We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abbazia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 382 hotels in Venice
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is charming, beautiful and old. Our family room was large and roomy with a renovated bathroom. Breakfast was good and location near the railway station was excellent.
Great place to stay in Venice if one has large heavy suitcases.

Room Tip: It is only a 100 metres from the railway station and people have gotten lost getting to the hotel as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    703
    455
    56
    14
    2
See reviews for
229
569
43
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hotel Abbazzia is located right near both the train station and bus station in Venice's Canneregio District. Right at the end of the walkway to the hotel is the Grand Canal and the Ferrovia vaparetto (water bus) stops. Just steps outside of the hotel were many restaurants, shops, and little bars. We were traveling with young children and managed to walk to the Rialto Bridge and Market in about 20 minutes and Saint Mark's Piazza in about 30. We even had a small playground located right on the other side of the Grand Canal adjacent to the large bridge leading from the bus station.

Even more remarkable than the location was the service provided by the hotel staff. Upon arrival we walked in with a toddler in the throws of a full blown tantrum and the front desk staff was very cordial and attempted to engage her. We were given a room upgrade (most likely due to the low season), which provided our children with more space to entertain themselves during our downtime while at the hotel. Breakfast was included in our stay and the offerings were more than the typical coffee/tea and pastry options of Europe, which was very much appreciated.

The hotel was clean and all of the areas we occupied were in good condition. The exterior was under construction but there wasn't any noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a roomy, well decorated triple with two cabinets/closets and a large bathroom with shower. The lounge is very plush and we enjoyed having a drink in there in the evenings. Courtyard looked lovely though it was too cold to use it while we visited. Breakfast was plentiful and also in a pretty room. This was by far the nicest hotel of our stay. Also very convenient to train station and vaperetto stops, and one bridge away from airport bus stop. Booked as part of expedia package well in advance and got a good rate (for Venice!).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Abbazia in November after our two week escorted tour through Italy ended. We loved it! The location is terrific - just around the corner from Santa Lucia Station and Ferrovia vaporeto dock. Our rooms were large, clean and contained a mini fridge and a safe. Additionally, the hotel gave us rooms side by side on the second floor just off a small landing and seating area. It was super private and really quiet. The lounge area on the first floor was spacious and cozy. The breakfast was terrific and they had great coffee machines for making any kind of expresso or cafe Americano that you desired. There is also a lovely outdoor courtyard. The staff at this hotel were wonderful, especially Matteo, who saved the day with a pair of pliers when my corkscrew malfunctioned and broke off in an expensive bottle of wine. Staff also arranged a private water taxi for us to Murano. I will just mention that I did not see an elevator. You should ask if this is important to you and perhaps request a room on the first floor. Both our rooms had lovely big bathtubs with hand held shower wands. After two weeks of tiny shower stalls throughout the rest of Italy, a large, clean tub was very welcome. I highly recommend this wonderful hotel and hope to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My Wife and I are just back from a 5 night stay at the Abbazia.

This is our second stay there and, though it isn't the cheapest available, it lived up to what we expected. Don't go for cheap in Venice. You could be appalled at what you get.

Many Venice hotels give you a pokey room and poor breakfast but the rooms at the Abbazia are generous, well decorated and the facilities are good. The staff too are very helpful and friendly which is more that can be said for some Italian hotels.

On the downside, there is no lift so, if you have any mobility issues, ask for a ground floor room. Other than that, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.


Thank you Fabio, Matthew and Momin for making this another memorable stay in the most beautiful city on Earth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the abbey bells at 7.15am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. We arrived to Venice by train from Munich and we appreciated the close proximity to the train station. It's tucked away on a side street so it isn't noisy and the courtyard is very pretty. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The reason I didn't give it a 5 is due to the sheets seeming unclean one of the nights, which creeped my wife out a bit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 rooms at the Abbazia. They were well appointed and clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The venue is excellent for access to the city and sights. I'd certainly recommend it and would be happy to return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abbazia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.