We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca dei Polo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ca dei Polo to your Saves list
Ca dei Polo
Santa Croce 203, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I pick lodgings based upon reviews from various websites, and their proximity to transportation and the places I need to go. This small hotel/B&B is very convenient to the Venice train station, bus station, and the Grand Canal water taxis. I literally walked ten minutes after my arrival by train to the hotel, and five minutes to the bus station to catch the airport bus on the way out of town. Watching others schlep their luggage over the cobbled streets throughout Venice confirmed that CdP is the place for home base. Breakfast selection was OK (I was spoiled in Austria just prior to my arrival,) but the coffee was great! WiFi was free as it should be, but a little slow for those who stream. There were over 100 channels of TV, but most, if not all in Italian - it would be nice to have a BBC/CNN news channel. Italian TV plays lots of first rate movies - dubbed if not already in Italian - but fun to watch anyway. There was even some live American football, with color commentary in Italian - very fun to listen to! The bed was comfortable, and the small bathroom was modern with plenty of hot water for the shower. And the hosts were very nice - when you saw them. If you are out all day, and return after 1700 or so, don't expect to see anyone at the front desk. Yea, so if you are looking for a luxurious, pampering hotel experience, this is not the place, but for everything else, you cannot beat it.

Room Tip: I stayed in a single room on the 2nd floor. Twin/Single bed. Window overlooked the garden. Perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    60
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
175
42
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

really fine place, excellent host and good value for your money.
breakfast more than OK for Italian standards, with fresh fruit and toast.
perfect location, conveniently located close to train and bus station.
accommodation is suitable for all kinds of customers

Room Tip: rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostduinkerke
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We went to Venice only one night, to celebrate New Years Eve, and it was my best yet. Great atmosphere, great music and great fireworks at the San Marco Square.
But not only the festivities were great. Our stay at Ca dei Polo was excellent as well.
We arrived very early, were very well and warm received, and luckily we were able to check in the room immediatly. A very nice, big room with view on the canal. In the evening we could hear the television in the neighbouring room (speech from the italian president?), but at night no problems with street noise. Great beds. Perfect location: very close to the trains station.
Breakfast in Italy has never been my cup of thee, but here, at ca dei Polo, breakfast was far better than average. In general: we had a wonderfull time here, and would advise it to everybody.

Room Tip: we had no problems with street noise, although we were at the front side (2nd floor) of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I wish I had stayed another day - that is how much I liked this place. We stayed there over Christmas and were there on Christmas day and I had emailed Francesca earlier about places to eat and received information even before we got there. Front desk staff (Francesca's brother - I forget his name, I am sorry!) was very gracious and helpful with directions and ideas for restaurants etc. Very comfortable rooms and they were very tastefully done. The breakfast room was beautiful and the breakfast and staff were also very pleasant and seemed genuinely interested in making sure our stay was comfortable. Very convenient location to the train station. I wish there was a bigger sign because I walked by it four times before finding it! :)

I would absolutely recommend this place and if I go back to Venice, will seek this place out and stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I arrived in Venice about 7 hours late, due to flight delays and re-routes. Thankfully it was extremely convenient to find the Ca dei Polo after we arrived in town. It is about a 5 minute walk from the bus station. Francesca was there to greet us upon arrival and helped us settle in to our beautiful room which had a canal view. Francesca also recommended an excellent gluten-free friendly restaurant nearby for our dinner that night (we were hungry!).

The room was gorgeous, spacious, and quiet, with a nice bathroom and hot shower. Breakfast was in a nice room with lots of a variety of standard breakfast options (basically breads, jams, yogurt, cereal, etc).

The hotel is in a great location very close to both the bus and train stations. The vaporetti stop on the Grand Canal is also about 5 mins away; all the major sites are within a half hour walk too.

We enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, booked directly to their website. I browsed around and noticed that you can get 8% discount by using code “offsite”. No extra discount for cash payment but if you chose the non refundable option, you can get more discount. Overall the stay was good. For the same price you can actually get a room nearer to San Marco but since I arrived at night alone, I was looking for a comfortable place that’s easy to find.

PRO:
- Location near train station & water bus stop. Although a lot of people complained it’s difficult to find, for me it’s actually quite easy because I researched before and know that their small sign is only at the side of their door but not on the top. When walking around Venice the next day in daylight, I saw a lot of tourists got lost with big luggages. I feel relieved I opted for a hotel that’s easy to find even at night. It would’ve been a nightmare to be alone at dark trying to find address in Venice’s maze.
- Room is clean & serviced daily. Size is okay, high ceiling, decorated with Murano chandelier. Got heater for winter. There’s a TV (mostly Italian channels), hair dryer, room safe, mini fridge. No tea or water boiler in room though.
- Got elevator, so you don’t have to climb through stairs. At the very top there’s a sun deck to get some canal view.
- Basic breakfast included.
- Good free wifi connection, although not fast enough to stream youtube (delay here and there).

CONS:
- Air con is available but they only gave you the remote certain times of the year. I understand winter they will not give the remote, but what I’m not sure of is whether they consider spring/autumn as hot/cold.
- Limited receptionist time. So you might want to take note of their emergency number and ensure your phone is charged just in case you got locked outside or something.
- Bad sound proofing. I can hear my neighbors talking, and also noises from the hall way. At least my room faces the courtyard so not much noise from outside.

If you find my review helpful, pls click that helpful vote, thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ca' dei Polo was recommended to me by a friend who has stayed in Venice many times. Despite her rave reviews, I was still happily surprised by the hotel. The hotel is extremely convenient to the bus and train station, making it very convenient to get in and out of town, but sacrificed absolutely nothing in terms of location. The neighborhood of Santa Croce, like most of Venice, is absolutely charming, and though we usually walked to other sites (including San Marco via the Rialto Bridge), the ACTV stops right at both Piazzole Roma and the train station.

The room we stayed in was both large and charming, with a separate sitting area. Our host Francesca was gracious and helpful, whether it came to restaurant recommendations or helping us buy tickets to music performances.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca dei Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca dei Polo

Address: Santa Croce 203, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant historic building is situated right in the heart of Venice and within easy reach of Piazzale Roma and the railway station.With its beautiful decoration and superb furnishing,and with the confort and warm welcome it provides for its guest, Cà dei Polo is certain to make your stay in Venice truly unforgettable.The building also has a covered roof terrace: the original outside space specially constructed to allow more room in the typical Venetian house . This is a great place to relax after a busy day?s sightseeing.On request , we can provide a private motorboat to take you on a delightful tour of the little islands in the lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ca dei Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca dei Polo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.