We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in Venice made even better by our stay at the Gritti Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gritti Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gritti Palace to your Saves list
The Gritti Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay in Venice made even better by our stay at the Gritti Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I visited Venice for the first time at the end of April. We chose the Gritti Palace as it had rave reviews on here. The reviews do not do this excellent hotel justice! From the minute we checked in, the staff did their best to make us feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they even helped us print off our boarding passes for our return flight home.
The views are incredible (try and have breakfast outside, weather permitting, there is nothing like it) The room was gorgeous and the welcome bottle of wine is a nice touch.

I have to praise the gentleman who booked us in (I do him a dis-service by forgetting his name) but he patiently talked us through everything and looked genuinely pleased to be doing so.
We checked in on the 25th April (St Marks Day) and after he finished checking us in, he told us a wonderful story of a Venetian man who went off to war, and was killed on the 25th of April, in a field of white roses. As he lay there, his blood turned all the roses red. His comrade collected a rose and brought it back to his friend's wife, who died of a broken heart at hearing her loved one had died. I do not do the story justice, and he had us both hanging on every word, and he finished by presenting my wife a beautiful red rose, explaining that all the men give the women red roses on that day to keep the tradition alive! Well, what a wonderful way to start our holiday, my wife was beaming, and she carefully brought the rose home with her, and even now, six weeks later, it is still going!

Thank you so much for a magical experience, and we won't be looking anywhere else when we return to Venice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    22
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
249
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Second time that we stayed here... and there are no words to describe how amazing it has been, from the first minute until the last one superb service...
Thank you for taking care of us, we are in love with the city and the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is in a class by itself. A magnificent renovation to restore the hotel authentically while providing world class comfort is exceeded only by the warmth, professionalism and customer service focus of the staff. The General Manager Paolo Lorenzioni is a true hotelier rather than a GM who is "passing through " to his next career location within the organization. Starwood has been wise in selecting a GM who has a passion for people as well as detail so that no item is foo trivial for his concern and consideration. This ethic has been passed on to his capable staff who do their utmost to please.The front desk team provide a warm and capable welcome which is echoed by their collegues in other areas. From the beautiful lobby enhanced by fresh bouquets
and overseen by the portrait of Doge Gritti to the splendor of whatever room you have selected,
you will be pampered and refreshed by your stay.
The bar and restaurant along with their terrace are not to be missed for the ambiance, the best view in Venice and the wonderful service. An absolute must in their Dodge restaurant is their take on Venetian Cicchetti, as well as their asparagus risotto with white Monte as da cheese or their risotto Hemigway style with shrimps. Last but certainly not least is their Sea Bass in white wine with chive sauce. All of the aforementioned provide amazing flavors and melt in the mouth
goodness. The bar serves Bellini's with actual fresh peach juice not a concentrate which is what
virtually all other bars serve. It's not an inexpensive hotel stay but well worth it even if you can afford only a portion of your stay there. Italians use the restaurant and bar because even if they aren't staying at the hotel they know other high end restaurants charge more and provide less in all aspects ( quality, service and ambiance). As you can tell, we are "uber" fans and shortly
after returning home are ready to go back:)
( quality, ambiance and service). As you can tell, we are "uber" fans of this

Room Tip: All the rooms in this hotel are terrific and cost Starwood a fortune ( literally) to restore. You w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed for 4 nights at the Gritti Palace in 1993, due to the European Budget Meeting of Mead Johnson Nutritionals.
An excellent hotel, delicious food, superb choice of wine.
Should I ever go back to Venice, I will definetaly stay at the Gritti Palace.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

One night only and well worth the splurge. Stayed here prior to our Cruise and the Hotel is exceptional, staff is amazing. Check out the bar, it has an amazing view on nights the terrace is not used for Dinning. A special thanks to Ronina who checked us in and made us feel welcome from the moment we entered the Hotel. Very close to Plaza San Marco, so it made it easy to get around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at the Gritti Palace for one evening as a SPG gold member. The place is charmingly elegant yet decadently luxurious. The staff is patient and helpful. In addition to spending 30 minutes with us at check-in and offering us a selection of rooms, they chartered a direct private taxi to the prestigious Cenedese glass factory at no cost in order to ensure we had an authentic murano experience. They were also gracious enough to provide a generous exchange rate on our US dollars. A great experience all around

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is great for so many reasons. The rooms are very beautiful and unique. I stayed here with family so I was able to see a few of the other rooms. The decor was legitimate and unique as well as immaculate. Some rooms have a shower and a bathtub but ours only had a bathtub with one of those small European glass partitions--but it was still nice and they had great soaps/shampoo, etc. The service was super friendly and concierge was very helpful. One of the most amazing experiences here is having breakfast right on the Grand Canal. The breakfast spread was really, really good and the ambience was great. I cannot say enough great things about this place. It will be a stay that I will always remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gritti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#4 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#14 Business Hotel in Venice
#17 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo Spa. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gritti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gritti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.