: The rooms on first floor were better- saw them- but not for us, sadly. TIP: see with your eyes- don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Direttore at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for the time you've spent reviewing our Hotel even if we really don't know where to start to object your statements.
First of all, let us kindly say that we consider very unfair your behavior as all your complaints have only been made on the day prior to your check-out date.
We always try to do our utmost to accomplish with any client request while in the Hotel. Our task is to help all our guests as we really want them to feel like home. We're always smiling and willing to help when we have cooperative people in front of us...
Unfortunately, there are guests unwilling to get satisfied and in your case our sincere sensation's that we could have done nothing to please you.
We can remember very well that your FIRST complain only regarded the noise of the steps you heard from the upper floor (there're two old people leaving on the upper flat and no one ever complained about the "noise" they make). On that occasion you insisted on having a discount.
About the newly refurbished rooms, let us say that we're really proud of the way our housemaids clean every room of our hotel and, at least judging from the comment you can find and read, especially on the online travel agencies web-sites, our guests are as well.
Our maid follow a strict standard rule to obtain the cleaness our customer pretend and appreciate.
Your room was in fact clean as always (indeed there are no photos you posted that can prove this wrong).
It's true, there was a tear on the wallpaper, but except that we can't really understand how such a fluff could have spoiled your stay in Venice, your lack of cooperation's clear. In fact you should have communicated us the problem from the first day you entered the room as we've two mainteinance men ready to fix such problems.
Besides, you omitted to say (only to promptly insert the photos of the wet wallpaper on Tripadvisor AFTER your leaving) that a water damage due to the water dripping from the upper floor had occurred during your stay. Your prompt cooperation could have avoided things to get worse.
Again, the photo of the chandelier lacking a bulb (!) only prove your lack of cooperation as you could have said us to replace the dead bulb and we would have act consequently.
About breakfast, everyone passing by the Hotel in the early morning, could testify the freshness and would be charmed by our food’s fragrance.
We bake croissants and bread every day ( take into consideration that small hotels usually provide wrapped food), and our salami, ham and cheese freshness’s always appreciated by our guests.
Breakfast room’s a little small but we always offer our guests the opportunity to get breakfast served in the room (no extra costs) instead of queueing but, gain, you made no complain during your staty.
It’s all a matter of lack of cooperation…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had just 1 night before before our cruise. There was a group of 9 so 4 double/twin & 1 single lady, the 4 double rooms were the size of a postage stamp however our single lady friend had a massive room with a king size bed plus a single beautiful painting just like you see in many brochures for Italy we all had a good laugh at the logic of this!!!!! The rooms were small but quite adequate which seems to be the norm in Europe. The only downside was our air con didn't work the receptionist said it was the batteries however after having them changed it still didn't work hence we spent the night being bitten by mossies as we had the window open, if we had been staying longer we would of spoken to reception again & I am sure going on the service we received it would of been rectified. Good hotel, great location, excellent breakfast, clean & friendly staff. There is no lift so travel light. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: If you have a lot f luggage or have mobility issues request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This Hotel has of the friendliest receptions we have ever encountered. All the staff that dealt with us were only too pleased to welcome us and deal with all our enquiries. All the back room staff and cleaners were just as friendly ..a true credit to the people of Venice

The Hotel itself was adequate for our needs and in a perfect location for all transportation links (1 minute from the boats, 3 minutes from the train station.

The room was comfortable and adequate for our needs considering the price. I do think that in time it will need a little bit of updating. Wi-fi does not seem to extend to individual rooms which was a little frustrating but it was perfect downstairs.

The only thing we would mention is the cleanliness of the bathroom. Wether the cleaner had not paid close attention to detail or if she used a dirty cloth I don't know but there was a considerable amount of black hair from what we presumed to be the previous occupant. To be fair we didn't raise this as an issue with reception though and I'm more than confident that had we brought it up they would have seen to it immediately.

Overall a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I always come back to the same street. It is a quiet place to rest after the crowds and noise of the rest of Venice. The room was clean and the staff helpful. Just out the door is the vaporetto stop to travel any where in Venice. I always come back. There is no need to drag my luggage to a hotel closer to St. Mark and no line to wait in when the train arrives at the station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Direttore at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Hotel Florida.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay and that your expectations were met! Our first priority is to take care of every aspect of your stay (cleaness in particular) and we're glad you appreciated our location, one of our strongest points.
As you say we're in a very strategic point as we're close (in terms of walking distance) both to the railway station, the bus terminal and the center of the city.
We would be delighted to welcome you soon again!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west st andrews
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

close to train station,even there very quiet, rooms are small bathroom is very small ,a larger person would have trouble , there is no elevator so that makes it hard.they have a unsecure place where you can leave your luggage if cheching out early,staff was helpful.and a good breakfast.if not too fussy and want a reasonable priced place it would do

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you spent writing your comment, it's clear you didn't like our hotel and for this we are sorry, non the less we have to underline some aspect of your review:
1) our rooms are regular size, most of the double can fit three and even four regular size bed, considering the european standard are comfortable, as well as our bathroom.
2) elevator in a city where buildings are at least 400 years old it's very hard to find except you do not choose a four or higher star hotel ( up to the price you want to spend !)
3) we allow our guests to leave their staff in the first floor of the hotel in a lobby, we advise guests it's not a locked room and most of them really appreciate to save their money instead going to the railway station storage ( prices 5 euros each pieces ), and have the freedom to spend their last hour in Venice without caring luggage with them .
4)we do serve a very high standard breakfast with a choice of salami, ham ,cheese , boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, croissant, butter jam( different flavor ) bread, cake , orange and grapefruit juice, cold or hat drinks...and all this without limits but on request...if this is regular please tell me what do you eat when you wake up !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavalletti, 106, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Florida 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Venice
Florida Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.