We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful experience while visiting venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gritti Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Gritti Palace to your Saves list
The Gritti Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Luxury and Romance
Ranked #4 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Bangkok
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A beautiful experience while visiting venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Check in was so smooth with sense of easy and luxury. I was escorted to the room. Room orientation was perfect. Dinner reservation was offered.

Service at restaurant was very good while food tasted and presentation was lower than expectation compared to other places in venice.

Breakfast service and buffet line was lovely but hot items ordered per menu were so poor. Pancake was from microwave. Poached egg came on very hard bread.

Housekeeping always smile and finish the room perfectly especially the bathroom. She understood perfectly what time to come in for the service. This type can be called luxury and accommodating service.

Concierge service was professional. They knew every restaurant i wanted to go plus helped to check whether the restaurants opened. Table reservation were every time offered.
Taxi boat were called and not overpriced.

PS. Venice in late October and early November may have high tide and flood in many area

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We love to make our Guests feel welcomed and special from the moment they arrive to the moment they leave.

Thank you for your recognition and thank you also for having highlighted the areas where, according to your judgment, we need to focus our attention and strive to cater for a better service. Please only allow us to mention that all hot items, available at any time of the day, are done à la minute. We only wish we would have known it during your stay to ameliorate these aspect of your breakfast and show you that we can do so much better!

Flooding indeed occurs especially during winter time. We are really happy to be able to inform you that, thanks to the restoration, the hotel is now safe from flooding and the lowest areas of Venice and provided with footpaths so that nearly every place is accessible. Additionally this phenomenon lasts only few hours a day so the visit to the city is nearly always possible.

We hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our jewel and providing you with a truly unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    22
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
252
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Gritti Palace pre-cruise to the new Royal Princess. I did not want to leave!! The wonderful location, the sumptuous rooms, the accommodating and gracious staff, the divine Club del Doge restaurant.....everything was perfect and we used SPG points for part of our stay.

Arrival: Nothing can quite compare to a private water taxi navigating the way through rush hour traffic and then pulling up to that waiting pier at the Gritti with smiling staff ready to assist you. What a welcome. What a hotel.

Rooms: We had reserved connecting rooms with our teenage children. Divine.....linens, appointments, complimentary fruit assortment (large and wonderfully presented) with accompanying cheese and bottle of wine (this is so welcome after a looooong day of travel!), and a quick call from the front desk to see if everything was in order. OOOHhhhh, I love this place already! Our rooms overlooked a minor canal on the side of the hotel....this was fine! It was so quiet with the odd gondolier passing by and serenading his occupants. To my TA readers, if you do not plan on residing in your room for a great portion of your stay (we happily got lost in Venice several times as I recommend all visitors should :) ), I would opt for the non-canal view.

Club Del Doge Restaurant: Wonderful dishes served by an outstanding team......did I mention the view in the evening....spectacular. To note: our reservation was before sunset. We watched the colours and lights of Venice change while we were dining. Priceless.

WOW. I arrived with high expectations and they were surpassed! This most wonderful hotel in Venice is a destination unto itself. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stopped by for a drink at the outside bar after a long way of wandering around Venice. The views of the Grand Canal and San Salute are magnificent and the service is perfect. My 19 euro bellini was delicious. We expected the high prices but there isn't a better place to sit and enjoy the view. Next time, we'd like to stay at the Gritti which was sold out on this trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Passing the Gritti one evening we decided to call in at the bar - it is really quite splendid and well worth a visit.
Although our party included some casually dressed members (i.e. not Gritti-style people at all and sadly I was one of them) we were received courteously and seated without delay.
A waiter took our order for cocktails: there were seven of us and he did not write anything down...........then he delivered them all to exactly the right people! Professionalsm at its best.
The drinks were 18 euros each and were well prepared and I could wish we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our Italian Escapade vacation ended at The Gritti Palace. It was the perfect way to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. Our beautiful room overlooked the Grand Canal. The beautiful white roses were an amazing way to help us celebrate. The outstanding service and delicious food served to make our celebration complete. The fabulous room overlooking the canal made us feel so special and gave us wonderful memories. I recommend The Gritti Palace for every special occasion. Thank you so much for making our stay extra special!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Gritti Palace is a beautiful, intimate hotel with top notch service and the best of everything. The rooms were large, luxurious and comfortable. The hotel's location is perfect for walking to all the sights and best restaurants.

The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and I could not have asked for a better experience when staying in Venice. Well worth the price!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Wonderful holiday at the elegant Gritti Palace! Spent the afternoon in the lounge with the most interesting expats living in Paris. Lots of bourbon, southern folklore and laughs with these gentlemen. The Gritti Palace provided the best sleeping beds of our two week tour of Northern Italy. We enjoyed our stay at The Danieli on a previous trip with friends but we can't wait to return to the Gritti Palace!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having shared your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We are pleased to read that you savored a wonderful holiday at the Gritti Palace and struck up a friendship while spending a joyful afternoon at our Longhi Bar: a unique sentimental link to our palace!

We look forward to your return visit for other precious moments of delight.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gritti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#4 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#14 Business Hotel in Venice
#17 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo Spa. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gritti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gritti Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.