We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Vivaldi

Save Saved
You added Locanda Vivaldi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Locanda Vivaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL DEAL!!!
Ranked #31 of 382 hotels in Venice
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This Hotel was luxurious in all respects. The staff was most kind and efficient.
It is ideally located and easy to get to all the sites from there.
The recommendation of a seafood restaurant was out of this world.
Overall it was a 5 star in every way.
Thank you.
Ken & Barbara Wiesner
Sacramento, California

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    155
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
116
316
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a friend and stayed for a week in early May 2013. It is well situated, with good views over the lagoon. St Mark's square just a few minutes' walk away.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and we ate on the terrace a couple of times with amazing views across to St Giorgi Maggiore. The room was extremely well appointed, comfortable and spacious.
One could spend much more on a hotel in Venice but we felt the Vivaldi offered great value for money. The staff we more than happy to help us plan our days out.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We knew we chose well when the water bus dropped us off and we were metres away from the doorstep! Room was great (shame we couldn't get the canal view), but they are limited. Service was exceptional, no request to hard and staff went out of the way to assist. Made use of the courtesy taxi to Murano (that stops at the hotels own launch), and their recommendations on some of the quiter areas of Venice. The terrace dinner was exceptional and the restaurant manager fantastic. Close to...Everything!

Room Tip: Book early and get the canal view
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Everything we could ask for. Great location near St Marks, on the waterfront with it's own taxi dock on the side canal. Great staff and good food. The rooftop restaurant was an excellent place for sundowners and dinner. Our room was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and definitely worth the upgrade to the waterfront room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and also our rooftop restaurant.

I hope to welcome you again soon here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Considering the location, view, quality of room and service – it is still one of the best places in Venice. Even in the city so much oriented towards tourists as Venice it is hard to find a hotel so strategically located, close to main attractions and with the view of the lagoon and entrance to Canale Grande. And friendly and professional staff makes every our visit as reunion with friends. This year change is own restaurant open daily for dinners. Locanda Vivaldi belongs to the chain of three hotels (Santa Chiara and Palazzo Stern, all located in different parts of the city but always at the water), there is a cooperation with benefits to the guests. For instance the chain makes own, homemade, fresh food, including bread, pasta and other products. There is a 60 years old, beautifully restored Venation motorboat, which – on certain conditions allowed by local regulations – might serve hotel clients. And the May-new is the new web page (www.locandavivaldi.it). See photos there, the views are also part of explanation of our returns to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review!
Once again, it has been a real pleasure to have you here in Venice. I look forward to welcome you again here!

Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hotel location: Perfect! The best in Venice. Close to the main sites (San Marco) and all water buses (including water bus to the airport) and gondolas – literally on your doorstep.

Room: We booked a standard room. Standard rooms overlook either side canal (Rio dei Greci) or the internal courtyard. I asked for the canal view (side view) and was told it was not guaranteed. I asked 2 months before the visit, so if a standard room can have the canal view for the same price I was expecting that the hotel would make more effort to give us this room. However, I do understand that this could not be guaranteed. Overall, the room was clean and pleasant. Pretty smelly when we got there but after opening a window it was well aired and no smell at all. Really small window so the room was pretty dark.

Sockets!!! European plug but it has to be really narrow, otherwise it will not fit, some adapters to UK plug have a wide plug so you would have a problem.

Bathroom: We got the room with the shower with sauna and hydro massages, but unfortunately it didn’t work. We didn’t report it as we were not that bother to use it.

Breakfast: Varied, however it was lacking some tomatoes or cucumber. Scrambled eggs and bacon a bit cold when you have a breakfast after 9:00. Nice service.

Hotel: nice service, clean, nice lobby, remember that you will be charged the local tax after your stay which is €4 per person per night. Overall: would recommend it to friends and family.

From the airport to the hotel: we took the bus ATVO (€6 per person) to Piazzale Roma and then nr 1 water bus (€7 per person). Nr 1 is a great route for sightseeing so highly recommended. Your stop would be called San Marco (San Zaccaria).

From the hotel to the airport: we took a water bus from San Marco (San Zaccaria) straight to the airport, called Alilaguna, route Blue. The cost is €15 per person. It takes about 75 minutes, pretty long, but pretty unusual way to get to the airport, so well worth it.

Water taxi from/to the airport: €110 for up to 4 people.

Gondolas: short trip (approx 40 min) costs €80 (you can negotiate to €60 but will last shorter), longer trip costs €100-€120. Just be prepared that your trip will not last long if you negotiate.

Restaurants: Some restaurants make you pay a service charge plus coperto (approx €2.5 per person) and they expect you to give a tip on top of that. Some restaurants offer ‘No service charge’ dinner.

Masks: there are loads of cheap staff. Made in China masks are plastic and cost below €10. You also can find Made in Venice masks, two types: 1. Hand made and hand painted, made from paper, you can see it is hand made as the back is pretty dirty, usually with the sticker of the venetian manufacturer (around €30); 2. Hand painted and paper machine made, cheaper than hand made.

We stayed 3 nights in Venice so if you have enough time we would recommend Lido Di Venezia. Nice, relaxing place. Drink bar on the beach, nice restaurants. So much different than busy Venice. It was a nice break to relax on the beach. You can have a nice walk in a quiet environment.


Enjoy lovely Venice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Buongiorno!

What a great and detailed review!!!
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write it.

A couple of notes in top of what you wrote:

1) May is one of the busiest period in Venice. That's why we have not been able to give a room on the Canal Side: all were already booked!

2) Sockets: your socket was too big because was a "shuck" plug, not european! They are not the same dimension unfortunately. Anyway we have some adapters at the reception.

3) Cucumber in may? No way!!! I will buy "plastic" for my guests!!! :o) I'm kiddin'. we don't buy them now because we are too off-season and they will not be good enough. But we have tomatoes in the kitchen, just ask the waiter!!!

4) Transfer: we now have a private boat (FREE OF CHARGE!!!) for all the guests who book directly with us. We are not allowed to go anywhere in Venice (we don't have all the license unfortunately), but maybe we will be able to fit your needs.

I think this is everything! Thanks again for your very nice review. I look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a great day!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights. Chose the Lagoon view and was really glad that I did, you get a direct view of lagoon and St Giorgio. Hotel is small and cosy which I prefer over those big bustling restaurant. Room was clean, service was good. Food Room service is not available all day but what I ordered was nice and of good portion. Decor was nice. 5 minutes brisk walk to St Marco. 2 minutes walk to water bus. Really helpful when you have spent the whole day walking about. You get free live entertainment from the accordion player who busks just under the window. Free Wifi in room was not very strong but sufficient. Concierge spoke English so that was helpful. Breakfast was served in a very lovely room and had mostly cold cuts and only hot food was scrambled eggs. Lots of fruits and cereals.

Room Tip: Choose the lagoon view, you won't regret the extra that you have to pay for it. Could be noisy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Vivaldi

Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#33 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#36 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Vivaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.