We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Abbazia, Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abbazia to your Saves list
Hotel Abbazia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Abbazia, Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My Wife and I are just back from a 5 night stay at the Abbazia.

This is our second stay there and, though it isn't the cheapest available, it lived up to what we expected. Don't go for cheap in Venice. You could be appalled at what you get.

Many Venice hotels give you a pokey room and poor breakfast but the rooms at the Abbazia are generous, well decorated and the facilities are good. The staff too are very helpful and friendly which is more that can be said for some Italian hotels.

On the downside, there is no lift so, if you have any mobility issues, ask for a ground floor room. Other than that, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.


Thank you Fabio, Matthew and Momin for making this another memorable stay in the most beautiful city on Earth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the abbey bells at 7.15am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    494
    63
    16
    2
See reviews for
247
625
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. We arrived to Venice by train from Munich and we appreciated the close proximity to the train station. It's tucked away on a side street so it isn't noisy and the courtyard is very pretty. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The reason I didn't give it a 5 is due to the sheets seeming unclean one of the nights, which creeped my wife out a bit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 rooms at the Abbazia. They were well appointed and clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The venue is excellent for access to the city and sights. I'd certainly recommend it and would be happy to return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

To start with, the location of the hotel is perfect. A couple of meters from the train station and also walking distance to all the sights, shops and public transport stops. Rooms are nice and clean, with everything you need inside.
Staff is friendly and helped to carry bags to top floor, as no lift is present. Breakfast is maybe below par, but still good enough. Very nice stay and will return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Charming hotel, which used to be a monastery. Stayed in a good renovated double room on the ground floor with a view to the inner courtyard. The tile floor can be cold so bring your slippers with you. The church bell will wake you up around 7:50 am which is also a good time to have breakfast – all the basic stuff and sugarholics will love the large variety of cakes and pastries.

The location of the hotel is great: about 100 metres from the Santa Lucia train station, but still in a quiet street in the lovely Cannaregio area. The nearest vaporetto stand is at the corner of Calle Priuli Dei Cavaletti.

The staff at the reception was extremely helpful and professional.

Room Tip: There's no elevator in the hotel so you might want to stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

In a city which can at times appear cynical and weary of its endless visitors and admirers, Hotel Abbazia provides an oasis of calm friendliness in a handy location (Cannaregio) which is often overlooked by travellers but patronised by locals. The hotel is situated in an old monastery which oozes history and charm with an inner courtyard which looks perfect for relaxing with an apperitivo on a summer evening. We were a party of five (2 adults and 3 teenagers) and stayed at Hotel Abbazia for one night the week before Christmas. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were large, clean and comfortable. From the hotel, it is easy to walk or catch a vaporetto to the main attractions, but just as interesting to take a stroll around some of the back streets of Cannaregio and discover family run trattorias serving delicious local dishes at prices that won't leave you with a severe case of indigestion. Equally good, breakfast is served in a room adjoining the great hall. My reccomendation, better than a 3 star and good for anyone except those requiring an elevator.

Room Tip: There is a wing of recently renovated rooms which are refreshing and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

A perfect place to stay in Venice with nice comfy rooms and fantastic friendly staff that really made us welcome from the moment we checked in. The hotel is housed in a lovely building with a great bar area to relax after sightseeing and adequate continental buffet breakfast to start the day. This combined with a convenient location just a block from the train station and free wifi makes this a great place to stay. Thank you and I look forward to returning on my next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Venice
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#65 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abbazia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.