We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, there are better places for gluten-free pasta” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Migliore

Ristorante Il Migliore
Sestiere Cannaregio 2578, 30121 Venice, Italy
041 5230607
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #971 of 1,197 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Horrible, there are better places for gluten-free pasta”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I went here after seeing reviews about this being a gluten-free restaurant. First of all, the young waiter didn't seem to enjoy his work at all, he looked like he wanted to be somewhere else. I informed him about being gluten intolerant and he came up with suggestions for me, which all sounded good. Basically I could choose anything on the main menu, but the would just replace the pasta with non-gluten. I asked for the lobster pasta and my husband had a classic pizza. We ordered a bottle of wine, which he uncorked but didn't bother to fill our glasses. Then he placed a basket with bread next to me, which l then assumed was for me. When I had eaten two slices of bread, he returned and looked at me annoyingly and tells me " I hope you didn't eat that". What?? And he did not even apologize for putting the bread next to me. Of course I thought it was gluten-free, it did have that "strange" taste like most gluten free bread have.

We were hungry and did just want to eat and leave, and after finishing the antipasti and main course which was no joy for me, we had to wait 45 minutes before he cared to clean the table and another 30 min to get us the bill. And the final: they charged 25 euros for my pasta, which only costed 12. 13 euros extra for some gluten-free pasta? I'm glad to never return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    12
    18
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We sat outside by the canal and watched the boats going up and down as we ate wonderful huge pizzas. Very good service and reasonably priced.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor value for money, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We did not check Trip Advisor reviews in advance which was a mistake! Nice location next to the canal which was pretty and candlelit. In summary - food: OK, service: a bit random and price: high. Would not recommend.

Chose the lobster spaghetti special at €25 (prima course): lobster was pretty tough and rather overwhelmed by the tomato sauce. Followed by sea bass which was very average at a hefty €28 with €6 for a very dull dry mixed salad. My husband fared better but was still underwhelmed.

Waiter serving us was keen but inconsistent: did well upselling specials and sides, managed to find me a small sea bass so I could avoid the min 2 order, but failed to remember our next drinks order.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ate here on our first night in Venice. Sat outside enjoying the activities along the canal. Food and service were good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Aussieanna”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This restaurant looked very pretty with big umbrellas on the quayside beside a small canal. Initial impressions were good. The table was wiped for us! Menus arrived quickly and we ordered drinks. The owner came recommending we try a more expensive, special red wine other than the Chianti we had ordered. As we were on holiday we went for this and it was very good. After a reasonable wait our starters arrived - proscuto and melon. You can't really go wrong with this in Venice! Then we waited, and waited and waited for our main to arrive. After an hour we asked a waitress if she could see where our food was. She said it would be 2 minutes! 20 minutes later we went to speak to the owner. He said it would be 5 minutes. Obviously our order had been forgotten. Food was OK when it arrived apart from the fries which were only half cooked. We were offered free Lemoncello as a 'sorry' but no adjustment to the bill even for the fries. We would not go there again. A very disappointing evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Migliore also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Il Migliore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Il Migliore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.