We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Hotel Florida
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli dei Cavalletti, 106, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Just about average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 nights, after checking the website it looked relatively pleasant. However, upon arriving it looked considerably different. My room was drab, wall paper coming away from the walls and the springs had gone on the bed meaning it sank in the middle. Plus points would be the proximity to the rail and bus stations and the breakfast was quite good.
2 nights was just about bearable but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you spent writing your review, we are sorry you didn't find the hotel as agreable as you thought, we work hard to give to our guest a pleasant stay and a wanderful memory of Venice, customer care satisfaction is our first goal and with this philosophy we take care of our room as well as of the service we provide in all the different departmet such as cleaness, wich is one of our strenght or breakfast, that we improved with salami, cheese, ham, yogurt, fresh fruit over all the normal italian buffet ,our clerk staff is a multilanguage speaking with a high range of courtesy as well professionality .
If you find a small defct in our room please apologize us, we will remedy as fast as we can even though your is one of the very few complain we ever had .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    161
    112
    22
    13
See reviews for
82
178
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ideally located in a quiet street close to the rail station. Clean and tranquil, extremely friendly staff. Excellent continental breakfast included. Some rooms are smaller (it is Venice, after all) but nice nonetheless. Adequately sized flat screen TV and good A/C. Nice and clean bathrooms. We have been returning for years and hope to come again.

Room Tip: ask for the garden side rooms for even quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you, guests like you help us to grow up and improve our customer care service.
God bless you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

From the bus station to the hotel it was less than 6 minutes on foot, once there a very friendly and helpful reception staff checked us in.
The room was on the first floor with everything we needed for our stay, comfy bed, enough space for luggage, clean bathroom with a full tub.
Breakfast was tasty and plenty,,enough variety for us and the little one.
Reception took time to explain about the new tourist tax and gave a little fare well present to our daughter!
Definatly a hotel to come back to one day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was my third time staying at this hotel....its location was great , right next to the train station, the staff was wonderful and great value, hotel is older but wonderful. The rooms are older but clean and bathrooms are nice...had flat screen tv

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Overnight stop here when Liverpool played in Udine - an excellent location - 5 minutes walk from Piazza Roma where the airport bus drops off & almost next door to Sainta Lucia train station - come out the station, down the steps-with the Grand Canal immediately in front, turn left, walk past a church & it's up a small alley but there is a sign on the wall at the entrance to the alley. There's also a water taxi stop very close. A very safe location & about a 20 minutes walk over to St Marks Square along the main street passing bars & eating places on the way - also up & over a few small bridges!!! A continental breakfast is also served-cold meats,cheese,cereal,yoghurt,croissants,bread,fruit. The only downside is there is no lift but the staff are very helpful - really friendly & on leaving I was given a Venetian mask fridge magnet - a very nice gesture. Would definately stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is very close to the main train station in Venice and pretty close to the bus station. There is also a water taxi stop not far from the hotel.

The hotel itself is basic but the rooms were clean and the staff was great.The rooms were a nice size, The staff was great, very nice and made recommendations for restaurants and places to go. The location is right off the grand canal and off the main street. I will say that the room faced the alley way (which is how you enter the hotel) and it did get a bit loud as people were passing by throughout the night.

The breakfast was basic for a European hotel - meat and cheese and some pastries.

Even though this was not in the San Marco area, the walk over to the other side of the town was not bad at all and it is a really great walk going through Venice.

The cost was great and the free bottle of wine was an added benefit. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the alley way are louder, but not sure if the other rooms have any windoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struisbaai, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Florida prior to our Cruise. What a perfect choice - close to Vaporetti stop, Station, Piazza Roma, People Mover to Cruise Terminal and many restaurants. Best of all was the caring, helpful staff who were very fluent in english and knowledgeble.
The room we had was quite large for Venice and European standards, with a fair size bathroom and all the necessary toiletries. Not the most modern furnishings and decor, but quite comfortable. View out of window was onto red roofs (quite beautiful!!!!)
Breakfast offered a good choice of cold meats, cheese, cereal, yoghurt, breads, fruit and coffee.
Only complaint - no lift to take heavy suitcases to 1st floor- but that's normal for Venice .
Such a lovely gesture, when we checked out the receptionist gave me a Venetian Mask Fridge Magnet. If I ever stayed in Venice again, I would most defentiely stay at Hotel Florida

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavalletti, 106, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Florida 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Venice
Florida Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.