We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gritti Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gritti Palace to your Saves list
The Gritti Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Hewlett, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

No need for a lengthy review .
Hotel is beautiful, staff is outstanding,service is phenomenal.
The management is to be commended for all they do to make this hotel a true gem! The hotel bar has classic elegant decor with great drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    22
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
248
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Gritti Palace has become my one of my personal favorite hotel in the world, on par with the Four Seasons in Florence.

There is an air of discreet exclusivity about this place, filled with antiques and fine paintings. A fusion of culture and understated luxury.

The marble foyer with its mosaic floors is even regularly perfumed!

The hotel is relatively small, in fact I was told that only 9 rooms overlooked the grand canal. My wife and I were fortunate to stay in one of them.

The room was not very large, with a narrow window. It offered very few storage, bore a small bathroom.. But those minor inconveniences were completely made up by an extremely refined decoration, truly palatial with the finest fabrics, from the patterned wall tapestries, to the lavish bedspread and cushions, a murano chandelier etc..

Besides, when staying in a 15th century building, one will happily make a few concessions, and accept that walls cannot be knocked down, or windows enlarged.

The bed was gloriously comfortable, the bed sheets were of the finest cotton, silky smooth.

Many pleasing little extra details such as fresh roses in a vase, large complimentary bottles of water, fresh fruits, Spumante etc..

The general level of service matched the setting. It is perfect, discreet, caring and attentive, from the sumptuous morning breakfast to an evening nightcap in the mirror clad bar, or on the terrace to the gentle sound of a classic/jazz guitarist.

Naturally, one can expect palace prices, where the cheapest glass of wine costs 19 euros. But the the surrounds will make one forget those earthly considerations..

Reading back, I do believe this is the most positive review I ever wrote on Tripadvisor. I realize how subjective a review is, but the Gritti palace really struck a chord in my heart, though that is, in truth, a personal feeling more than anything else.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Wear your breezy casual summer wear with fabulous accessories to flash your style. Dolce & Gabbana anything is the top or go sleek Prada to contrast the ornate backdrop that is Venice. Hotel breakfast sumptuous & on time.
Coffee could be stronger and more storage would be helpful, but who cares?! There's lots of fabulous Italian Vogue & AD magazines sliding off every flat surface that will drive you to distraction. Enjoy lounging in lobby lounge or canal side bar with a Bellini in hand. Ciao Bella!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ended a 3-week trip to Italy with a few days at the Gritti Palace. Words can't describe how great an experience this hotel is. Its a bit pricey for sure, but worth the splurge. You'll never forget it. We've been to the Cipriani and the Danieli before and the Gritti Palace tops them by a country mile in my view. You're in the middle of Venice, but not quite in the midst of all the crowds. The bar right on the Grand Canal, across from a grand church, is incredible. I never wanted to leave! The staff were super attentive and responsive, which is not the most common thing in Italy. The rooms are the highlight, however. They are so well appointed and so comfortable that our kids begged to stay IN one night and order room service. Arriving at the hotel by water taxi at night was something out of a fantasy, and our departure from the hotel was probably the saddest moment on our trip. If you're considering any of the "grand dames" of Venetian hotels, its an easy choice.

Room Tip: Lower floors have higher ceilings if that means a lot to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in reviewing The Gritti Palace on TripAdvisor and particularly for your assertion of perfection!

Of the countless hotels to choose from in Venice, we are delighted to read that you have chosen The Gritti Palace as your favorite one!

We are very happy to read that your kids begged to indulge in the rooms on one evening and order room service. This is the evidence that the Gritti is hospitable to everyone, regardless of the age.

We look forward to your return visit, to further pamper your family and you.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Firstly, let me say we were thoroughly impressed with the Gritti and try as I may, I really cannot fault it nor do I really want to!). This weekend was to celebrate my husband's birthday as a surprise. He is a man of few words but even he said it was "awesome!"
We treated ourselves to the water taxi service form the airport and it was lovely to arrive in style. We stood at the back of the taxi observing everything and thoroughly enjoying this special method of arrival. Landing, our bags were swept away and we were warmly greeted and shown to reception (not your usual reception). We had room 206 which was beautiful and overlooked a side canal leading into the Grand Canal. Incidentally I spent some time just watching the gondolas passing through and was pleasantly surprised when the gondoliers looked up and smiled or called a greeting. Bellissimo. The sound of their singing entered our room which was lovely (I know, it's touristy! but it worked for me!).
The room was large, beautiful fabrics/linen etc. Venetian in aspect. It was spotless and well decorated. The bathroom was superb; good quality toiletries (Acqua de Parma), big soft towels, lots of lovely marble, monsoon shower and normal shower, bath, robes etc etc. We had a bottle of good red and chocolates to welcome us (we had booked a BA deal). On my husbands birthday they left a bottle of Ca' delBosco awaiting our arrival back in the late afternoon, all well chilled with glasses just waiting to be filled THANK YOU!! We loved this .
Breakfast was included in our room rate and was very good. Fresh fruit, salmon, herrings, eggs anyway you want,, breads, yoghurt. All wonderful. Staff were all very friendly and professional . Eating out on the terrace was just perfect.
All in all just wonderful - have I said this already? Staff were all friendly, professional and the attention to detail is as you would expect with a "luxury collection" hotel.
I would love to return!

Room Tip: We had a Venetian room, 206 and were very happy with this. I would have loved to have seen a suite b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having selected The Gritti Palace to celebrate your husband’s birthday, we are most pleased to learn that your week-end was truly “awesome”!

We appreciate your feedback, especially the fact that the personal touches of our staff played an instrumental role in you having such a wonderful sojourn.

We welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again, whether or not for a special celebration!

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesboro
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This intimate hotel is so well appointed you will feel you are in another time, but with modern comforts. The staff is perfect, everyone remembers your name, and is on call to be there to assist with any matter. We were in a jaw dropping suite, The Coppa Suite. Our favorite spot was the bar area on water level of the lagoon. Sipping wine and soaking up this fantastic (but crowded) town!! We only ate breakfast and one lunch on property. No rave reviews on lunch, but the breakfast is well done!! I will come back to Venice and to The Gritti!

Room Tip: Don't worry about being on the canal. You will get plenty of chances to see the water. Our ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This intimate, sumptuous hotel is perfect. Unlike many hotels with a priceless view, the food is divine. The pasta spinosini may have been the best pasta I ever tasted in my entire life, and I am of Italian descent. Staff is helpful and friendly, not the least bit haughty. The concierge set me up with an artist for a morning tour at very short notice. The only possible negative was our shower floor: a solid sheet of slippery marble. Gorgeous but dangerous spot in a stunning bathroom.

Room Tip: I do not think it matters if you have a Grand Canal view, but if it is important to you, ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gritti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#4 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#14 Business Hotel in Venice
#21 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo Spa. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gritti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gritti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.