We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character building in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abbazia to your Saves list
Hotel Abbazia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bunbury, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Character building in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location especially if you are arriving by train. Room was very large but the bathroom was cramped - hard to use the toilet without hitting the shower screen. The property has some great character and there is a lovely lounge area but we were unable to sit outside due to the drainage smells (this is probably not due to the hotel). Breakfast was average, selection was a bit limited. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi was good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    521
    66
    16
    4
See reviews for
263
656
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I finished up our 3 week honeymoon with 2 days in Venice at the Hotel Abbazia. The hotel upgraded our room as a gift and also provided a btl of Prosecco as a welcome gift. The room was HUGE.. My wife's reaction "Daddy got the big suite". The staff was extremly friendly and helpful with everything. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was in the best spot for walking from the train station with luggage without having to get on a water taxi/ferry. The reception staff were so nice; the breakfast lady needed to cheer up though. Every morning she walked around with the same miserable face on! The breakfast itself was good, nothing is in any great order (as in butter and jam near the coffee, toaster over the other side near the meat etc) so it was a challenge finding everything at first! All in all a good choice. The room we had was nice and clean. Beds were quite skinny so I had to push my bed against the wall so I didnt roll out (I am not a huge person). It was nice and dark; the bell right outside the window was a bit annoying but the double shutters did a good job of keeping the noise out considering how close the bell is. Would stay here again due to the easiness of checking in and out. It is a bit of a walk from the main area but its good to walk off all the Italian food plus Venice is visually stunning so its not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very close to the train station and just off the Grand Canal. Room was clean, comfortable, and air conditioned. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Free wifi and breakfast. No elevator but most hotels in Venice don't have one. I would stay again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Abbazia De Luxe - just down the road from the Abazzia. The hotel was great (room slightly smaller than I expected) but brilliant all the same. Location couldnt be faulted and the staff were incredibly nice and helpfull - great two nights and would come back to this hotel

Room Tip: Ours was a little smaller but we booked through booking.com, next time i will ring hotel direct to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Abbazia. Convenient location near the canal, yet a quiet hotel. Loved the sitting room, bar, and garden. Excellent service from Matteo (hotel reception) and Gabriele (bartender/barista). Breakfast provided a nice variety of pastries, meats, juices, and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is in a converted monastery, a couple of minutes walk from the Ferrovia water-bus stop, towards one end of the Grand Canal, and just round the corner from the main railway station! It is a lovely old building with an inner courtyard garden and, in the sunny Spring weather, it was a fabulous, quiet haven from a bustling, crowded Venice!

Our room was a little stretched for space but comfortable enough, with a large bathroom attached. Our bedroom window benefited from overlooking the courtyard.The accommodation was very well-appointed and had all the facilities necessary, with the exception of a coffee machine/kettle.

Breakfast was very good and offered a range of food and beverages. The staff were excellent, providing great support throughout our short stay, especially those working the front desk.

If you were transferring to a cruise ship after your stay, it is only a relatively short walk to the bus terminal and the People Mover for the cruise terminal. You do, however, have to cross a large bridge as part of the route, unless you get a vaporetto from Ferrovia to Piazzale Roma, when all is relatively flat. There is a ramp at the Piazzale Roma stop to bring you up to street level. If you fancy the walk, but not the baggage haul over the bridge, there are authorised baggage handlers who, for a fee, will do the heavy lifting for you.

This hotel really is a great location for Venice and, although not cheap, it is not as over-inflated in price as many of Venice's hotels seem to be. We would stay there again when we are next in Venice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
#51 Family Hotel in Venice
#69 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abbazia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.