We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Vivaldi

Save Saved
You added Locanda Vivaldi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Locanda Vivaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL DEAL!!!
Ranked #34 of 382 hotels in Venice
Scarborough, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Ideally located and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our family of four including two boys 6 and 8 had a wonderful four day stay in Venice at this hotel. The location cannot be beaten, front desk service fantastic as they arranged concert tickets and a speed boat to Murano both at no cost and fixed a faulty bath immediately. Drinks and dinner at the upstairs restaurant have a wonderful view of the busy water way and the buildings around. The peacefulness of the hotel was a welcome respite from the crowded lanes and promenades of Venice.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view so if you want one then make sure you ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    155
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
116
316
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location,the room{suite}, the helpful staff, all together made our 6 day stay perfect even tho the weather was rainy and cold.Breakfast was more than ample and served in a lovely breakfast room. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your great review. I'm very happy to know ì you enjoyed your stay with us, I look forward to welcome you here again soon!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First I felt at home, very warm reception and wonderful, very attentive. The location is good. I forgot my scarf, and sent to Brazil without charge and in perfect condition. I recommend Locanda Vivald!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
THank you for this very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you soon again.
Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Locanda Vivaldi for a long weekend break and thoroughly relaxed and really enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, the location was fantastic. Hotel very clean and friendly and we really appreciated the little touches, such as chocolates and weather forecasts on our pillow each evening. We can't wait to return. Thankyou so much.

Room Tip: Pay extra to upgrade to lagoon view- well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks to you for your very nice review!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I found this hotel to be in a perfect location, easy to find your way back from the maze of small streets behind. The hotel was spotless, staff perfectly polite and helpful and overall we had a great stay. I would definitely recommend an upgrade so you have a room at the front, we stayed in 204 although reading through some of the reviews on here 206 or a corner room would be better but we were very happy and will certainly book again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Buongiorno!

thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location was perfect. Vaporetta out the front, a short stroll down to St Mark's Square. I had a canal view room and it was a beautiful view over the lagoon. The room was furnished exquisitely. The reception staff were most helpful. The breakfast was very nice. Overall, no problems.

Room Tip: If you are going to be in Venice, then you gotta have a view over a canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Buongiorno!

thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great location, good access for water taxi, ferries etc. However...

It is very charming, and the full breakfast was delivered to our room daily (which was nice). However, the hotel does show signs of wear and tear which is really an issue of value for money. Unlike other hotels around like the Metropole next door there is no bar or restaurant and so the experience is all about the room (we saw several rooms, one was very small the other a decent size in that they could fit in a small breakfast table). If you like a little buzz this is not the place for you and as we paid over 300 euros per night (and even though it was Carneval the hotel was not full - just everyone in town raising prices to rip people off), I would say (and I travel a lot) this place would be okay as a 150 euro a night place - if you are paying more manage your expectation as you will not get for 200 (or 300 lie we paid) euros what you would in other European tourist locales...

Don't get me wrong, the staff were kind and the place had charm, but do not expect the experience, service or facilities of a city boutique hotel - this is a lovely and dusty old tourist hotel, and at the right price would be fantastic but it is not worth +300 euros per night

Room Tip: Some of the standard rooms are very small have shower only
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Friend,

I don't agree with what you are writing.
First of all we have a bar, we have a rooftop terrace and we have also a restaurant (open from may to October).
The hotel is very well kept and the dimension of our rooms is more than adequate (we also have many rooms that are big enough for 4 adults). The price is not high at all, we are actually the less expensive hotel in Riva degli Schiavoni, the best part of Venice.

Venice is an expensive town, and you choosed the most requested location in town. There are 500 hotels in Venice and just 5 are in Riva degli Schiavoni. This location is not free of charge!
Then you have to consider all the services we have. WE have a private landing for the taxi, the breakfast is always included, the room service is always included, porterage service is always included, wi-fi is free of charge, and the staff (as you said) is very professional.
You cannot have all these things with 150 €. But not only here in Venice, anywhere in the world.

Warmest regards.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Vivaldi

Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#33 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#39 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Vivaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.