We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Save Saved
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Florida
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli dei Cavalletti, 106, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 382 hotels in Venice
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had just 1 night before before our cruise. There was a group of 9 so 4 double/twin & 1 single lady, the 4 double rooms were the size of a postage stamp however our single lady friend had a massive room with a king size bed plus a single beautiful painting just like you see in many brochures for Italy we all had a good laugh at the logic of this!!!!! The rooms were small but quite adequate which seems to be the norm in Europe. The only downside was our air con didn't work the receptionist said it was the batteries however after having them changed it still didn't work hence we spent the night being bitten by mossies as we had the window open, if we had been staying longer we would of spoken to reception again & I am sure going on the service we received it would of been rectified. Good hotel, great location, excellent breakfast, clean & friendly staff. There is no lift so travel light. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: If you have a lot f luggage or have mobility issues request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    183
    108
    23
    15
See reviews for
74
157
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This Hotel has of the friendliest receptions we have ever encountered. All the staff that dealt with us were only too pleased to welcome us and deal with all our enquiries. All the back room staff and cleaners were just as friendly ..a true credit to the people of Venice

The Hotel itself was adequate for our needs and in a perfect location for all transportation links (1 minute from the boats, 3 minutes from the train station.

The room was comfortable and adequate for our needs considering the price. I do think that in time it will need a little bit of updating. Wi-fi does not seem to extend to individual rooms which was a little frustrating but it was perfect downstairs.

The only thing we would mention is the cleanliness of the bathroom. Wether the cleaner had not paid close attention to detail or if she used a dirty cloth I don't know but there was a considerable amount of black hair from what we presumed to be the previous occupant. To be fair we didn't raise this as an issue with reception though and I'm more than confident that had we brought it up they would have seen to it immediately.

Overall a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I always come back to the same street. It is a quiet place to rest after the crowds and noise of the rest of Venice. The room was clean and the staff helpful. Just out the door is the vaporetto stop to travel any where in Venice. I always come back. There is no need to drag my luggage to a hotel closer to St. Mark and no line to wait in when the train arrives at the station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Direttore at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Hotel Florida.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay and that your expectations were met! Our first priority is to take care of every aspect of your stay (cleaness in particular) and we're glad you appreciated our location, one of our strongest points.
As you say we're in a very strategic point as we're close (in terms of walking distance) both to the railway station, the bus terminal and the center of the city.
We would be delighted to welcome you soon again!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west st andrews
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

close to train station,even there very quiet, rooms are small bathroom is very small ,a larger person would have trouble , there is no elevator so that makes it hard.they have a unsecure place where you can leave your luggage if cheching out early,staff was helpful.and a good breakfast.if not too fussy and want a reasonable priced place it would do

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you spent writing your comment, it's clear you didn't like our hotel and for this we are sorry, non the less we have to underline some aspect of your review:
1) our rooms are regular size, most of the double can fit three and even four regular size bed, considering the european standard are comfortable, as well as our bathroom.
2) elevator in a city where buildings are at least 400 years old it's very hard to find except you do not choose a four or higher star hotel ( up to the price you want to spend !)
3) we allow our guests to leave their staff in the first floor of the hotel in a lobby, we advise guests it's not a locked room and most of them really appreciate to save their money instead going to the railway station storage ( prices 5 euros each pieces ), and have the freedom to spend their last hour in Venice without caring luggage with them .
4)we do serve a very high standard breakfast with a choice of salami, ham ,cheese , boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, croissant, butter jam( different flavor ) bread, cake , orange and grapefruit juice, cold or hat drinks...and all this without limits but on request...if this is regular please tell me what do you eat when you wake up !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is only metres away from the railway station, which makes it very easy to get to. If you get a room at the front, it can be quite noisy, although with the windows shut and air conditioning on, it is not too bad. There is not a lift and if you use the luggage storage, it is in an unsecure area.
The room we had (7), was very small, you could not open the bathroom door properly. The wi-fi did not work the whole time we were there.
The staff were friendly and the included breakfast was of a reasonable standard.
The choice of places to eat close by is almost overwhelming.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have travelled all over the world including most of Europe and this has been the most disappointing of all my hotel experiences. I entered the quite cluttered and messy hotel reception area with hopes of a relaxing stay in Venice. My concerns began when I was informed by the lady at the desk that I had a private bathroom down the hall from my room, which seems more like a backpackers lodging. Needless to say it is not mentioned anywhere on any of the websites listing this hotel that you will not have a bathroom within your room. Actually this is not 100% true as at the end of my bed was a bidet and a sink. I am not quite sure what use a bidet is when the nearest toilet is 20 metres down the hall but it gives you the added adventure of trying not to run into it as you dress to make your way out of your room and down the hall if you need to use the facilities during the night. Just in case you were a little too relaxed the private bathroom is directly next to the bathroom used by everyone else in the floor and they are both just labelled 'WC' so you can enjoy the knocking and attempts to undo the door from the other lodgers as you try to take care of your business. Although the out dated shower it self appeared to be clean I was unfortunately rather distracted by the toilet brush sitting next to the toilet that was completely covered in faeces. As there are no hooks in your private bathroom it is a challenge to keep your towel clean. This would not usually be a problem but you can only have your towel replaced every third day unless you want to pay the additional seven euro per person to have it replaced earlier. The bed it self is as hard as a rock. You are provided with a very flat pillow approximately an inch thick at best. There are two extra pillows stored in the cupboard. I went to use one of these and was forces to choose between the one covered in hair or the one covered in yellow stains. In the end I thought it safer to just use a rolled up t-shirt. There are no in room safes so I am not sure why this is listed in the listings for this hotel. I could go on further but to say I have used camping ground facilities more comfortable than this place. Do not stay here!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Anonymous,
your complaint had to be made when you were in house directly to our staff. This would have given us the possibility to get into your booking file and understand the kind of room you had booked ( we do not know if you booked through an agency or directly with us) and consequently to give you an appropriate response.
The defamatory statements you have written (but not showed to our staff when it was possible to put remedy) lead us to think you have got confused with all that huge number of hotels you have staied in, getting travelling all over the world, as you say. As a matter of fact in our hotel there are no rooms similar to that described by you.
We will turn your untruthful and defamatory review to our local Hotels Association in order to clarify our position to the reviews readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Florida, although quite old, had character and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here. Be warned though there is no elevator but we were on the first floor so we managed fine. The rooms were very clean, small but no smaller than anywhere else you find in Europe. The continental breakfast was ordinary, no complaints. The staff is what made it for me! They spoke very good English and were more than happy to help. They recommended great restaurants that were out of the touristy area, knew the transport system like the back of their hands, helped us with our Italian phrases and were overall great to have a chat to and very easy to get a long with. The hotel is very close to the train station which made it extremely easy when we left as all the bridges around Venice are stairs, there are no ramps. There is also a water bus stop right in front of the hotel (ferrovia) which you can catch to get around if you don't mind paying the €7 one way fee. Very short water bus trip to st marks square. Otherwise everything else you need you can find in walking distance.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavalletti, 106, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Florida 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Venice
Florida Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.