We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Vivaldi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Vivaldi to your Saves list
Locanda Vivaldi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A Great Deal for You!!!
Ranked #52 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great to be back there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

As summary of my opinion: we return to this hotel every time we are in Venice since 2008. I reported it earlier and I am pleased to inform that Locanda Vivaldi keeps its quality of place and services. This year new is last floor terrace restaurant open for lunch and dinner for hotel guests. As far as I know there are very few places in Venice you can eat and enjoy such a beautiful view. If you do not like to eat – just go there for drinks and enjoy the Laguna and entrance do Canal Grande view. Main reasons we stay there: excellent location, close to San Marco and to all water transport lines, nice, clean and very well maintained Venetian style rooms, most with great view, buffet breakfasts, free wi-fi all over the place and – most of all – friendly and helpful staff. After so many visits to Venice we do very well ourselves but if we need help or advice they never fail and if we are familiar with Venice and its features we owe it to the front desk staff, Stefano and Tommaso. We are tempted to try other hotels of the group, one of which overlooks Canal Grande and are equally nice, but our final decision at the end of the day is always Locanda Vivaldi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Buongiorno My Friend!

Thank you for your very nice review!

Have a great day, and see you soon.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    198
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
143
402
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a pleasant hotel in a good central location. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was very clean and furnishings in good condition. Breakfast was good, nothing exciting, but a good range of the usual buffet products - breads, cakes, scrambled eggs and ham, yoghurts, cheese, fruit, cereal, juice.
There is a little restaurant /bar at the top of the hotel and we went there for a free welcome drink. Panoramic view. Get there early if you are going for a drink as it seems to turn into a restaurant around 6.30.
Our room was above the canal, but had a lovely view across part of the lagoon to Santa Maria della Salute church.
The only down side was the lack of air conditioning. We felt quite stifled in the room and I spent much of the time with my head stuck out the window - not ideal really! There was a temperature control knob on the wall, so we assumed ours was broken as we could not get cool air. However, when we reported this to reception, we were told that there was no air con only heating! We switched the temperature control off as we defintely did not want any extra heat. At night, to get air, we had to keep the window open but this meant that we were exposed to noise. The rubbish barge sites itself at the canal in the morning and large wheelie bins are brought to it to be emptied. The sound of breaking glass, as bottles were tipped in, disturbed a few of my dreams! If we had been able to close the windows, we would have had some soundproofing.
The hotel is not cheap so I am sure that it can afford to install airconditioning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Buongiorno!

There is a misunderstanding. We actually have the air conditioning, but probably during your stay it was still turned off.
We turn it on when it's warm enough.

I hope to have you here again soon , have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Venice is a World Heritage Site for a reason: it is unique, fabulous and a place you can go broke doing nothing. However, everything has to come in by boat and that ups the ante. Venice is like a very beautiful woman, she can enchant with her looks, it does not matter that she is expensive and a rather poor value. She is La Serenissima.

Locanda Vivaldi is in a perfect location, just steps from the heart of Venice and with a view of the Lagoon. 5Star location. Downside is that the sidewalk and boat noise can be a problem if you are a light sleeper. Bring earplugs if you need quiet.

The view is splendid, but you have to be standing at the window -- and the shutters blew their iron hardware into my noggin with serious force on a windy day when I was facing away from it. The hotel was unimpressed, full of excuses -- it was the weather, they can't control that, they'd fix the window (they didn't), etc. We got a fruit basket and $40 off the bill of 1200 Euros.

A four star hotel must have a restaurant and theirs was adequate at best. However, we ate at the Danieli (a 5 star hotel) and fared little better. The view from the Vivaldi's top floor was magnificent, but don't expect the food to match the view.

The bed was decent, not outstanding, the bathroom with jetted tub nice after a day of sight-seeing. The decor is baroque, not exquisite, but the walls are padded and covered in fabric for a nice touch. The lobby is lovely and the front desk can arrange anything you wish.

Go to Venice at least once in your life. If you want value for your very precious dollar, pick another hotel. If however, you want a room with a view and don't want to pay the prices of the Danieli or the (under renovation) Gritti Palace, Locanda Vivaldi can fill your needs.

If you have mobility issues, Venice is not for you. You walk everywhere and to cross the many canals are bridges. There is no such thing as handicapped access. So go when you are young. Go in the spring in the middle of a nothing week and you won't die of claustrophobia.

Room Tip: A view onto the Lagoon can be noisy, but get one anyway. The view onto the canal is basically a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Buongiorno!

I'm sorry but I don't understand if you are complaining about Venice or about our hotel.
It seems that the only bad thing you had with us has been the shutter.
I'm sorry for that, but it's a thing that can happen. Unfortunately the thing can be broken and unfortunately in your case it happened during a WE (so it has been impossible to find a technician!).

In any case we found a way to fix it at least temporarily and we also gave you, as you wrote, a small compensation.

You wrote that your bill was 1200 €, but you didn't write how many nights you stayed with us... you also didn't write that you had a room overlooking the lagoon which is more expensive. And you didn't wrote how much you paid at the restaurant.

You also compared us to Danieli and Gritti Palace. I'm happy that you did that (even if they cost more than the double than us), because it means that there isn't any another 4 star like us in Venice!!!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. The staff were welcoming, eager to help in all ways. The hotel is in a good position on the Canal side. The roof top restaurant was excellent and has the most wonderful view of the Grand canal. We really enjoyed our stay in Venice.

Room Tip: Our friend we were with had a wonderful double room with a lagoon view, being an artist he could get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for the very kind review.
We all look forward to welcome you again!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

As we arrived by water at the hotel my wife and I knew we would be in for a special stay. The hotel staff is attentive, congenial and knowledgable. Our deLuxe superior room overlooked the Grand Canal and the lagoon and is very near St Marks Plaza. The electric roll down shutters were a nice touch and helped cut the noise down at night. The jacuzzi tub was well utilized, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. We were in Venice celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, and the Locanda Vivaldi helped make this special. This is a great boutique hotel, I highly recommend it!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you!

We hope to welcome you again soon, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. Stayed 4 nights, enjoying a warm welcome from all staff. Great view over lagoon and side canal. Very easy to find when we arrived as only a few minutes walk from Piazza di S Marco along the front past the Doge's Palace. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review!
I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to welcome you soon again.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here for 5 amazing nights, had a lovely room with a view of the lagoon, the roof top restuarant is an experiance and a view not to be missed.

Staff friendly and efficient.

Can not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Buongiorno!

thanks a lot for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant as well. You are right when you say that the view from there is stunning!!!

I hope to welcome you soon again, warmest regards.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#15 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#25 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#18 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Vivaldi

Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#43 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#62 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Vivaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.