We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Opposite the Grand Canal, Centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Vivaldi

Save Saved
You added Locanda Vivaldi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Locanda Vivaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #33 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Right Opposite the Grand Canal, Centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at the Locanda Vivaldi & its good value for money.
Positives: Location is 100 metres from San Zacarria water bus station & 5 minutes away from St. Marks Square & 10 mins from Rialto bridge. Staff very helpful & speak very good English. They helped us book tickets to the "Venezia" musical, helped us with vital information on how to get where & were always at hand for any information required. The room was overlooking the grand canal and is good value for money. Breakfast was also good & the location is close to restaurants, bars & cafe's. There was a jacuzzi in our room which was a good relaxing experience after walking around (yes in venice you have to walk alot). They also tell you (accurately) the weather next day by leaving a card in your room along with chocolates. Free wifi in your room as well
Negatives: Only one - The internet speed was slow in our room, however it was fast in the lobby & this was the only reason i am leaving out one star in the review.

Would give it a 4 1/2 star.

Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for the Grand Canal View & you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for the very nice review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
I'm sorry for the internet speed, it should be the same in the whole hotel. Unfortunately the lines here in Italy are very poor for everybody.

We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    160
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
122
333
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I returned from a works educational a few weeks ago and I must say that this is one of the best Hotels I have stayed in, in quite a while. All the staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough to help when needed, there was always someone on reception with information and maps provided. I stayed in room 102 overlooking the Laguna and the views were breathtaking. My room had a small balcony which was a lovely touch everything was very clean and the decor was exquisite, The bathroom was really spacious and had everything from Bathrobes to toiletries. there were also complimentary fruit and water on arrival. The breakfast Room was quaint and there was a array of different cooked and cold foods to choose from, definatley worth getting up for :-) The Hotel is in a great location to get around Venice whether you want to walk or go on the vaparetto to get around as the hotel is close to all major places of interest. Would definatley book Locanda Vivaldi hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Definatley upgrade to a Lagoon View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for the great review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Have a nice day and Merry Christmas!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We don't speak Italian, but we needed contact information of a small Italian town Police Office. I asked the front desk for help. The gentleman was very helpful, he made a phone call to the Police Office, checked the town's website and found the information for us.

Breakfast was great, the location was excellent. The room was small had no views.

Room Tip: Ask view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Buongiorno!

I'm happy to know that you found our staff helpfull. I'm sorry anyway that you need our help to check something with the police!

Merry Christmas!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We got a standard triple that had a queen bed in one room and a single day bed in the other room. The breakfast was really great and the location ideal. Everything was very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
That was not a Standard room anyway, you have been upgraded to a Classic Suite. We always do that when possible if you book directly through our website!

We all look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

NIce hotel 200 meter away from magnificent Piazza San Marco and bridge of sighs, close to Vaporetto station, and a nice view on the laguna. Staff was very helpful, day and night, Excellent breakfast with croissants as good as in Paris :-) Room size was OK. Only the shower was too small in my opinion but I guess not everybody has the same expectations.
In conclusion, we had a very good stay in Locanda Vivaldi and did not regret our choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for this very nice review!
I'm sorry you found the shower too small, we have anyway higher room cathegories with bigger bathrooms!

Maybe next time!

Thanks again and merry Christmas!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have just returned from a stay at Locanda Vivaldi. I have been going to this hotel every year since 2003. It is a great hotel, very clean and I have always found the service to be excellent. It is in a great location. I always try to stay in room 206 as it has four windows with amazing views. As someone who visits Venice often, I think the rooftop terrace offers one of the best views you can have of Venice. On a clear day you can see Lido, San Giorgio, Il Redentore, Salute, Campanile and Doges Palace. Yes, there is some noise from the police station and from some boats outside, but it is all part of Venetian life. I like nothing more than sitting with a glass of wine and watching the world go by in Venice from the windows in my room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review. We all look forward to welcome you again soon, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here (20th-23rd Nov 2012.) We were very impressed from the moment we arrive. Our tour rep greated us on arrival, and gave us loads of useful information. Roberto and all of the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful to us. We loved our room, although we found it quite warm, so we simply switched the heating off. We found it unusual that there were no facilities to make tea or coffee in the room of a four star hotel, as it is an aspect we take for granted wherever we may stay (home or abroad.)

There were lovely touches, a welcome drink on the evening of our arrival, our bed being turned down at night, with the following day's weather information on a little card together with little sweets on our pillows were very much appreciated. The breakfast was more extensive than we thought it would be, not soley croissants and jam, but fruit, cheeses, ham, yoghurts, wonderful scrambled eggs,delicious bacon, fresh loaves for toasting, cakes, pastries plus lots of delicious coffee.

We booked a room with a view over the canal/lagoon and were not disappointed. You will hear sounds of life in the morning this is after all a working city, and this hotel is situated on the main "promenade". I suspect it could be noisier in summer evenings than at the time we stayed. We found it interesting to watch Venice's inhabitants going about their everyday life, and as there is so much to see and explore, you would be daft having a long lie in if you're only visiting for a short time. We would have no hesitation staying at the Locanda Vivaldi again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and your room.

We don't have any tea/coffee maker in the rooms, but the bar service is always open and our rates are very reasonable (lower than any other regular bar of Venice!).

We all look forward to welcome you again soon here, have a great day!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Vivaldi

Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Vivaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.