We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 update” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Vivaldi

Save Saved
You added Locanda Vivaldi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Locanda Vivaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPECIAL DEAL!!!
Ranked #29 of 381 hotels in Venice
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“2013 update”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Considering the location, view, quality of room and service – it is still one of the best places in Venice. Even in the city so much oriented towards tourists as Venice it is hard to find a hotel so strategically located, close to main attractions and with the view of the lagoon and entrance to Canale Grande. And friendly and professional staff makes every our visit as reunion with friends. This year change is own restaurant open daily for dinners. Locanda Vivaldi belongs to the chain of three hotels (Santa Chiara and Palazzo Stern, all located in different parts of the city but always at the water), there is a cooperation with benefits to the guests. For instance the chain makes own, homemade, fresh food, including bread, pasta and other products. There is a 60 years old, beautifully restored Venation motorboat, which – on certain conditions allowed by local regulations – might serve hotel clients. And the May-new is the new web page (www.locandavivaldi.it). See photos there, the views are also part of explanation of our returns to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review!
Once again, it has been a real pleasure to have you here in Venice. I look forward to welcome you again here!

Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    144
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
111
294
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hotel location: Perfect! The best in Venice. Close to the main sites (San Marco) and all water buses (including water bus to the airport) and gondolas – literally on your doorstep.

Room: We booked a standard room. Standard rooms overlook either side canal (Rio dei Greci) or the internal courtyard. I asked for the canal view (side view) and was told it was not guaranteed. I asked 2 months before the visit, so if a standard room can have the canal view for the same price I was expecting that the hotel would make more effort to give us this room. However, I do understand that this could not be guaranteed. Overall, the room was clean and pleasant. Pretty smelly when we got there but after opening a window it was well aired and no smell at all. Really small window so the room was pretty dark.

Sockets!!! European plug but it has to be really narrow, otherwise it will not fit, some adapters to UK plug have a wide plug so you would have a problem.

Bathroom: We got the room with the shower with sauna and hydro massages, but unfortunately it didn’t work. We didn’t report it as we were not that bother to use it.

Breakfast: Varied, however it was lacking some tomatoes or cucumber. Scrambled eggs and bacon a bit cold when you have a breakfast after 9:00. Nice service.

Hotel: nice service, clean, nice lobby, remember that you will be charged the local tax after your stay which is €4 per person per night. Overall: would recommend it to friends and family.

From the airport to the hotel: we took the bus ATVO (€6 per person) to Piazzale Roma and then nr 1 water bus (€7 per person). Nr 1 is a great route for sightseeing so highly recommended. Your stop would be called San Marco (San Zaccaria).

From the hotel to the airport: we took a water bus from San Marco (San Zaccaria) straight to the airport, called Alilaguna, route Blue. The cost is €15 per person. It takes about 75 minutes, pretty long, but pretty unusual way to get to the airport, so well worth it.

Water taxi from/to the airport: €110 for up to 4 people.

Gondolas: short trip (approx 40 min) costs €80 (you can negotiate to €60 but will last shorter), longer trip costs €100-€120. Just be prepared that your trip will not last long if you negotiate.

Restaurants: Some restaurants make you pay a service charge plus coperto (approx €2.5 per person) and they expect you to give a tip on top of that. Some restaurants offer ‘No service charge’ dinner.

Masks: there are loads of cheap staff. Made in China masks are plastic and cost below €10. You also can find Made in Venice masks, two types: 1. Hand made and hand painted, made from paper, you can see it is hand made as the back is pretty dirty, usually with the sticker of the venetian manufacturer (around €30); 2. Hand painted and paper machine made, cheaper than hand made.

We stayed 3 nights in Venice so if you have enough time we would recommend Lido Di Venezia. Nice, relaxing place. Drink bar on the beach, nice restaurants. So much different than busy Venice. It was a nice break to relax on the beach. You can have a nice walk in a quiet environment.


Enjoy lovely Venice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Buongiorno!

What a great and detailed review!!!
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write it.

A couple of notes in top of what you wrote:

1) May is one of the busiest period in Venice. That's why we have not been able to give a room on the Canal Side: all were already booked!

2) Sockets: your socket was too big because was a "shuck" plug, not european! They are not the same dimension unfortunately. Anyway we have some adapters at the reception.

3) Cucumber in may? No way!!! I will buy "plastic" for my guests!!! :o) I'm kiddin'. we don't buy them now because we are too off-season and they will not be good enough. But we have tomatoes in the kitchen, just ask the waiter!!!

4) Transfer: we now have a private boat (FREE OF CHARGE!!!) for all the guests who book directly with us. We are not allowed to go anywhere in Venice (we don't have all the license unfortunately), but maybe we will be able to fit your needs.

I think this is everything! Thanks again for your very nice review. I look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a great day!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights. Chose the Lagoon view and was really glad that I did, you get a direct view of lagoon and St Giorgio. Hotel is small and cosy which I prefer over those big bustling restaurant. Room was clean, service was good. Food Room service is not available all day but what I ordered was nice and of good portion. Decor was nice. 5 minutes brisk walk to St Marco. 2 minutes walk to water bus. Really helpful when you have spent the whole day walking about. You get free live entertainment from the accordion player who busks just under the window. Free Wifi in room was not very strong but sufficient. Concierge spoke English so that was helpful. Breakfast was served in a very lovely room and had mostly cold cuts and only hot food was scrambled eggs. Lots of fruits and cereals.

Room Tip: Choose the lagoon view, you won't regret the extra that you have to pay for it. Could be noisy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My fiancée and I spent 5 great days in Venice over Valentine's Day and this hotel was a good part of it. The location is excellent being just steps from the waterbus and a very short walk to St. Mark's Square. Definitely go the extra yard and get a room that looks out on the Lagoon ... the views are amazing! Excellent staff ... answering questions, giving recommendations, extremely helpful. They offer a connection with a water taxi to Murano ... so glad we did it ... they pick you up right at the dock the hotel has and it is at no cost! The room was nice and really enjoyed the fact that there is are 2 doors between the bedroom and the bathroom ... perfect for when one person is getting read and the other is waiting. Again, I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again here.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our family of four including two boys 6 and 8 had a wonderful four day stay in Venice at this hotel. The location cannot be beaten, front desk service fantastic as they arranged concert tickets and a speed boat to Murano both at no cost and fixed a faulty bath immediately. Drinks and dinner at the upstairs restaurant have a wonderful view of the busy water way and the buildings around. The peacefulness of the hotel was a welcome respite from the crowded lanes and promenades of Venice.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view so if you want one then make sure you ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location,the room{suite}, the helpful staff, all together made our 6 day stay perfect even tho the weather was rainy and cold.Breakfast was more than ample and served in a lovely breakfast room. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your great review. I'm very happy to know ì you enjoyed your stay with us, I look forward to welcome you here again soon!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First I felt at home, very warm reception and wonderful, very attentive. The location is good. I forgot my scarf, and sent to Brazil without charge and in perfect condition. I recommend Locanda Vivald!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
THank you for this very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you soon again.
Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Vivaldi

Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#30 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#38 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Vivaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.